Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Medina Academy

Private | PK-6 | 172 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 15, 2014

Different rules between English teachers and Arabic teachers made kids very confusing, Arabic teachers and assistant teachers had favoritism on kids, even principal did not give fair treatment on the kids, example : 2 kids were playing on lesson time at their desk while principal was observing in the classroom and he did not talk with both kids, he chose one kid to give a lecture instead of both kids. Terrible management, disorganized and teachers are not getting along each other instead of helping each other or team work. Teachers were criticizing each other, so sad to see that. Now I hired the Arabic teacher at home to teach my kids and put them in public school, they were very happy and they could tell the different between medina and public school because they got to go to advanced class in public school which Medina did not have that option. Arabic teachers, Assistant teachers made kids to become low self esteemed and I am so glad that my children were out of this school and I saved money and not wasted at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2013

at the very least this school teaches Islamic studies along with the regular subjects. School staff is disorganized. No active communication b/w parents and teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

Medina Academy is one of the best schools I have ever experienced for my child. My daughter is going there and I wish they had enough room to accommodate my son as well. May Allah give all of the staff at MA more strength and patience to succeed further in serving the Muslim kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2013

This so called Islamic school kicked out my child because he is mildly autistic. They also allowed parents to ridicule a child with undiagnosed aspergers. My son was denied an Islamic education, and lost his friends (and friends are hard to come by for those on the spectrum). I offered to pay for an aide, work for them for free, or to "school him myself" in the hallway with a desk so that he could remain in the Islamic school and play with his friends at recess. They also denied him this. My son today prays every prayer, urges me to be kind, helps others, and has memorized several Suras IN SPITE of being deemed unworthy of an Islamic education. The children in the school also lost the opportunity to learn about differences, develop compassion, and understand that Allah/God created us all, even those people deem "not perfect". I pray that the school has changed. My son will live with the scars from Medina for the rest of his life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2012

What a blessing this school is dedicated teachers sound morals it is a gift from God 3 kids attending ( 1st began in 2003)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2012

Great school and WONDERFUL staff. My sn loves waking up and seeing ALL the staff at Medina. He is excited everyday to school. I did the best decision and enrolling him in Medina preschool. He has memorized Quran surah's, dua'as, and songs thst I couldn't teach him. Totally recmmend Medina!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2011

my kids love going to Medina Academy the teachers are so great and they learning very fast make a big difference
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2010

My daughter has gone to Medina Academy for three years PreSchool,Pre-K and Kindergarten. The academic level of this school has proven to be excellent so far. The WASL scores on the website www.medinaacademy.org give an idea about the academic standing of the students. In most areas they exceed state standards. Kids get to learn Arabic and class rooms are multicultural. Most parents who pull their kids out opt for free public schools since it can get expensive when there are more than 2 kids attending private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2010

Fantastic school. My son loves going to Medina academy, he looks forward to it each and everyday. The teachers are wonderful, caring and attentive. They develop really strong relationship with the children and makes such a big difference. The Islamic and Arabic knowledge is heart warming, the school is doing exactly what it says it will and more. I wish it went beyond the 6th grade though, or else, I would've kept my son enrolled till he graduated from high school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2010

My daughter went to medina academy last year and we're very impressed. She learned sooo much in a short time. The teachers are great and the environment is wonderfully Islamic. May allah continue your success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

My son was in a private preshool and was playing all the time, when he moved to MA he can write,read,and even do homework without any help. I'm so proud of him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

Our experience at Medina Academy has been very positive. Against all the odds the school is growing and severing the needs of our community. My daughter is doing very well and I will definitely enroll my other Kids to Medina Academy. Keep up the good work Medina Academy. MRA
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2008

Very nice environment. Caring staff. Solid curriculum. My son went to Medina Academy for several years prior to going to public schools. Medina Academy prepared him very well for Junior High academically, socially and emotionally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2008

This was a Muslim based private school on the Eastside of Washington State. Their is about 70 kids in the K-6 part of the school. What I noticed is enrolled children came MAINLY because of the religion basis but many were disappointed in the lack of organization, application to Islam in their daily lessons and the lack of response to families concerns as time went on.... When comparing this school to other schools both public and private in the sorrounding area many families moved on last year~
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2007

There is a lack of organization in everything. There are no innovation in class methods, there is lack of physical spaces, the children materials are a mess.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 78% 7%
Black 20% 5%
Two or more races 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hispanic 0% 20%
White 0% 60%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Islamic

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Po Box 2682
Redmond, WA 98073
Phone: (425) 497-8848

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT