Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Louisa May Alcott Elementary School 4

Posted June 25, 2014
- a parent
The teachers are really strong. Principal is very present, although there will be a new principal in Sept 2014. If you have a child that is truly gifted, I would recommend the Bellevue school district instead. Parents in LWSD push their kids in the gifted program, sending them to test prep programs so they can get in to the program. The gifted program called Quest fills up with these children rather than children who are innately highly capable. The program is very small for a district this large. Alcott also has a mix of students at various capabilities and strong support services (e.g. OT, Para Ed.)

Louisa May Alcott Elementary School 3

Posted June 18, 2014
- a parent
Pros: -The kids generally come from well mannered, well educated families so it creates a nice atmosphere Cons: 1) Your child will learn nothing if they are in 1/2 day Kindergarten here. Seriously. Okay, maybe a few songs, etc... 2) Grades in music are based on perceived level of interest/facial expressions. LOL! 3) Test scores for Alcott are skewed high because of the Quest program there and not actual level of instruction by teachers. 4) Quest program is harder to get into than 95% of other G/T programs in the country and around the world. My child was both at G/T student here in the states and abroad. Unfortunately LWSD requires 99% in all test scores and encourages test prep. Most districts (like Bellevue) do not want kids to test prep but rather test out their natural abilities. LWSD requires testing to be done 1 year before entrance into Quest unless they are in 1st grade and then they can get in next semester if they qualify. Bellevue tests the summer before the G/T school year. As a result, my child sits around and reads entire books while at school and finishes his homework at school so I never see him do it. Wish, for my kid's sake, we lived in Bellevue.


Louisa May Alcott Elementary School 5

Posted October 17, 2012
- a parent
We moved from Renton to Redmond in order to participate in the superior quality schools in Lake Washington School District Alcott surpasses all expectations. Thank you :)

Louisa May Alcott Elementary School 5

Posted January 16, 2011
- a parent
Wonderful school. Incredible teachers, wonderful parents and parental involvement. Great curriculum. Academically minded parents and great cultural diversity.

Louisa May Alcott Elementary School 5

Posted July 15, 2010
- a parent
Wonderful place to learn and thrive! Great environment. the staff, teachers and the leadership of the Principal make the difference! Lots of After school activities, outstanding PTSA effort. The gifted program QUEST is an excellent/challenging program!


Louisa May Alcott Elementary School 5

Posted September 12, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Louisa May Alcott Elementary School 5

Posted May 09, 2006
- a parent
Great school! Wonderful programs to encourage learning. I am shocked at how well my child is learning in this wonderful environment.

Louisa May Alcott Elementary School 4

Posted February 12, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Louisa May Alcott Elementary School 3

Posted February 12, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Louisa May Alcott Elementary School 5

Posted December 16, 2005
- a parent
Wonderful, loving staff! We have four children, and have been in four different school systems, with two of the children having special needs. Thanks to all the phenomenal resource staff and the teachers here, who have amazing talent!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Louisa May Alcott Elementary School
4213 228th Ave NE, Redmond, WA  98053
(425) 868-1008
Last modified Louisa May Alcott Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Louisa May Alcott Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top