Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Redmond, WA
Students enrolled: 886
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Redmond Middle School 2

Posted June 12, 2015
- a community member
This school is terrible. i had hopes in this school, but be caution when putting your kids in this school. Teachers are not qualified to teach kids and expect too much from kids. Their PE teacher even doesn't keep records of how kids are doing and just puts random scores which can have negative score for your child. Electronic system is never working and i have to email teachers in regards to this all the time. The school is overpopulated and it will only get worse. I hope i can transfer my kids to better school district, such as Bellevue.

Redmond Middle School 2

Posted April 21, 2015
- a parent
bad unnecessary rules, they will put almost anyone into the below average class. most teachers are pretty good, others decent, and some absolutely awful. Some of the administration is WAY to strict and dont know anything about kids.
1 person found this helpful


Redmond Middle School 2

Posted March 24, 2015
- a parent
This school is a real disappointment. The administrators think the students will run out of control at any moment and so they go overboard with discipline for trivial matters. My son told me of a student who was suspended "for being *hit* with a backpack by another student" who was also suspended. As a result, the school has the highest rate of discretionary suspensions of all middle schools in the district. (discretionary = not for weapons or controlled substances.) The lunch rules are like martial law and the students see through their stupidity. If you were trying to undercut respect for authority at an age when kids are already skeptical, the school couldn't do a better job. At the same time, the teachers seem to assign tons of busy work for homework without real learning aims. (e.g. a 5 hour science assignment, 80% of which was cutting out and pasting little origami nesting boxes.) One teacher regularly told her students to "shut up" and another told her classes that she'd be taking the day off because a new videogame was coming out. Nearly every parent I know has at least investigated other options for their kids. It's kind of shocking how bad this school is for the district.
3 people found this helpful

Redmond Middle School 4

Posted January 24, 2015
- a community member
If you are in Quest, you're screwed. The 6th grade math/science teacher is AWFUL. The Algebra teachers are ok, but the 7th grade English teacher is so annoying. The 7th grade History teacher is nice, but she grades super harsh. The electives are super fun though, and if you are interested in sports, this is a great school for that.
1 person found this helpful

Redmond Middle School 3

Posted November 07, 2014
- a parent
The quality of teachers ranges from fabulous to marginal. We've had two children in this school over the past eight years, with experiences ranging from wonderful to simply awful. I've also subbed in this school, so have had a chance to see some things from a teacher's perspective. I'd like to see more assertive, student-focused leadership by the principal, and a better teacher hiring process. It's a mystery to me how some of the staff was hired, because in some cases they are clearly unqualified to teach in their subject area, or to manage a classroom. I wish I could say that the excellent faculty makes up for the marginal staff, but it only took a couple of bad classes to pretty much sour the attitude of our honor student. This year, she went from loving school to hating it. I give most of the credit for this change of heart to the frustrating environment at school. If more parents speak up, perhaps things will improve.
1 person found this helpful


Redmond Middle School 3

Posted April 03, 2014
- a community member
Redmond Middle School is a great school if your child is in the advanced curriculum. Otherwise, the classes are pretty mediocre. Their Algebra and Geometry teachers are amazing, and write tests, homework, and curriculum all by themselves. Their curriculum is much harder than the state-issued curriculum however, and you child may find difficulty their. But, this level of difficulty prepares your child for the End Of Course exam, and even if they fail the class they will most likely pass the EOC. The school also provides a variety of extracurricular activities and electives.

Redmond Middle School 1

Posted February 11, 2014
- a community member
the best word to desribe this school is BAD, especially for math. that's all u need to know

Redmond Middle School 1

Posted February 11, 2014
- a community member
the best word to describe this school is bad. escpically for math. that's all u need to know
1 person found this helpful


Redmond Middle School 3

Posted December 24, 2013
- a community member
I went there for oriantation and it was very well organizaed. I could know how to un lock the locker combination for the lockers. And it was really super easy.

Redmond Middle School 5

Posted June 24, 2013
- a community member
This school is horrible i had to use the bathroom on my period and they wouldn't let me use the bathroom witch is a violation to my rights and they wouldn't even let me call my mom. Dont bring your child to this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Redmond Middle School
10055 166th Ave NE, Redmond, WA  98052
(425) 936-2440
Last modified Redmond Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Redmond Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top