Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-7
Public
Puyallup, WA
Students enrolled: 935
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Emma L Carson Elementary School 4

Posted December 09, 2013
- a parent
So far we are very impressed with Carson. Both teachers my Daughter has had have been excellent!. Besides that, I volunteer in her class room and get to see first hand why this school excels. The office staff is friendly and caring. They are also very thorough with checking ID's when you pick up your kids. The priciple is very involved and seems to connect with the kids and staff on a personal level. He is often seen walking the school grounds and interacting with the kids. He has a very positive disposition and seems well liked. The PTA is far above standard and should be regonized for their constant involvement in improving the school and the kids experiences.

Emma L Carson Elementary School 4

Posted November 22, 2013
- a community member
Ive gone to Carson for 7 years and for the last 2 years there has been a new principal hes great are old principal was not good at all he would just sit in his office and never came out are new principal knows every kids name remembers who says what hes the best principal ever! there is a lot of kids at that school but there's lots of things and clubs to join and do.


Emma L Carson Elementary School 1

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
I never thought a school could do more damage than good, but I have been enlightened. The new principal is good, but I've never met worse teachers in my life. My son was starting to read when he started Kindergarten at Carson, now, he's in 1st grade at another Puyallup school and I have to do damage control. He's EXACTLY where he was starting kindergarten or farther behind. My daughter's math skills have dwindled to from being above grade level to being below grade level after 2 years at Carson. Her reading is fine, but thankfully, her reading was great before she got there. We have since moved away and the school is 150% of the reason why. We went school shopping when looking for a new home. VERY GLAD I rented a house rather than bought a house in this neighborhood. The new principal (from last year) is making changes, but there's only so much single administrator can do. It's going to be a LONG slow process for him.

Emma L Carson Elementary School 3

Posted February 09, 2013
- a parent
My chid plans on attending Carson next year. It seems like a great-looking school, however when i am on the website I notice a lot of pictures of kids - and teachers!- holding up the victory sign backwards. This is perceived as a gang sign and the pictures should not be up for public viewing. Come on, Carson admin! Let's show some respect from our kids and staff!

Emma L Carson Elementary School 5

Posted May 21, 2012
- a parent
Carson is a really good school. It does have a large population, but it only serves the Silvercreek neighborhood. My husband and I have four children attending Carson in the grades of K, 1st, 4th and 6th. If your kids live in the boundaries of Carson- your kids walk to school (either by themselves, with parents, or parent volunteers via the walking school bus system) or get dropped off. However if you have a child in Kindergarten- they are given an option to take the bus depending if on AM or PM schedule. AM is offered afternoon drop off via the bus, and PM is offered pickup services. Wed is a short day and 'K' attendance is on an alternating schedule. I volunteer in my kids classroom every week, and the staff/faculty are very caring, dedicated and wonderful. The PTA can always use more participants, but a wonderful choice for a school. Get into this area- you won't be disappointed. Great school, huge park with views of Mt. Rainer, grocery stores and pharmacy within walking distance. This year weekly cooking classes were offered to grades 2-6. My oldest two have been going and LOVE it! There is also Coyote choir, yearly Veterans Day tribute assemblies, and Track for 5-6 grade.


Emma L Carson Elementary School 2

Posted February 03, 2012
- a parent
The Vice Principal seems unaware of how thing are run in the school. I never see the Principal nor have had any correspondence with him, even after e-mailing.. Education here is sub-par. For this school being as large as it is, it has very, very little to offer for after school activities and academics.

Emma L Carson Elementary School 5

Posted March 26, 2011
- a parent
The school and/or PTA try hard. Movie nights, Restaurant nights, etc. Parking is a bottleneck though. Cross-guards are out there in the mornings almost religiously which is a good thing with soooo many walkers. The Principal Gonzales should be a bit more involved and smile more to the parents. This school has great teachers and is a great place for students. I noticed they have recently setup a surveillance system or it will be going up soon. Sounds safe.

Emma L Carson Elementary School 1

Posted November 08, 2010
- a parent
School looks good on the outside but the leadership at the school has no sense of right and wrong this school allows and encourages 5 year old children to walk over a mile to school.


Emma L Carson Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 15, 2010
- a parent
Great staff and great parents with incredible students! Go Carson Coyotes!

Emma L Carson Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 12, 2010
- a parent
They have an awesome staff of teachers principals & office staff

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Emma L Carson Elementary School
8615 182nd St East, Puyallup, WA  98375
(253) 840-8808
Last modified Emma L Carson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-7. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Emma L Carson Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top