Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hazen Senior High School 1

Posted November 18, 2014
- a parent
Hazen High School - if you're super smart or super challenged, its the school for you. If you rest in the middle there's only a few good teachers that care.

Hazen Senior High School 5

Posted November 08, 2014
- a parent
Hazen what a great school. This is the Best Senior High School The teachers are the cream of the crop. Thanks for all your concern for the students well being


Hazen Senior High School 5

Posted September 11, 2014
- a parent
I have two current students, and two graduates from Hazen. It has been a uniformly great experience. The students get along well, the parents are friendly and helpful, and the staff is motivated to get the most out of every student. It's tough being bordered by wealthier and academically higher rated schools, but I am completely happy with the decision to have all of my kids go K-12 at Renton schools

Hazen Senior High School 3

Posted May 07, 2013
- a student
I am a student who is currently enrolled in Hazen High School The course selection is improving, but is still somewhat limited for any students who are interested in attending competitive schools. In terms of science, it is downright debilitating, as the 9th grade science course is deemed unnecessary by many, but testing out of the class is not permitted. The AP course selection is becoming better, but it could still be improved. Teacher quality is varied. Some teachers are extremely skilled, while others are downright incompetent. Resources are, again, limited. If a student is interested in attending a prestigious college, none of the resources available will be any help at all whatsoever. Extensive research must be done on the student's own time. Curriculum and student assistance are tailored to the assumption that students are primarily interested in attended the state flagship, UW Seattle. The school, overall, does a moderate job at informing students about opportunities. The Culminating Project program is perhaps one of the school's greatest flaws. It attempts to help students learn about college, but the design is so poor that it's an annoyance, rather than an assistance.

Hazen Senior High School 4

Posted January 31, 2011
- a parent
My daugher is a new student to Hazen in 9th. She is also new to the Rento area. So she knew no one and was very scared about going to Hazen. She is from Mercer Island and was told that Hazen is not a good school. I disagree... So far what i know is there are some amazing teachers at Hazen. My daugher loves her geometry and Pottery teacher.


Hazen Senior High School 5

Posted June 12, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Hazen Senior High School 5

Posted March 10, 2009
- a parent
Everything about Hazen High School impresses me! The thing that strikes me the most is the good, positive attitude that radiates from the student body. Hazen students are always filled with pride and are supportive of each other and other schools in the league. I wish other schools in this area could drop the attitude and encourge them to behave more like the young people at Hazen!

Hazen Senior High School 5

Posted December 17, 2008
- a parent
I have nothing but good things to say about Hazen. My kids love it there! They havea top notch music department that boasts 9 performance ensembles (4 choirs, 3 bands and 2 orchestras.) I think it is great that a public school values a good education in the arts!


Hazen Senior High School 5

Posted May 05, 2008
- a parent
Hazen has been a wonderful school for my children. They always seem to be unfavorably compared to Newport and Liberty High Schools (neighboring schools in different districts.) but I think that is unnecessary! Hazen performs consistently above the state average in test scores. However, high schools are much more than their test scores and this is where Hazen truly shines. It has wonderful teachers, thriving programs and a wonderful positive atmosphere. Hazen is a fantastic school that deserves to be better known for all of its merits!

Hazen Senior High School 5

Posted January 22, 2008
- a parent
I am impressed with Hazen's attempts to improve an already solid academic performance. Their WASL scores are all above the state average ad they have a high graduation rate. Still, they are using many forms of data to really narrow down what students need the most work and what subjects need refining. This will lead to further improvement in all aspects. I admire this school for their efforts and am very confident sending my son their each day.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hazen Senior High School
1101 Hoquiam Ave NE, Renton, WA  98059
(425) 204-4208
Last modified Hazen Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hazen Senior High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top