Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Manchester Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
So far I have had nothing but good experiences with 2 of my children and their homework-load. I love the reading log concept and all the teachers have always been extremely helpful when I need more or less homework!

Manchester Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
I think we might be moving more in that direction...I see that with our new principal, that those principles are important to her.


Manchester Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
I am hoping that our school moves away from a "your student is only good if it sits still and is quiet" model, and more to a model that rewards students based on other positive character building attributes.

Manchester Elementary School 5

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
Before I moved to this area, I researched all the elementary schools in this district. I chose Manchester based on the size (I love the smaller sized school, it gives you a more personal experience...best in the district) and how the staff and educators took care of the children. I have now been here 4 years and absolutely love how involved and concerned both the teachers and staff are, not only concerning my childrens education but their emotional and social well-being as well.

Manchester Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
They don't hold their students accountable. They have no control. Then there's favoritism and singling out one's they don't care for.


Manchester Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
one of my kids has just the right amount but then the other one doesn't get enough.

Manchester Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
no way .. for all the reason I have already listed. the kids do and say what ever they want. they are not held accountable nor does the staff uphold their own handbook for rules and regulations. I don't even think they know their own handbook. I've had to school them a few times.

Manchester Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
There is no discipline at that school and if they do it's very one sided. for example: if a kid gets kicked and slapped, that kid doesn't get in trouble. but when a kid defends himself against a slap and a kick, he's the one who gets suspended and in trouble. The school doesn't discipline for homosexual slurs or racial slurs. if they do, it might only be a recess or 2. They are rewarding bad behavior which has resulted in the kids running all over the principal and teachers. The school is horrible. worse principal I have ever encountered.


Manchester Elementary School 1

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
The new principal is horrible,!! there's no consistency, kids are NOT held accountable. The teachers and the principal let the kids run the school. I can't say anything good about this school , it's really gone downhill.

Manchester Elementary School 5

Posted March 22, 2015
- a parent
I have 3 kids that attend Manchester. Anytime I have had an issue the teachers have been very responsive. The ladies at the front desk are amazing and the NEW principle is fantastic!! I for one love Manchester and love my kids attending this school!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Manchester Elementary School
1901 California Ave East, Port Orchard, WA  98366
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (360) 443-3230
Last modified Manchester Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top