Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cascadia Montessori School

Private | K-4 | 67 students

 
 

Living in Redmond

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $399,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,310.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2014

Both my kids have attended Cascadia. My older one finished size years there starting at Pre-K thru the 4th grade and my younger one is still a student there. I have found that both my kids have really blossomed in the environment there, despite they being very different kids. You might find other reviews here complaining about different things, but one thing that really sticks out with Cascadia is that the staff and director REALLY care about the kids and do the very BEST for them always. They are able to provide an extremely caring and nurturing environment for the kids. Given that most of the teachers have longevity in the school, they are able to KNOW each individual child to a depth, that is frankly unmatched by other larger schools. They then use this deep insight and knowledge that is built over several years to provide for the best for the children. At the end of the day, that's the most important characteristic that you want out of a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2014

Both of my children went to Cascadia Montessori from K-4 so I am writing from many years of close personal experience with this wonderful school. Both the kids, simply loved going to Cascadia. It was like a home away from home for them. The school has a rigorous academic program and the children learn a lot there. The teachers are caring and know each child personally. The teachers coach and work with each child individually to help him or her attain best level of personal success. The director of the school has been running the school for a very long time. She loves children at Cascadia and is immensely proud of them. The school has a large, picturesque playground in the back with natural grass (a rarity these days!) where my children enjoyed playing almost every day. The school has extracurricular activities like singing, hip-hop dance or school play in which everyone participates. In addition to all of that, I feel that Cascadia played an important role in encouraging my kids to become well-behaved, respectful, independent children. Overall, it was a great experience for my kids and I am grateful to the school for providing an amazing educational foundation for them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2014

If you are looking for a nurturing, yet academically challenging environment, then Cascadia is the school for you. The teachers at Cascadia believe in growing well-rounded kids. They do this by helping them build confidence and self-esteem through numerous occasions for presenting in front of the class, solving problems collaboratively, and learning to resolve conflict in positive ways. Cascadia also boasts a very high rate of its graduating class entering top-notch independent schools in the area (Lakeside, Overlake, Forest Ridge, Eastside Prep, etc.) and the Quest Program in the public school system. Every teacher from pre-K to 4th grade is outstanding. Mrs. Franklin provides leadership and guidance in a thoughtful and caring way. Cascadia is her family. We are delighted that we chose Cascadia for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2014

Very small school with less than 70 kids, no diversity (95% Asian) and no resources (no gym, no cafeteria, no library). They hire bus companies to take the kids twice a month to the gym or library. This is definitely not a Montessori school so make sure you ask for the teachers qualifications before enrolling. They try to sell you a low teacher/student ration but in reality there s only one teacher per class, the rest of them are there to do paperwork or police the kids. Their only focus every day is getting the paperwork done. If your kid is slower, he will have to stay in at recess and finish the paperwork. Also, if the kids don t behave, they take time away from recess. Lots of parent volunteering required. Also, this school has more vacation and days off than any other school. The main problem with the school is the principal. She is very controlling. Everything has to go through her and she never accepts any feedback. If your kid has any problems in school, she will question your family values and dynamic. She talks down to the parents. She doesn t have a good communication system with the parents. She will spam you every day with tones of emails and papers send home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2014

This is an excellent Elementary private school in Redmond area. If you are looking for quality education as well as discipline for your child then this is the right place. CMS has a strong and unique academic program right from Pre-K to Fourth grade that comprises progressive education, as well as it provides a warm, nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2013

Cascadia may be a good school, but it is not Montessori at all and should stop using the word in their name. Montessori schools have classes with at least a 3-year age range. Children in Montessori choose what to do, with help from teacher-given lessons. You will not find this at Cascadia.


Posted February 9, 2012

Our daughter attended Cascadia Montessori pre-K through part of the 1st grade until we moved to another state. Since then, I had an experience with 2 different highly rated private schools. Cascadia Montessory really shines in comparison! The academics , the small, caring nurturing environment and the way the schol is run are simply superb!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2004

This is a solid, safe learning environment for most children.Children who need a formal and relatively structured learning environment may feel a bit lost but self-motivated kids do superbly here.For instance,we have one son who has only ever attended Montessori and thrives while one of our daughters has thrived in another, more structured school.As a smaller, private school it doesn't offer the extra-curriculars that a public school might have but does well with music and art offerings.New school building opened in 2003 and is in a beautiful setting with plans to add another building within the next couple of years.Parent involvement is strong as well as the vision for the direction and future of the school from its Principal.Great alternative to public school in an area sorely lacking in private school options.Graduates of Cascadia's 6th or 8th grade usually report success outside of the Montessori setting.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 70% 7%
White 20% 60%
Two or more races 8% 6%
Hispanic 1% 20%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Marilyn J. Franklin
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • Other Montessori

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4239 162nd Ave NE
Redmond, WA 98052
Website: Click here
Phone: (425) 881-2885

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Eton School
Bellevue, WA




Medina Academy
Redmond, WA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT