Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Renton, WA
Students enrolled: 392
 

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

17 reviews of this school


Maple Hills Elementary School 1

Posted April 02, 2015
- a parent
This is absolutely a horrible school. I feel bad my oldest child had to suffer through this miserable environment. The current principle is driving this school into the ground. Because this school offers the least diversity in the Issaquah School District, anyone who is different stands out. Children with disabilities are often bullied and treated poorly by the staff. Not to mention the smell of rotting garbage inside and outside the building due to the adjacent composting facility. I actually met a family whose child with high test scores living close to the boundary of MH that was offered $400 a month for "gas money" to switch to this school. The family pulled up to the school to check it out, and smelled the air, and rejected the offer. I believe the district must be desperate to artificially prove this is an acceptable school. It is not!

Maple Hills Elementary School 5

Posted March 02, 2015
- a parent
We love this school and especially Ms Kardong. She is the most amazing kindergarten teacher!


Maple Hills Elementary School 1

Posted May 02, 2014
- a community member
Not good....staff do not care about your child and all of them are always un-happy. Look elsewhere...

Maple Hills Elementary School 5

Posted July 25, 2013
- a parent
Maple Hills is a fantastic school with fantastic parent involvement. We are lucky to be in this attendance area.

Maple Hills Elementary School 5

Posted July 18, 2011
- a parent
We have had a daughter at Maple Hills for K and 1st and absolutely love this school. It is in a great community with fantastic parent support and has wonderful teachers. We have nothing negative to say about the school, it's staff or the experience so far of being a Maple Hills Eagle.Love it!


Maple Hills Elementary School 5

Posted March 31, 2010
- a parent
I agree with most comments, though I would like to point out that Maple Hills has undergone many changes in regards to the principal. Finally, with Mrs. Bean, the school can move forward and become one of the top schools in the district....when things are done right at Maple Hills, there's no other school like it. The community support is through the roof, and it is evident by how the campus appears.

Maple Hills Elementary School 5

Posted July 30, 2009
- a teacher
The combination of teaches, staff, and amazing volunteers makes this school a wonderful place to work and learn!

Maple Hills Elementary School 4

Posted June 10, 2009
- a parent
Only thing that would be better is the math curriculum. My kids have done well here, and thrive in the partnering relationship w/teachers and parents. I've heard some negative feedback on the principal, but have not experienced it myself. Overal it's a great learning environment.


Maple Hills Elementary School 3

Posted February 09, 2008
- a parent
This school has gone down hill in the past two years. Experienced teachers have left and a constant rotation of principals has not helped. This school is behind in their technology, teachers do not seem motivated to take the extra classes necessary to get the active-X boards - only three classes have them! New principal seems to tout the admin line, not willing to stand up against the terrible new math program. WONDERFUL special ed teacher but the whole IEP/504 process in this school is a disaster! You have to fight like heck to get your child qualified and outside testing is a must. It makes me sad to see the recent decline and seeming lack of teacher involvement and interest.

Maple Hills Elementary School 4

Posted March 13, 2006
- a parent
Parents are extremely involved, often grading work for teachers, entering grades, etc. 100% PTA involvement is great, but there are privacy issues to consider. District embraces 'new' math, which teachers must follow. Fabulous new principal. In this district, teachers have three days to return calls/emails. Very little teacher-initiated contact with families. Extra-curricular activities are fee-based, which works well in this affluent community. If 504/IEP will be an issue for your student, research extensively.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Maple Hills Elementary School
15644 204th Ave SE, Renton, WA  98059
(425) 837-5100
Last modified Maple Hills Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Maple Hills Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top