Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
1-8
Public
Port Townsend, WA
Students enrolled: 415

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Blue Heron Middle School 5

Posted May 20, 2014
- a community member
I went to BH for 7th and 8th grade, and I loved it. The teachers were very positive and engaged, and they were available to help you if you needed it. The classes were not too big - there were only about 20-25 kids in each class. Mrs. Manning (math), Mr. Oswald (social studies), Mrs. Shively (social studies), and Mrs. Schroeder (language arts) were all great. There was very little bullying, and if a kid was being picked on the teachers were fully aware and tried to help solve the problem. I enjoyed orchestra, P.E. was alright. Lunch was fun - they always gave us time to go outside. It was very easy to make friends, and the kids were as nice as middle schoolers can be.

Blue Heron Middle School 5

Posted January 10, 2014
- a community member
None of the reviews were writing by the principal, the new principal is diane. There is no such thing as saturday school, i am a student and this is my 3rd year. The school is really safe, only like 1 wrestling fight. The teachers actually care, and same w/ students, there is not really any bullying. There are sports. You learn a lot. The lunches arent ideal. There is a orchestra, but we need a conductor. The ptincipal wanted him out. Everyone loved him, and he loved the students and music. Principal, well she is okay. There are fieldtrips. Everyone is nice. Its easy to make friends. The eighth graders are doing different fieldtrips this year, going to olympia, hiking, ropecourse, and more. Definetely reccommend to anyone.


Blue Heron Middle School 5

Posted January 10, 2014
- a community member
Actually, the school does things about bullying, i dont what you are talking about. I am a student here. It is not terriable at all. You learn about shakespeare (7) read the outsiders(8), science fair(5), learn about the government, memorize the preamble of the constitution, (8). Every year there is this writers in the school, eighth graders get to swim and ride bysicles. Safe place, easy to make friends, and fun. Principal okay, lunch not that great, but i recommend this school.

Blue Heron Middle School 4

Posted April 23, 2013
- a community member
Teachers are really good here. Look forward to this school. One bad thing, that's the fire drills.

Blue Heron Middle School 0
no rating

Posted March 23, 2009
- a parent
I just moved my son to Blue Heron from Madison Middle School in Seattle. Unlike the October 21 post, I'd encourage people to consider Blue Heron. My son was failing math at Madion- he is now a solid B math student and his math confidence has grown immensely. I actually found the Principal very engaging and community oriented and Devon reports that there is little tolerance of 'bullying behavior'. I commend the teachers at Blue Heron from their dedication to teaching and to my son's success.


Blue Heron Middle School 1

Posted October 21, 2008
- a student
I bet the prinicipal wrote all of these reviews. This school is absolutely horrible. They do absolutely nothing for your child, when it comes to bullying. The principal will tell your child to 'grow tougher skin', and the teachers focus more on punishing people than actually teaching them. Do not enroll your child into this school.

Blue Heron Middle School 4

Posted October 29, 2005
- a parent
A very involved principal. Mark seems to have pulled the teachers, students, parents, and community together to work as one. The principal makes the difference in this school not the teachers or the extracurricular activities. Great job!

Blue Heron Middle School 4

Posted June 11, 2005
- a former student
Academic programs are very good alot to choose from there is alot of sports including Football, wrestling, volleyball, basketball, track,etc! Parents involvement is very good many parents are involved in the activities that go on in the school!


Blue Heron Middle School 5

Posted May 09, 2005
- a parent
What a great find! With a new principal for the 2004-5 school year, Blue Heron Middle School is re-energized. As always, the teachers care greatly about their students and their subject areas. The new principal, with his warmth and openness, is working to make each child feel welcome. Blue Heron welcomes volunteers and has had over 100 in its doors this year.

Blue Heron Middle School 2

Posted May 02, 2005
- a parent
The teachers at this school are very helpful to their students and do their best to keep your child caught up. But, when it comes to punishment they seem a bit harsh and work against themselves for example: if your child has less than a c grade in 1 or more classes and has missing assignments they will send your child to saturday school in the morning. And if you child misses saturday school and doesnt return to school on monday with a note excusing the absence they send your child to 1/2-1 day of in school suspension. To me this is going against the point of trying to keep the child caught up because they are missing their classes and assignments fo that day and therefore fall further behind in their classes. They also will send your child to truancy court once a month if the have too many unexused absences. Thanks.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Blue Heron Middle School
3939 San Juan Av, Port Townsend, WA  98368
(360) 379-4540
Last modified Blue Heron Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 1-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Blue Heron Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top