Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Louisa May Alcott Elementary School 4

Posted June 25, 2014
- a parent
The teachers are really strong. Principal is very present, although there will be a new principal in Sept 2014. If you have a child that is truly gifted, I would recommend the Bellevue school district instead. Parents in LWSD push their kids in the gifted program, sending them to test prep programs so they can get in to the program. The gifted program called Quest fills up with these children rather than children who are innately highly capable. The program is very small for a district this large. Alcott also has a mix of students at various capabilities and strong support services (e.g. OT, Para Ed.)

Louisa May Alcott Elementary School 3

Posted June 18, 2014
- a parent
Pros: -The kids generally come from well mannered, well educated families so it creates a nice atmosphere Cons: 1) Your child will learn nothing if they are in 1/2 day Kindergarten here. Seriously. Okay, maybe a few songs, etc... 2) Grades in music are based on perceived level of interest/facial expressions. LOL! 3) Test scores for Alcott are skewed high because of the Quest program there and not actual level of instruction by teachers. 4) Quest program is harder to get into than 95% of other G/T programs in the country and around the world. My child was both at G/T student here in the states and abroad. Unfortunately LWSD requires 99% in all test scores and encourages test prep. Most districts (like Bellevue) do not want kids to test prep but rather test out their natural abilities. LWSD requires testing to be done 1 year before entrance into Quest unless they are in 1st grade and then they can get in next semester if they qualify. Bellevue tests the summer before the G/T school year. As a result, my child sits around and reads entire books while at school and finishes his homework at school so I never see him do it. Wish, for my kid's sake, we lived in Bellevue.


Louisa May Alcott Elementary School 5

Posted October 17, 2012
- a parent
We moved from Renton to Redmond in order to participate in the superior quality schools in Lake Washington School District Alcott surpasses all expectations. Thank you :)

Louisa May Alcott Elementary School 5

Posted January 16, 2011
- a parent
Wonderful school. Incredible teachers, wonderful parents and parental involvement. Great curriculum. Academically minded parents and great cultural diversity.

Louisa May Alcott Elementary School 5

Posted July 15, 2010
- a parent
Wonderful place to learn and thrive! Great environment. the staff, teachers and the leadership of the Principal make the difference! Lots of After school activities, outstanding PTSA effort. The gifted program QUEST is an excellent/challenging program!


Louisa May Alcott Elementary School 5

Posted May 09, 2006
- a parent
Great school! Wonderful programs to encourage learning. I am shocked at how well my child is learning in this wonderful environment.

Louisa May Alcott Elementary School 5

Posted December 16, 2005
- a parent
Wonderful, loving staff! We have four children, and have been in four different school systems, with two of the children having special needs. Thanks to all the phenomenal resource staff and the teachers here, who have amazing talent!

Louisa May Alcott Elementary School 4

Posted February 07, 2005
- a parent
Don't be fooled by the assurances at Kindergarten Orientation: there are significant differences between the curriculms of the half day and all day kindergarten. The half-day kids miss out on reading incentive programs and additional academics, not just nap time, lunch, gym and extra recess, as we were told at orientation. My son is VERY bright but we still have to spend about 2 hours a day (sometimes MUCH more) covering what he's missing academically from being in the half-day program. Unfortunately, YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR! That should not be the case in a public school, but it is.


Louisa May Alcott Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 19, 2004
- a parent
I am concerned about all-day kindergarten classes for a fee are being offered in public school where paying students are getting a better education than those who cannot pay.

Nearby schools

Louisa May Alcott Elementary School
4213 228th Ave Ne, Redmond, WA  98053
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (425) 936-2490
Last modified Louisa May Alcott Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top