Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Vinland Elementary School 2

Posted October 25, 2015
- a parent
This school is just way too big. They cannot meet all of the students needs. We moved from a much smaller school and so far I am not impressed. The teachers don't seem to even know my children's strengths. We are not finding differentiation for student learning levels. You do not feel part of a community here... just a number. I really think it is just too big for an elementary school. And the uniforms... what a joke. Anyone who thinks limiting a child's creativity of choice in dress will help his or her academics is archaic. All it shows our family is that creativity is out the door at this school. Boo... looking for other options for my children.

Vinland Elementary School 2

Posted June 14, 2015
- a parent
This school used to be great! Older reviews are justifiably higher, but any positive reviews more than three years old can be safely ignored. Principal and some of the staff are truly interested in student success, and welcome parent involvement. Overall school culture is fractured and parents are not as welcome as they once were, which is sad because research shows that parental involvement is the most important contributing factor to student success. As other reviews have noted, one of the front office staff is incredibly rude and arrogant, unfortunately. Her arrogance has led her to provide guidance contrary to district policy and state law and the principal has had to correct her mistakes. Campus is beautiful. Somewhat of a student drop-off issue, but not too onerous. With some staffing changes and revised school culture that values parental and community involvement, hopefully this school can be great again!


Vinland Elementary School 2

Posted July 19, 2014
- a parent
This school came so highly recommended when I relocated to the area last year. It's clear that they have some caring staff and teachers and the principal is genuine and cares about situations that are brought to his attention. That being said, the school is overwhelmingly disorganized and the left hand doesn't appear to know what the right is doing. There is one front office staff member that is incredibly rude and condescending. Parent involvement is not encouraged. Class sizes are far too big and the poor teachers are rendered ineffective against this limitation. They also don't appear to know how to handle children with varying degrees of learning. My child is well above his grade level in all areas. Because he's unassuming, quiet, well behaved, performed all work well and without supervision, and didn't seek attention, he became invisible. Even after repeated requests for learning geared towards his level to challenge him. The uniform policy is fine but a little over restrictive for young children. This school would be great if it could be reminded that it's a school made up of hundreds of different people as opposed to numbers on a roster.

Vinland Elementary School 1

Posted January 16, 2014
- a parent
I have had 3 children attend this school, one of which has special needs. If you have a SN child, avoid this school like the plague. The principal has no idea how to deal with differently developing kids. His solution seems to be to call the parents or have the child to sit in the office away from their peers. The uniform policy is ridiculous and inconsistant. While some girls are allowed to wear thick headbands, some are asked to remove theirs. Some kids are allowed to wear after school uniforms (cub scouts, girl scouts, soccer, etc) while others are made to change (cheerleaders, football uniforms). It is NOT a private school and happens to be the ONLY school in the district to require kids to wear drab, ugly uniforms. If we didn't own a house here, there is no way we would continue to have our children attend here.

Vinland Elementary School 3

Posted December 20, 2012
- a parent
I choose this school due to it's high rating, and high test scores, the first year my children had an awesome teacher, and did well, even coming up in math, this year, not so much. I'm watching my daughter loose ground and was told I need to work with her more. (Which we do) But it seems to be over worked teachers, they can only do so much, and I understand that, but watching your kid loose ground is horrific. There has been a large influx of students between last year and this year. The class started out with 34 students, (which I personally believe is way to large for elementary) and they opened another class, but only brought down the class size by 2 or 3 students, as they created a mixed class encompassing 3rd, 4th and 5th graders. Which did reduce the class size some, but seems like a strange program to me. I'm not aware of any studies that this is a successful program. Moms definitely roll in a clique, I feel bad for you if you don't make the cut. I'm not a big fan of the uniforms, I think children this age should be encouraged to be individuals, I'd like to see the uniforms in the middle and highschools, where your branding is every thing, and fitting in critical.


Vinland Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 24, 2009
- a parent
Teachers & Parents really care about the success of all the students.

Vinland Elementary School 5

Posted November 16, 2008
- a parent
We decide to move to Poulsbo due to the school system as a whole and we haven't been disappointed. Every person we have come in contact with, assocciated with Vinland, has been exceptional. We are particulary pleased with Ms. Doria ( first grade teacher ). My wife and I have a son who is in Martha & Mary which will be in Kindergarden next year and he has grown leaps and bounds since enrolling him there. Hopefully he gets Ms. Doria when he gets to first grade!!! Good Luck

Vinland Elementary School 4

Posted February 07, 2008
- a parent
the teachers and staff are always friendly to the parnets and students. If there is conflict or concerns they are considerate of all angles that it might need aproched by. The children love to come and learn. I appreciate the dress code and teaching the children how to be well behaved and kind to others.


Vinland Elementary School 5

Posted June 05, 2007
- a parent
This is a great school and the staff and teachers there are also exceptional! Very happy there!

Vinland Elementary School 5

Posted August 29, 2006
- a parent
From what I hear, there is immense pressure on these teachers to constantly do WASL related work. I think that the teachers do care. I think they are overwhelmed and pushed hard. I have had great experiences with hard working and caring staff members. If they did not care, how could the students be doing so well? Parents and teachers really need to work together on any 'issues' and listen to eachother. Care comes in all forms and it isn't always the 'enthusiastic' craft-making kind. Teaching and education have come a long way and it looks different.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Vinland Elementary School
22104 Rhododendron Ln NW, Poulsbo, WA  98370
(360) 394-2920
Last modified Vinland Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Vinland Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top