Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
33 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 47 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Redmond Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 08, 2016
- a parent
Thanks for being tough with my son. His elementary teachers didn't always serve him well by giving him an easy ride because they knew he was smart. He needed to learn to turn things in on time, write legibly, have respect for the teacher's time. He is really thriving now, even though it is harder. He is doing his best work.

Redmond Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 08, 2016
- a parent
It's a significant increase over elementary school but less than high school and college will be. My son needs to be ready. Some assignments do feel like a waste for him--spending a long time on coloring something in or cutting and pasting which doesn't really add to the learning experience.


Redmond Middle School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted January 08, 2016
- a parent
The teachers grade hard and then allow you a chance to do the work over for a better grade. If you turn something in late, you have to fill out a form showing why you need to turn it in late and how you'll do better next time. My son needed this kind of reinforcement to see that by trying harder he could do better.

Redmond Middle School 5

Posted January 08, 2016
- a parent
We were concerned when our son was finishing fifth grade and we toured all the choice schools that you have to win the lottery to get into. Did we have to win the lottery to get a good education for our son? No. Redmond Middle School actually provided a rigorous education for our high-achieving sixth-grader and is doing so again in seventh grade. My son says this is the first time he has classes that he is learning something he didn't already know going in. He struggled at first to learn the organizational skills to be responsible for his own work in six classes. But the school had a good system in place where they started off easier and gradually got more strict about deadlines and grades. Most of his teachers have been good (with the occasional clinker). I think you'll find that at any school. The school is over-crowded, but that may change if we can get some more schools built in the area. The advanced-level math program is great and sets the kids up to be ready for higher levels and AP classes in high school. Many more opportunities for electives and sports than a choice school too. Overall, a good choice for a kid who doesn't have a special leaning toward the subjects or learning styles taught by the various choice schools.

Redmond Middle School 2

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
We moved couple years ago to Redmond and I had big expectations from this school. I have 3 children and all of them went to RMS and RHS. The curriculum night was a big mess this year. Some teachers are very awful and others are good. My kids don't have any enthusiasm for school like they had in other school.


Redmond Middle School 2

Posted June 12, 2015
- a community member
This school is terrible. i had hopes in this school, but be caution when putting your kids in this school. Teachers are not qualified to teach kids and expect too much from kids. Their PE teacher even doesn't keep records of how kids are doing and just puts random scores which can have negative score for your child. Electronic system is never working and i have to email teachers in regards to this all the time. The school is overpopulated and it will only get worse. I hope i can transfer my kids to better school district, such as Bellevue.

Redmond Middle School 2

Posted April 21, 2015
- a parent
bad unnecessary rules, they will put almost anyone into the below average class. most teachers are pretty good, others decent, and some absolutely awful. Some of the administration is WAY to strict and dont know anything about kids.

Redmond Middle School 2

Posted March 24, 2015
- a parent
This school is a real disappointment. The administrators think the students will run out of control at any moment and so they go overboard with discipline for trivial matters. My son told me of a student who was suspended "for being *hit* with a backpack by another student" who was also suspended. As a result, the school has the highest rate of discretionary suspensions of all middle schools in the district. (discretionary = not for weapons or controlled substances.) The lunch rules are like martial law and the students see through their stupidity. If you were trying to undercut respect for authority at an age when kids are already skeptical, the school couldn't do a better job. At the same time, the teachers seem to assign tons of busy work for homework without real learning aims. (e.g. a 5 hour science assignment, 80% of which was cutting out and pasting little origami nesting boxes.) One teacher regularly told her students to "shut up" and another told her classes that she'd be taking the day off because a new videogame was coming out. Nearly every parent I know has at least investigated other options for their kids. It's kind of shocking how bad this school is for the district.


Redmond Middle School 4

Posted January 24, 2015
- a community member
If you are in Quest, you're screwed. The 6th grade math/science teacher is AWFUL. The Algebra teachers are ok, but the 7th grade English teacher is so annoying. The 7th grade History teacher is nice, but she grades super harsh. The electives are super fun though, and if you are interested in sports, this is a great school for that.

Redmond Middle School 3

Posted November 07, 2014
- a parent
The quality of teachers ranges from fabulous to marginal. We've had two children in this school over the past eight years, with experiences ranging from wonderful to simply awful. I've also subbed in this school, so have had a chance to see some things from a teacher's perspective. I'd like to see more assertive, student-focused leadership by the principal, and a better teacher hiring process. It's a mystery to me how some of the staff was hired, because in some cases they are clearly unqualified to teach in their subject area, or to manage a classroom. I wish I could say that the excellent faculty makes up for the marginal staff, but it only took a couple of bad classes to pretty much sour the attitude of our honor student. This year, she went from loving school to hating it. I give most of the credit for this change of heart to the frustrating environment at school. If more parents speak up, perhaps things will improve.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Redmond Middle School
10055 166th Ave NE, Redmond, WA  98052
(425) 936-2440
Last modified Redmond Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Redmond Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. Top