Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Othello, WA
Students enrolled: 647

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Scootney Springs Elementary School 1

Posted October 07, 2010
- a parent
Our schools here in Othello are not up to standard and it's sad that every year we all receive the Othello school district "VISION" report and see that we are NOT making adequate yearly progress, but we sit back and accept this?? Why?? doesn't anyone care about making a change around here?? WOW

Scootney Springs Elementary School 5

Posted April 08, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Scootney Springs Elementary School 5

Posted February 07, 2007
- a administrator
Scootney Springs is a great school with a dedicated staff, well disciplined students and high test scores compared to schools with similar demographics. Scootney made AYP this year!

Scootney Springs Elementary School 1

Posted January 17, 2007
- a parent
I am very disappointed with this school. Their attempts to incorporate the HiCaps class for these students was a good thought but the same students stay in the group each year, and are rarely challenged beyond just introducing harder text. The leadership needs a drastic change.

Scootney Springs Elementary School 3

Posted March 24, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Scootney Springs Elementary School 2

Posted January 12, 2006
- a parent
We have lost excellent teachers and i fear we will be loosing more very soon. The no child left behind law 'is' leaving a lot of children behind. This law needs to be eliminated. In our area it is the white kids who are being left behind because no one wants to 'offend' someone else. My hispanic friends even complain about this. And the school lunches are absolutely discusseding. Everything is pre-prossecced/deep fryed. Unhealthy.

Scootney Springs Elementary School 5

Posted January 12, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Scootney Springs Elementary School 2

Posted January 10, 2006
- a parent
Scootney Springs is trying. We are the top-rated school in our district of 3 elementary schools, however, we are struggling. We have a very high Hispanic population, instead of embracing this culture and using this to our advantage, we seem to always be one step behind, playing catch-up. Spanish is not integrated into our curriculum until Jr High OR High School, we have eliminated ALL honors classes in Jr. High, we have one advance placement college class in high school. We 'teach to the WASL' with the emphasis being on math and reading. We do not have art, science, history, social studies, or keyboarding/computer skills on a regular basis on the elementary levels. Our teachers want to teach, but are not allowed outside of the strict curriculum. One factor, is the grants that we have locked ourselves into and the lack of parent volunteerism school-wide.


Scootney Springs Elementary School 4

Posted October 10, 2005
- a parent
Scootney Springs Elementary is a great school with extremely dedicated teachers. It offers standards based curriculum and test scores are going up consistently across grade levels. Music, physical education, library, and computer lab classes are available to students. When you walk into Scootney Springs, you can feel the positiveness in the atmosphere. Kids come first and this idea is demonstated by administrators, teachers, educational assistants, etc. There are wonderful parents at Scootney who consistently help with many different facets of the school and children, but of course, many more parents are always needes. I can think of a better school for my children. You cannot go wrong.

Scootney Springs Elementary School 3

Posted September 28, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Scootney Springs Elementary School
695 South 14th Ave, Othello, WA  99344
(509) 488-9625
Last modified Scootney Springs Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Scootney Springs Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top