Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sidney Glen Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 659 students

Our school is best known for fostering leadership within each of our children.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 4, 2013

I am a parent who tries to be as involved as I can in my child's learning. In my time volunteering at Sidney Glen Elementary I am amazed at the dedication of the teachers and support staff. They are always kind and nurturing to the students & go above and beyond to make sure the children are thriving in their learning environment. Our children all come from different backgrounds, and in my opinion the teachers and school staff have done an exceptional job in meeting each individual need. If you are a parent who wants to complain, why don't you try volunteering in your child's school and I guarantee you will point your finger less at what the teacher is or isn't doing & pay a little more attention to the amazing job they are doing juggling the individual needs of 25+ students. I believe success begins with what we are teaching them at home and expands with what they learn outside the home. The staff at Sidney Glen truly loves each and every one of our children and in my opinion they are all rock stars doing one of the hardest jobs there are!!! Thank you Sidney Glen for all you do & continue to do for our children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2013

I was impressed with Sidney Glen as a Guest Teacher. The students made a special effort to open the doors for me. The principal and staff made it a pleasant day. The groups I had were kind and cooperative.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 4, 2013

Great all around learning experience for our three children who have attended Sidney Glen over the years. Lots of extra curricular activities like the school play, after school basketball, violin, etc... really focuses on the whole child experience, great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2013

Sidney Glen is an exceptional school! The staff is dedicated, and they truly care about their students. My kids have loved every single one of their teachers. The school has won multiple awards because of academic achievement. I am proud to have my kids attend Sidney Glen!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2013

New to Kitsap Co. so this is our first experience in the area. The office staff is rude, they need to work on their pr skills as they are not god and the world does not revolve around them. My son has told me there has been major behavior issues in his class, everyone is punished (no holiday classroom parties) Place is run like a prison. Staff acts like they're entitled to there paycheck and can treat the tax payer like @#$%!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2013

I have amazing respect for the work of this school community. They have been nominated as a Reward School for something like 5 years in a row. This means the kids keep doing better on the state test. There is genuine warmth and caring for kids. Their PTA puts on great events too. This is an all around great school!


Posted November 1, 2012

When I go to the school the principal will always say hello and how great it is that I'm there. The teachers are great and the kids all seem to love the school. I do the watchdog program and it is a great way to see what is going on at the school. I think that this is a great school. Grandparent


Posted May 30, 2011

this school is focused only on meeting test scores, there is nothing else to supplement the traditional elementary school experience. My child was allowed to merely sit in class and stare as he/she was nowhere near grade level. It took years to get any sort of plan together and all that was offered was to move my child to the next grade although we were wanting her to be held back so that he/she would actually learn the material. We had a top notch doc's note saying our child just needed to be taught and not just passed along. The classrooms are filled with kids with behavioral issues that takes up most of the beginning of any class to get them to settle down. The school caters to only the kids in the middle of the spectrum. Kids that are on the low side get nothing they just sit there and kids that are way ahead are left bored and unchallenged. Teachers used to be able to make their own education plans and now they must follow what is set forth for them. SO getting some classwork that your kid can actually do is out of the question. But of course the Principal makes over $112K per year and that goes on and on to the high level of salaries for an underperforming school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2011

Great people. The principal (Jason Shdo), and all of my childrens' teachers have been extremely caring and involved. I see them donate lots of their own personal time to family oriented after hours activities. We see them around the community also. Being in a military town, they celebrate Veterans Day and Memorial Day wondefully. Both of my children are excelling and I love being there too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2010

I have been so impressed with the level of excellence at Sidney Glen!!! The principal, Mr. Shdo, shows great leadership and really connects with the students, parents, and faculty. The teachers my children have had so far have been wonderful! My children are above grade level in every area and continue to be challenged. I highly recommend Sidney Glen!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2009

I love Sidney Glen! My children love Sidney Glen! Since moving here from out of state, I really see a big difference in my children's education. I am very pleased with the curriculem, the teachers, staff and esp Principal Mr. Shdo.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2009

Sidney Glen has been a wonderful experience for my family! Every teacher I have come in contact with is excellent and really there for the children! The new Principal and also the vice-principal are incredible and highly involved with the students and faculty! Wish I had gone here as a kid!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2008

I would say this school is great. My kids attended the '08 summer school for exposure since I've been homeschooling them for a year. My 5 year old daughter does not want to miss a day and she is always enthusiastic about school. Ms. Chamberlain is marvelous! Ms. Fouillard and Ms. Day, you're great with my son too. The Head custodian, is so friendly and nice with the kids. And of course, thumbs up to the principal Mr. Larson who is always on the go! To this great team, thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2008

I think this school is great. I especially love the ima program. It has really helped my son gain a love of learning. That and my favorite teacher, Ms. Eaton. She has been a great teacher for my daughter and she is very supportive outside of school also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2008

Outstanding in every way!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

My child actually transferred here from one of the better public schools in PO, and so far the difference has been barely noticeable, except with regards to the principal. I am so unimpressed by the principal, compared to the amazing one where we transferred from. So far though, I have been extremely happy with the kindergarten which my daughter is in, and the PMA class which my son is in. The teachers in both classes are fantastic, in my opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2007

I agree with the other parent regarding the quality of this school in comparison with other elementary schools.Due to military moves our kids have gone to a number of other schools and so far Sidney Glen is at the bottom for learning. Over the years our kids have spent a total of 6 years at SG and we feel Mrs. Lee could be more involved with the students and parents.There seems to be a disconnect there? There are a number of very wonderful teachers there that go way beyond the call of duty, and then there are a few who seem to care less about teaching and I wish would move on to another profession. I think parents need to be more involved with their kids and behavior at school. The teachers can only do so much with a disruptive child and these kids make it hard for everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2007

My son attends kindergarten at Sidney Glen. He started the year with behavioral issues. The teachers have worked with him and he is now a positive example and role model. His speech, academics and attitude have greatly improved. The staff care about their kids and take individual interest and time to develop them into good students. Every month they have a assembly rewarding the children with certificates stating their strengths. They have a theme monthly for the kids to focus on. January was positive attitude. The kids also did a production of The Wizard of Oz at the High School for public viewing. I think Sidney Glen shines in our community and greatly endorse the staff and teaching methods.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2007

Any kids average to above average learning are stuck and going at the same pace as the slowest child. Our kids did not thrive at all in this school. Other schools out of state we went to we saw a huge difference in learning. At this point, our kids do not like going to school and find it boring and unchallenging. (They are too young to hate school!)we end up doing lot's of home schooling to keep them challenged and they love it, so it isn't the work, it is the classroom. Disruptive kids run the rooms and i have seen many teachers have no clue how to get a handle on the class so the rest are held captive!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2006

Academic programs and community involvement are superb at Sidney Glen. The teachers care and go out of their way to help students. They are on top of the latest developments in education and are show a strong communication with families and communities. This school is GREAT!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students85%
Female86%
Male84%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic80%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Low income81%
Not low income88%
Special education20%
Not special education92%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female86%
Male72%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic60%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Low income83%
Not low income75%
Special education10%
Not special education87%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students77%
Female81%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic64%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Low income71%
Not low income86%
Special education46%
Not special education81%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students74%
Female79%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic79%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Low income71%
Not low income79%
Special education36%
Not special education79%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students51%
Female67%
Male37%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White52%
Low income48%
Not low income55%
Special education9%
Not special education56%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students81%
Female87%
Male75%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income79%
Not low income83%
Special educationn/a
Not special education87%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students85%
Female87%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Low income84%
Not low income86%
Special educationn/a
Not special education89%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students77%
Female77%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income74%
Not low income81%
Special educationn/a
Not special education83%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students77%
Female85%
Male70%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic77%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Low income68%
Not low income85%
Special education36%
Not special education84%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students74%
Female79%
Male70%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic69%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Low income68%
Not low income80%
Special education36%
Not special education81%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 60%
Two or more races 12% 6%
Hispanic 11% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 7%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Black 1% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 11%N/A8%
Special education 113%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 249%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 16N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 12N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 80%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • School of Distinction (2011)
  • School of Distinction (2012)
  • School of Distinction (2013)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Whole Child Award AWSP (2010)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 9:05 am
School end time
  • 3:40 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Jason Shdo
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (360) 443-3469

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Outdoor / Farm-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Bowling
  • Cross country
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Bowling
  • Cross country

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Elementary school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Cedar Heights Junior High
Marcus Whitman Junior High
John Sedgwick Junior High
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

500 SW Birch Rd
Port Orchard, WA 98366
Website: Click here
Phone: (360) 443-3400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Bethany Lutheran School
Port Orchard, WA





Explorer Academy
Port Orchard, WA


Discovery Montessori
Port Orchard, WA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT