Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
250 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
36 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 55 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Michael School 1

Posted January 25, 2016
- a community member
This school is bad. There are teachers that dont know there stuff, and those who do dont teach it well at all. There is no science program. We do random labs that wont prepare us for high school.

St Michael School 5

Posted November 02, 2015
- a parent
I have a son who just finished St. Michael Parish Catholic School and is now attending Pope John Paul II High School. My daughter is currenty in 7th grade at St. Mike's. We feel that the curriculum has prepared our children well not only in academics but also in faith formation. The kids are challenged with rigorous academics and lots of homework but in addition, the school provides engaging and fun programs for music, the arts, and sports. We are grateful that this school has the desire to guide and challenge students to be "the best versions of themselves". Most importantly, the gift of St. Michael Parish School has given us the avenue to pass on our Catholic faith tradition and in doing so has deepen our faith journey as a family.


St Michael School 5

Posted October 29, 2015
- a parent
Our two daughters have been at St. Mike's since kindergarten and we have experienced nothing but joy at this school. The teachers are very approachable and provide answers to any questions - parents are encouraged to volunteer in the classrooms. The children are constantly taught about the Faith but just as importantly they see it modeled for them by the teachers, staff, and other families. The children go to Mass frequently. Test scores are high too. We have to budget to send our kids to St. Mikes and pay for aftercare too since we both work full time but to us it is more than worth the effort to have our children be well educated in mind and spirit. Our children pray during the school day, they collect food and coats for the poor, and they grow in their love of God while they learn. They play, they have music, art, computer classes, and PE. They learn to speak into a microphone in front of the entire school in kindergarten! It is a fabulous curriculum, an inviting community (get a mentor family!), and a place filled with the Holy Spirit.

St Michael School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted October 28, 2015
- a community member
I've heard over and over again from students and parents that the amount of homework is too much, burdensome, sometimes seems to be busywork and challenges families in finding time for other important activities.

St Michael School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted October 28, 2015
- a community member
I do not have children attending this school, but I know this is integral to their mission. Additionally, Catholic catechism is integrated throughout all subjects, classes and activities at the school.


St Michael School 4

Posted October 28, 2015
- a community member
Walking onto the campus and through the school, kids seem happy, parents are visible and teachers are engaged. Catholic identity is on display with statues and religious posters etc.

St Michael School 5

Posted September 19, 2015
- a parent
High quality education in academics and the Catholic faith. I know my child is happy here and feels that his teachers care about him.

St Michael School 5

Posted January 31, 2015
- a parent
I consider sending my son to St. Michael School to be one of the best investments in time and resources that I have ever made. I am a Military spouse and have had the privilege of attending many different schools (public and private) throughout the USA. St. Michael School stands above and beyond any other! My son has received excellent academic preparation for high school and beyond, and the teachers have played a large role in in strengthening his confidence, character, leadership skills, and his Faith. The teachers and administration are both capable and devoted to the student body. I would highly recommend this school to anyone.


St Michael School 5

Posted September 21, 2014
- a parent
We have had our children at St. Michael for over ten years. St. Michael is like our second family. Not only are the teachers excellent, but they come to me with great stories about each individual child. They love their students. At St. Michael, students learn their prayers & their faith, attend regular masses, and participate in various service projects to help the community. We have a Christmas Program where the Kindergartners perform their version of the Nativity Story - it is always a highlight of our Christmas season. The students here consistently test at higher levels than the other local schools in both reading and math. Cursive is taught in second grade, we read with the AR reading program, use the Passport Club to learn geography, and have a new math curriculum this year. The community, also, is exceptional and has jumped in to help families who are struggling with illness, job losses, or separations. I highly recommend this wonderful place for children to learn and grow.

St Michael School 4

Posted September 02, 2014
- a community member
St. Michael school is fantastic. The teachers are of high quality, leading by example and always with energy. They are all well trained and are devoted to God and to teaching his word. Another plus about St. Mikes is the incredible test scores the students who attend there receive. As far as quality education goes, this school is very high up there. I would like to see more recreational options being excitedly offered to the kids, such as opportunities for students to explore drama, orchestra and other musical groups, arts clubs, etc. It seems to be lacking in electives.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Michael School
1204 11th Avenue Southeast, Olympia, WA  98501
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 55 reviews. (360) 754-5131
Last modified St Michael School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top