Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Redmond, WA
Students enrolled: 560

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


John J. Audubon Elementary School 3

Posted December 02, 2012
- a parent
Audubon is a decent school. Nothing amazing. Some highlights: Many of the teachers are good and try to go a good job teaching the kids. And both of my kids like it there. The principal is invisible and doesn't provide any leadership. At the start of the year picnic when my kids were starting their second year at the school, we got our food, sat at a picnic table and talked to some parents. When the lady who sat quiet and apart at the corner of the table left, I asked my daughter who that was. She told me it was the principal! That was the first time I had ever seen her! She didn't ask us anything at all! There are virtually no scheduled art classes at the school. The teachers try to get volunteer parents to have an art project once every few weeks. The kids sorely miss art. The school has an extra short day every Wednesday. That complicates every parent's weekly schedule. Why not even it out? My daughter had her WA State exams a month before the end of the school year. Guess what she did the rest of the year? Nothing! The school schedules conferences during school times, letting students get out early each day. Everyone's schedule is messed up the entire week.

John J. Audubon Elementary School 5

Posted July 08, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


John J. Audubon Elementary School 5

Posted July 08, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

John J. Audubon Elementary School 5

Posted July 08, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

John J. Audubon Elementary School 5

Posted July 08, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


John J. Audubon Elementary School 5

Posted July 08, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

John J. Audubon Elementary School 5

Posted July 08, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

John J. Audubon Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 29, 2008
- a parent
Audubon has improved dramatically over the past year. Not only in moral (new Principal Karen Dickens has brought a new perspective and energy to the school) but also academically. Audubon had top district scores in Math and Science on the 2007-2008 school year WASL results. The parent involvement and the energetic and enthusiastic PTSA at Audubon has made this a rich learning environment along with a sense of community that is hard to replicate. Audubon will only continue to shine brighter in the coming years.


John J. Audubon Elementary School 3

Posted April 07, 2008
- a parent
Audubon is climbing out of a slump during which the former principal utilized a top-down, micro-managing style with staff and a 'guilty until proven innocent' disciplinary style with the students. The current rinciipal, Karen Dickens, is improving morale and environment quality. The curriculum is geared toward the standardized tests, teachers do not have much control over theri curricuculum. Student interaction styel has been fairly agrgresive adn bullying has been overlooked.

John J. Audubon Elementary School 4

Posted February 21, 2007
- a parent
Audubon has been a fabulous environment for my daughter to learn and flourish. The principal is very involved and knows many children's names. The PTSA has wonderful extracurricular activities and fundraising opportunities to get to know the community families. We are very impressed with the curriculum and the pace of the learning environment. The teachers are great communicators using more and more web-based venues with quick responses. My child's teacher is truly interested in her progress and has great classroom control. They offer science, art, soccer, karate afterschool through PTSA fundraising. I think the score of 9 out of 10 is well earned and validated.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John J. Audubon Elementary School
3045 180th NE, Redmond, WA  98052
(425) 881-9575
Last modified John J. Audubon Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
John J. Audubon Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top