Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Private
Port Townsend, WA
Students enrolled: 60
Before care: No
After care: No

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Swan School 5

Posted April 07, 2014
- a parent
Swan school has been so great for my daughter. There are three recess periods each day, many great field trips, lots of community interaction, fantastic teachers, art and music, and a top notch curriculum. My daughter has really blossomed at Swan!

Swan School 5

Posted November 07, 2013
- a parent
I have a great amount of respect and gratitude toward Swan School's wonderful teaching, both in the high quality traditional educational sense, and in the more subtle teaching of values in relation to community, generosity, kindness, and care. My son was recently given $20 spending money from his Grandma. He told me this morning that he wants to bring it to school to put in the jar for "the kids who can't afford to pay for Swan, so they can still be here". He doesn't know he's one of those kids, but he is learning from this wonderful community that everyone, no matter what they have by way of money, is given the chance to be a part, and he is moved to help make this happen. We love you! Thank you for all your good work. -J.


Swan School 5

Posted September 07, 2013
- a parent
Swan School is a community in and of itself. It is financially accessible to many with its financial aid and scholarship options. For two years the school has made it very affordable for my two students to attend. The school activities are integrated and diverse. For example, the older students mentor the younger students, the choir class walks over to the nearby nursing home and sings to the residents, the school is involved in community volunteer projects. My children love Swan School because of the small class size.

Swan School 5

Posted April 07, 2011
- a parent
Swan School's highlights include experienced, insightful teachers, and a great community of students who really care for one another. We love Swan School!

Swan School 5

Posted June 14, 2010
- a parent
We love Swan School! My daughter has been there for four years. Russ Yates is a great teacher and director. All her teachers have been excellent. She is doing well academically and emotionally. She looks forward to school, and enjoys learning. Don't be discouraged if it seems expensive. There are scholarships and financial programs. And the cost is consistent with similar schools. Great program, excellent long-term vision, it will just get better and better.


Swan School 5

Posted October 30, 2006
- a parent
My Daughter is in her 5th year at Swan School and We love it. It has been a wonderful experience for us in every way. We have been very involved in the school and that has made our years there all the more rewarding. The art, music program and choir are fantastic, and compliment the educational programs. The school has a unique program for behavior and involvement amongst the kids, that really keeps them engaged. Even the homework for the 3-6th graders is a unique experience that is well thought out and wonderful in how the kids learn public speaking, while the observers learn to see the best in others work, and learn to compliment and encourage each other. We would highly recommend this school.

Swan School 5

Posted March 29, 2005
- a parent
Swan School has a very low teacher/student ratio, which means lots of individualized attention for each student. At a time when the public schools are cutting programs, Swan's curriculum emphasizes art, music, foreign language and the performing arts. Swan focuses on project-based, interdisciplinary, hands-on learning, which means the kids are really learning to learn, instead of just memorizing things. There's a high expectation of parent involvement at the school, which means that the families at the school really get to know each other. The multiage classrooms and all-school activities help foster meaningful relationships between young students and older students, helping develop confidence in the younger students and a sense of responsibility in the older kids. Our daughter has been at Swan for three years, and we're thrilled the school has recently expanded to 8th grade-- means we can stay longer!

Swan School 2

Posted July 07, 2004
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Swan School
2345 Kuhn St, Port Townsend, WA  98368
(360) 385-7340
Last modified Swan School is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Swan School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top