Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Poulsbo Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 29, 2013

We recently moved from Central Kitsap sd to North Kitsap sd. We have two children, one was identified as gifted through CK testing, and the other has developmental delays. I was very stressed about the ability of Poulsbo Elem. to appropriately meet the needs of both children, but Poulsbo has exceeded my expectations. My oldest daughters teacher is amazing at meeting her needs and challenging her. My youngest daughter is enrolled in Poulsbo's developmental preschool program. She has a great special education teacher, and excellent para-educators working with her. The program has made a huge difference in her speech development in just the past 5 months. The school has excellent communication with families, principal letters go out regularly with updates, as well as monthly email updates and newsletters. The volunteers for this school are amazing...offering their services in extra curricular activities and family nights. So, so happy with Poulsbo Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2012

Our family just moved here and I am extremely happy with the school. My sons teachers are fabulous. I love all the parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2011

Poulsbo Elementary has gone through a number of changes in the last few years and now we're on a progressive upward path. We have inspired parents, we have some enthusiastic and passionate teachers, and most of all we have an energetic and supportive new principal that has the school at the center of his heart. We may not have a long history of excellence but I see a huge future!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

Overall, a great school but they need to do a better job accomodating advanced students. (Yes, every parent thinks their kid is 'advanced')
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2007

I am very disappointed with [my son's] teacher and also last year's teacher. He is a great and smart kid, but he needs help with focus. His two teachers have not been able to see the good in him or his intelligence. However, his Kindergarten teacher was awesome and she loved him and treated him with the respect he deserved. He blossomed in her class (thanks Mrs. Hawkins!!) My other son is now in Kindergarten with Mrs. Debritz and I think she is great so far as well. I think in general that many teachers in this school do not deal well with kids that are in any way out of the norm. My son thinks out of the box, which can be put to great use! Instead he is treated poorly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2007

I am very happy with this school. I feel that the parents are very well informed and this is a family friendly school. Being a Navy family is is very hard to come into a new school and get to know other families since most of the kids have been going to school since Kindergarten. It has been very easy for my son to fit in and the other parents are very friendly and want to get to know you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2007

My daughter attended K and 1st at Poulsbo Elementary and this school was the biggest disappointment out of all the schools my children have attended (we are military). I believe this school teaches to the lower level students giving the middle and higher ones nothing to do. The classes also have too many students and the buses are out of control. On a positive note, if your child has a disability this would be a great school for him or her to attend and there is an excellent art teacher (if that's what important to you).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2007

I find this school mediocre at best. I am not sure if my children are learning anything. My children went to school in New York City and Seattle before and this school is way behind. There is a lack of supervision on the playground. They also can't seem to deal with normal childhood behavior. I have spoken to parents who have moved here from other states and also feel if your child isn't very sedate they don't know what to do with them. The exception is Ms. Bagwell who is a wonderful and caring kindergarten teacher who seems to find the wonder in every child. This school is not very diverse and my son has complained of feeling left out because he's half Asian.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2006

My daughter has just begun kindergarten this year and absolutely loves school. A variety of information about her progress is provided on a weekly basis. So far so good.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students74%
Female77%
Male72%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic67%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Low income60%
Not low income82%
Special education33%
Not special education84%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students82%
Female80%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic83%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Low income74%
Not low income86%
Special education50%
Not special education89%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students60%
Female64%
Male56%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic33%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Low income38%
Not low income74%
Special educationn/a
Not special education66%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students83%
Female86%
Male81%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic58%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Low income66%
Not low income95%
Special educationn/a
Not special education89%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students67%
Female78%
Male56%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Low income52%
Not low income77%
Special educationn/a
Not special education72%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students70%
Female77%
Male62%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Low income46%
Not low income80%
Special education0%
Not special education82%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students82%
Female85%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Low income65%
Not low income89%
Special education36%
Not special education89%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students77%
Female75%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income48%
Not low income89%
Special education36%
Not special education83%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 60%
Hispanic 15% 20%
Two or more races 12% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 2%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 17%N/A8%
Special education 117%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 236%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 17N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 17N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 63%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Glen Robbins

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18531 Noll Rd NE
Poulsbo, WA 98370
Phone: (360) 598-1100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Pal Program
Poulsbo, WA


Special Programs
Poulsbo, WA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT