Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Avanti High School 5

Posted February 06, 2013
- a student
I am currently a Sophomore at AHS. Why it's so magical : No extra tuition, you can attend no matter where you live, you can join during any year, there are ZERO "cliques" "posse's" minorities or segregated groups. Zero bully tolerance (which really works). It is a work at your own pace school. Off campus lunch because we are downtown. My experience : To attend Avanti you have o e interviewed, which is not as intimidating as it sounds! you just sit down and talk about you (: Then you go through a three week Orientation which is really a lot of fun.. Just to get the gist of how things work here before you start! Also you take multiple tests (personality, brain, and mind set) so they can individualize your classes to fit your needs. Schedule : Four days a week for three hours! Fridays are optional tutor days. You only have three classes so you can focus on them. Work at your own pace. You can finish a class so quick if you want to, then move on to the next class! also, we have Apex (online classes (:) Teachers: SO PASSIONATE. They really take the time to get to know you and schedule your learning plan around your individual needs. They prepare up for college!

Avanti High School 5

Posted January 09, 2011
- a student
Avanti High School is a beautiful diamond hidden in a world of rocks. Many schools offer a rigid and unforgiving atmosphere. Avanti allows for a flexible, honest, engaging, accepting, and real environment conducive not only to relevant learning, but also to the growth of all students. When you learn at Avanti, the courses offered teach you not only arithmetic and writing, but about yourself, your community, world, and help you to develop skills for life. Avanti is not just another school. Avanti is a revolution in thinking, teaching, and learning. From day one, when every student discovers their learning style, you know you belong. It is a safe, healthy, happy, and loving environment. There is no harassment, no prejudiced, no fear, or hate. Classes are filled with intelligent conversation, and people generally want to learn. The entire educational process is tailored to the student, with none ever feeling the famous disconnect between the assignment and "real life". The teachers are incredible, and care about their students. The principal is a wonderful leader, and someone who we can trust. And the students? Some of the best friends I've ever had.


Avanti High School 5

Posted August 13, 2010
- a teacher
Avanti is a school that offers choice.There is no tolerance for bullying, harassment or prejudice whatsoever. All people and families are welcome and accepted for who they are at Avanti....Avanti has a special focus on Service Learning and Cultural Awareness....Teachers make learning relevant by creating individualized learning plans for each student. (Individual learning styles and ability are also a consideration). Students receive more individual attention from teachers and staff which leads to trusting, positive relationships.

Avanti High School 5

Posted March 28, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Avanti High School 5

Posted November 10, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Avanti High School 4

Posted September 19, 2009
- a parent
I love Avanti High School because they focus on not leaving anyone behind no matter what learning method is best for them. They are extremely underfunded yet they consistently provide a quality education to their students.

Avanti High School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
The Curriculum can be adjusted to fit each student. This is truly a no child left behind program, and the Staff is excellent.

Avanti High School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Avanti is the best Alternative Learning Environment in all of Olympia! All youth are welcome and they are a community! Principal Velasquez is approachable and sincere in his caring and interest in all of his students. He is a great role model for students. I found they are committed to diversity and progressive issues such as making Avanti a safe place for all students from diverse background, whether it be ethnic, creed or gender. I appreciate the tone at Avanti, finding Avanti was a blessing to our family! I am so happy to see my son smile and give a big thumbs up when I ask him how school was that day! He is a 10th grader who is excited to get up early and go to school! This speaks for itself! Thank you Avanti School and Staff!


Avanti High School 5

Posted December 04, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Avanti High School 5

Posted September 28, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Avanti High School
1113 Legion Way SE, Olympia, WA  98501
(360) 596-7900
Last modified Avanti High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Avanti High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews.