Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 55 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Redmond Middle School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted February 11, 2016
- a parent
Teachers don't show any effort to enforce classroom rules. Everything seems to be very loose and students can get away with not doing much work or show much effort.

Redmond Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted February 11, 2016
- a parent
Overall the standard is lacking and teachers don't go above and beyond to encourage and enhance core values. They are way too many students they can handle. Parents are forced to take on a bigger role in order to create a productive and challenging learning environment for kids.


Redmond Middle School 1

Posted February 11, 2016
- a parent
Academic performance has been declining; teachers lack enthusiasm and standard. Principal's 3 year improvement plan should be called 3 year declining plan. Current online tools in place doesn't enhance teacher accountability and student motivation. Parents need to take on a big role if you want your kids to succeed in this type of learning environment. The same comments also go to the entire district. Very disappointing.

Redmond Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 08, 2016
- a parent
Thanks for being tough with my son. His elementary teachers didn't always serve him well by giving him an easy ride because they knew he was smart. He needed to learn to turn things in on time, write legibly, have respect for the teacher's time. He is really thriving now, even though it is harder. He is doing his best work.

Redmond Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 08, 2016
- a parent
It's a significant increase over elementary school but less than high school and college will be. My son needs to be ready. Some assignments do feel like a waste for him--spending a long time on coloring something in or cutting and pasting which doesn't really add to the learning experience.


Redmond Middle School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted January 08, 2016
- a parent
The teachers grade hard and then allow you a chance to do the work over for a better grade. If you turn something in late, you have to fill out a form showing why you need to turn it in late and how you'll do better next time. My son needed this kind of reinforcement to see that by trying harder he could do better.

Redmond Middle School 5

Posted January 08, 2016
- a parent
We were concerned when our son was finishing fifth grade and we toured all the choice schools that you have to win the lottery to get into. Did we have to win the lottery to get a good education for our son? No. Redmond Middle School actually provided a rigorous education for our high-achieving sixth-grader and is doing so again in seventh grade. My son says this is the first time he has classes that he is learning something he didn't already know going in. He struggled at first to learn the organizational skills to be responsible for his own work in six classes. But the school had a good system in place where they started off easier and gradually got more strict about deadlines and grades. Most of his teachers have been good (with the occasional clinker). I think you'll find that at any school. The school is over-crowded, but that may change if we can get some more schools built in the area. The advanced-level math program is great and sets the kids up to be ready for higher levels and AP classes in high school. Many more opportunities for electives and sports than a choice school too. Overall, a good choice for a kid who doesn't have a special leaning toward the subjects or learning styles taught by the various choice schools.

Redmond Middle School 2

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
We moved couple years ago to Redmond and I had big expectations from this school. I have 3 children and all of them went to RMS and RHS. The curriculum night was a big mess this year. Some teachers are very awful and others are good. My kids don't have any enthusiasm for school like they had in other school.


Redmond Middle School 2

Posted June 12, 2015
- a community member
This school is terrible. i had hopes in this school, but be caution when putting your kids in this school. Teachers are not qualified to teach kids and expect too much from kids. Their PE teacher even doesn't keep records of how kids are doing and just puts random scores which can have negative score for your child. Electronic system is never working and i have to email teachers in regards to this all the time. The school is overpopulated and it will only get worse. I hope i can transfer my kids to better school district, such as Bellevue.

Redmond Middle School 2

Posted April 21, 2015
- a parent
bad unnecessary rules, they will put almost anyone into the below average class. most teachers are pretty good, others decent, and some absolutely awful. Some of the administration is WAY to strict and dont know anything about kids.

Nearby schools

Redmond Middle School
10055 166th Ave Ne, Redmond, WA  98052
(425) 936-2440
Last modified Redmond Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top