Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hazen Senior High School 1

Posted November 18, 2014
- a parent
Hazen High School - if you're super smart or super challenged, its the school for you. If you rest in the middle there's only a few good teachers that care.

Hazen Senior High School 5

Posted November 08, 2014
- a parent
Hazen what a great school. This is the Best Senior High School The teachers are the cream of the crop. Thanks for all your concern for the students well being


Hazen Senior High School 5

Posted September 11, 2014
- a parent
I have two current students, and two graduates from Hazen. It has been a uniformly great experience. The students get along well, the parents are friendly and helpful, and the staff is motivated to get the most out of every student. It's tough being bordered by wealthier and academically higher rated schools, but I am completely happy with the decision to have all of my kids go K-12 at Renton schools

Hazen Senior High School 3

Posted May 07, 2013
- a student
I am a student who is currently enrolled in Hazen High School The course selection is improving, but is still somewhat limited for any students who are interested in attending competitive schools. In terms of science, it is downright debilitating, as the 9th grade science course is deemed unnecessary by many, but testing out of the class is not permitted. The AP course selection is becoming better, but it could still be improved. Teacher quality is varied. Some teachers are extremely skilled, while others are downright incompetent. Resources are, again, limited. If a student is interested in attending a prestigious college, none of the resources available will be any help at all whatsoever. Extensive research must be done on the student's own time. Curriculum and student assistance are tailored to the assumption that students are primarily interested in attended the state flagship, UW Seattle. The school, overall, does a moderate job at informing students about opportunities. The Culminating Project program is perhaps one of the school's greatest flaws. It attempts to help students learn about college, but the design is so poor that it's an annoyance, rather than an assistance.

Hazen Senior High School 4

Posted January 31, 2011
- a parent
My daugher is a new student to Hazen in 9th. She is also new to the Rento area. So she knew no one and was very scared about going to Hazen. She is from Mercer Island and was told that Hazen is not a good school. I disagree... So far what i know is there are some amazing teachers at Hazen. My daugher loves her geometry and Pottery teacher.


Hazen Senior High School 5

Posted March 10, 2009
- a parent
Everything about Hazen High School impresses me! The thing that strikes me the most is the good, positive attitude that radiates from the student body. Hazen students are always filled with pride and are supportive of each other and other schools in the league. I wish other schools in this area could drop the attitude and encourge them to behave more like the young people at Hazen!

Hazen Senior High School 5

Posted December 17, 2008
- a parent
I have nothing but good things to say about Hazen. My kids love it there! They havea top notch music department that boasts 9 performance ensembles (4 choirs, 3 bands and 2 orchestras.) I think it is great that a public school values a good education in the arts!

Hazen Senior High School 5

Posted May 05, 2008
- a parent
Hazen has been a wonderful school for my children. They always seem to be unfavorably compared to Newport and Liberty High Schools (neighboring schools in different districts.) but I think that is unnecessary! Hazen performs consistently above the state average in test scores. However, high schools are much more than their test scores and this is where Hazen truly shines. It has wonderful teachers, thriving programs and a wonderful positive atmosphere. Hazen is a fantastic school that deserves to be better known for all of its merits!


Hazen Senior High School 5

Posted January 22, 2008
- a parent
I am impressed with Hazen's attempts to improve an already solid academic performance. Their WASL scores are all above the state average ad they have a high graduation rate. Still, they are using many forms of data to really narrow down what students need the most work and what subjects need refining. This will lead to further improvement in all aspects. I admire this school for their efforts and am very confident sending my son their each day.

Hazen Senior High School 5

Posted December 15, 2007
- a parent
The Hazen staff is one that tries very hard to meet the needs of all students. They have worked hard to include new programs and schedule formats to ensure that all students get a great education. In fact, they have done away with the 'honors only' concept in a few courses saying that all studetns should be exposed to the same rigorous curriculum. I think this school is a wonderful example of public education and one that I am happy to have sent my student to!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hazen Senior High School
1101 Hoquiam Ave NE, Renton, WA  98059
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (425) 204-4208
Last modified Hazen Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top