Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cascade Christian -Junior High/High School

Private | 7-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Puyallup

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $191,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $990.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 25, 2013

I can not stress enough all my reasons not to go to the school. I personally beg you not to put your children in this school. Not only are the kids bullies, but the teachers, and kids parents. You definatley have to buy your way into the school, and everyone there has their own idea of biblical curriculum. I honestly hated all 11 years of it, and now that i have changed schools, i am so much happier and healthier. Going to public school, i was behind in 5 classes.... So much for preping you for college. They taught me no skills for the real world and gave such little opportunity to children with parents that didnt hand that school money like an allowance. In my opinion sending your child to this school is one of the biggest financial and also moral mistakes you could make. Ive been out of this school for quite awhile, and the children still continue to cyber bully me. these things are all PERSONAL EXPERIENCE AND OPINION.


Posted September 20, 2012

We have been with Cascade Christian School for 11 years. I was hesitant to send my kids to a private school. I came up through a public school and so did all my siblings, I thought that was the only way to go. But I am so thankful that my wife talked me into taking our kids here. The environment is unlike anything I've ever been a part of. The teachers truly care about each and every kids progress. I have over 40 nephews and nieces, and when we have family gatherings you can definately tell the difference from my kids. They are more disciplined and they love the lord. Because that is what they are being taught. Don't get me started on the education difference either. My kids are way ahead of them too. It's too bad that some people had a bad experience with this school, but I can tell you this......"You get out of it what you put into it!!!!!!!!!!!" CCS all the way...Go COUGS!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2011

We are into our 11th year at CCS and are at the junior high now. My kids are athletes and CCS is the best for sports and college recognition. Just a Heads Up that CCS grade school campuses would better serve for preparation of an awkward family situation if human biology/sex education were taught or even introduced to the children (public schools teach that in 4th/5th grade). By the time Cascade students are learning about this in 8th grade, they have been hormonal for a couple years. If your kids go to CCS elementray and then enter public junior high, they miss any lessons on sex education altogether. It's like closing the barn door after the animals are already out. CCS is better than the failing WA State public schools and is one of the best private schools overall: the other parents are great, and the teacher work hard, so we are staying.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2011

I went to this school from elementary all the way to the first semester of eighth grade. I was being bullied and harassed on a daily basis. When I told administration about this they just brushed me off. They said, "I feel bad for you." but never did anything about it. After that I switched to Frank H. Ballou Junior High School. Ballou reached and exceeded my expectations. They told us, "Bullying will NOT be tolerated." The whole staff is very kind and supportive. I do not regret leaving Cascade. The academics at Ballou are very good, as well. I was actually behind in 4 of my 6 classes. I never realized how behind Cascade was until now. My parents were supposedly paying for a higher education and a better well rounded environment at Cascade. We received neither of those. No amount of money in the world could make me go back to Cascade Christian Junior High.


Posted January 25, 2010

My daughter has gone to five different schools, three of them private. She is at Cascade Christian Junior High now. We are at Cascade to STAY. Teachers are engaged, easy to get a hold of, communication is excellent, and they do not have the 'one size fits all' approach to education. My daughter doesn't care for math, but her favorite teacher is her math teacher! They try to get to the heart of the kid, not beat them up with law and regulation so they 'resent' christian teaching. Geniune people, no flaky 'pseudo-christian' types.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2010

We were only able to attend Cascade Christian for a year, but it was a fantastic school year for my kids. It was a challenging education taught by teachers who love Christ. Having been involved in Christian schools before, I can tell you our favorite part about it--it is not legalistic in its beleifs. Instead of having a million right/wrong rules to follow, they strive to teach the kids about relationship with God and others. This allows the kids to get a feel for the 'real world' but with a Christian outlook--they call it 'biblical worldview' and they are great at teaching it. After being involved in the public school system in Puyallup, Cascade was a huge breath of fresh air and we wished we had found it sooner. The teachers care about their students and their families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2009

Awesome school. Both our kids have been here since 4 years old and we love it. Over 10 years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2008

Cascde Christian school is a great school! I have been going there since kindergarten. The mix of great Athletics and outstanding academics it is the school to go to. I really recomend it!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 4, 2008

I found this school is filled with alot more drama then normal public schools and would not recomend it to any one the teachers dont teach very well and there is not enough supplys if you are looking for a good school for your kids do not pick this one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2007

I was enrolled in CCS 5-8th grade. I found the environment very uncomfortable. The discipline was very weak and the school did nothing to prepare me for the real world. I do not reccommend it at all.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 3, 2006

This is an awesome school! If you are looking for a top notch education w/ a christian perspective, this is the school for you! The teachers are all wonderful and very caring and supportive. The principle is the sweetest and all the kids love her! Its well run with a strong academic standard--You will see the difference in the level of education you recieve here vs. at a public school, not to mention the great christian teachings which are taught through all subject materials! You have to check this school out, and with its mult. locations, there is probably a compus near you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2004

As a parent first and a teacher Cascade is an excellent school. It has a focus on academics, spiritual growth and the overall character of the student. The teachers, students and parents work with one goal in mind, the students success and training to be equipped for the world outside of school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 7%
Two or more races 6% 6%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Hispanic 1% 20%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

811 21st Street Southeast
Puyallup, WA 98372
Phone: (253) 841-1776

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Phoenix Program
Puyallup, WA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT