Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fairwood Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 460 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

Fairwood Elementary cares about the well being of their students. The teachers challenges their students according to their skill level. They care about their safety and makes sure that they are home with their parents when they do not show up for school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2014

The parent involvement at Fairwood is amazing, and most of the teachers are great. However, the caring attitude toward individual students is just not there. Supervision of children is lacking, especially at the front office. The attitude of the front office staff towards working parents is quite rude. As a working parent, I cannot always be in the "inner loop", so I often have questions or need to call ahead from my workplace to find out more information about school events, etc. I am often meet with a rude attitude when I have questions. Also, the school doesn't always know where my child is, and that is the lack of supervision part. "It's the child's responsibility", um they are children. It is the adult's responsibility to know where the children are. It almost makes me nervous when I cannot locate my child. If you didn't go to this school since kindergarten or are not highly involved in the PTSA, quite frankly you are not a part of the "inner circle" culture of the school and are treated differently. It makes me sad for families who may not speak the language, or for new students, that they treated as lesser people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2013

The Explorer Program did not work for my family. I regret the time spent in this program. My child was bullied and was not treated fairly by the teacher. There is no "whole child" concept at this program as was stated. We are now at a different school and my child is in a class with a wonderful teacher. My child is very very happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2013

The only thing positive about this school is the teachers. They care about the students and do the best they can with the lack of support from the Principal and District. As a parent I expect that our children's safety and education would come first. But this is not the case at Fairwood Elementary. Apparently it is OK for students in a classroom to kick, hit, spit, bite and throw sharp objects on a daily basis. There is not one day that goes by that my daughters classroom is not severely interrupted, and education stops. Students get rewarded for their bad behavior by going to the principals office and "talking" about their actions. Then they are allowed back into class to continue disrupting. This school and district is only concerned about meeting core standards and budget needs. THIS SCHOOL NEEDS HELP FROM THE STATE TO PROVIDE GUIDANCE ON HOW TO DEAL WITH DIFFICULT CHILDREN.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2012

Parent involvement at Fairwood is amazing! You could not ask for better programs. Bullying though is a big issue at Fairwood. Responses to bullying are weak. At recess if kids are "popular" (yes, this is going on even with kindergarten) kids are excluded, picked on and harrassed. The more Iisten to children from the school and parents I realize how big the problem is. Good neighborhood and PTA, but my child is miserable there, and I will be moving her to a school with teachers more active in creating an antibullying environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2012

A great elementary school! Teachers have lots of energy! The music teacher is very inspirational! Very active and supportive PTSA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2011

I am very glad my children do not attend this school. I have found the teachers to be rude and discourteous. I have found the teachers at other Kent Schools to be quite effective. These teachers must have been the lowest on the seniority list.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2010

Fairwood Elementary was one of the best elementary schools my son ever attended. We moved a couple of times in his early years, so we experienced a few different schools. The leadership at Fairwood is helpful and understanding, yet does expect kids to live up to a standard (a realistic one). Both the teachers my son had were absolutely wonderful! I would highly recommend this as an elementary school. THe only drawback to this school is the Junior High that it feeds into - Northwood Middle School has not proved impressive, in fact quite the opposite.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2009

I've been very pleased with Fairwood Elementary. The parental involvement truly makes a difference here! My son has really enjoyed his experience at the school, and we are both pleased with programs that are available to students (such as foreign language, science enrichment after school, math games club before school, choir, orchestra, drama, etc, etc). This school has a very mixed socio-economic base and diverse student body, but it is cemented by its excellent teachers, superb parental involvement, and numerous opportunities for students to grow and excell. I should also mention that Fairwood Greens (the surrounding subdivision) is a great neighborhood to buy into...it has a very neighborhoody feel...good social interaction, strong HOA, and homes are a steal right now (and no I'm not a realtor).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2009

My son goes to kindergarten here and his niece is in 1st grade. they both love it, they have excellent programs and a very good PTA
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2006

We just moved here from califonia, my daughter is going to 5th grade, just loves it. Very good Teacher, good school. Family night was fun.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

Finding Fairwood Elementary was a treasure for our family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2006

I had no idea what a fantastic school this would be when we chose it! The parent involvement makes this school unbelievable. All of the teachers have been great that I have worked with. The PTSA provide a fantastic art program along w/so many more activities & fundraisers to bring bigger and better things to the school. The music program is one of a kind and there is a fun and rewarding focus on reading for all the kids. This is a community, not just a school. There are programs to help give low income children the same opprotunities that the other students have including a computer donation program to refurbish computers to give to low-income families. I am so happy with this school, the staff and the support system it has in place, I can't imagine finding a school better than Fairwood!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2005

I've had good and difficult experiences at fairwood. What I do like about the school is that they are very focused on family envolvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2005

This school has real good parents involvements and the quality of academic is excellent. I like the fact that the school is always focusing on reading.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 5, 2003

High parent involvement helps make Fairwood an exceptional school. Teachers and staff always make themselves available to parents and students. We all love the monthly Family Night, Science Fun Day, and Math Nights. Volunteers' dedication to keeping the Arts in our school is amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
10%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students79%
Female82%
Male76%
Black70%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Low income66%
Not low income88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education81%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students71%
Female82%
Male62%
Black60%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic58%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Low income50%
Not low income86%
Special educationn/a
Not special education74%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students58%
Female74%
Male42%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Low income39%
Not low income72%
Special educationn/a
Not special education63%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students61%
Female84%
Male39%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White64%
Low income46%
Not low income72%
Special educationn/a
Not special education66%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students53%
Female61%
Male45%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White61%
Low income36%
Not low income67%
Special educationn/a
Not special education58%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students56%
Female76%
Male37%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic42%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White62%
Low income33%
Not low income71%
Special educationn/a
Not special education59%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students71%
Female84%
Male59%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic58%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Low income52%
Not low income84%
Special educationn/a
Not special education76%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students65%
Female80%
Male52%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Low income48%
Not low income77%
Special educationn/a
Not special education67%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students60%
Female54%
Male66%
Black40%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic36%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Low income32%
Not low income79%
Special educationn/a
Not special education69%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students75%
Female79%
Male71%
Black70%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic73%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Low income64%
Not low income82%
Special educationn/a
Not special education85%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 60%
Two or more races 17% 6%
Hispanic 14% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 12% 7%
Black 11% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 17%N/A8%
Special education 117%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 236%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 18N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 14N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 72%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16600 148th Ave SE
Renton, WA 98058
Phone: (253) 373-7491

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT