Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Arbor Schools

Private | PK-8 | 115 students

We are best known for Montessori United Nations.
 
 

 
 

Living in Sammamish

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $610,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,550.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 8, 2007

With poor quality teaching and limited resources, Arbor does not provide more than a rudimentary education. Kids miss out on the breadth of resources available elsewhere. My lesson was that paying for a private education does not mean you get a better education. We should have moved our child much earlier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2007

My child has been attending this school for over six years, so has been involved in primary, lower elementary and upper elementary curriculum. The expectations that are being set for the children are high, but never above their ability to achieve. The support structure is very sound, between the director of the school, the teachers, the specialists and the other parents. There have been bumps along the way, but like any solid community, problems are dealt with and resolved, with the goal for win/win solutions always being strived for. My child has had some challenges along the way and I am extremely grateful for the support of the director of the school and other parents in working through these difficulties. Even the involvement of alumni from the school is amazing, considering the size of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2007

This is a wonderful school - I would strongly recommend it to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2007

My son has attended Arbor for the last seven and a half years. He loves it, it is his 'village' where the staff and other parents, as well as the other children, are all involved in his life in positive ways. Besides the general studies, the lessons he is learning here include responsibility for his actions, respect for others and life skills that will carry with him as he becomes a young adult. While the school is a very small community, there are specialists in art, music, PE and outdoor ed. There is a very strong snow sports program. Parents are involved in all aspects of the school, from volunteering in the classrooms to planning fundraising events. Like any small community, there are issues at times, but the director of the school works towards continually improving the quality of the education and life experiences that her students are exposed too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2007

I currently have two children enrolled at Arbor Schools and am thankful everyday that we found this wonderful school when we relocated to Washington. Their primary teacher is exceptional and took the time to learn about how to manage boy energy and still have them be productive and responsible. She cares deeply for their academic as well as their emotional development and works with our family to help them achieve their best. My son is now in elementary at Arbor and his teacher has created an entire course load to specifically addresses his academic challenges. The principle of the school has personally gone down to evaluate my son and brought in a specialist to help him achieve his best. The community at Arbor is fantastic, the staff lovely and our children learn more than academics--they learn to be respectful of self and others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2007

Our children are in their 4th year at Arbor Elementary. While no school is without its challenges, what sets Arbor apart is its wonderful principal! When faced with the mid-school year loss of a teacher, rather than hire a substitute, Ms. O'Brien became the teacher for the remainder of the year. The situation had been quite traumatic for the children, so Mary's presence helped to ease the change and foster productivity in the classroom. Our other child required testing through our local school district for learning disabilities. Mary was instrumental in working our child's teacher to identify strategies and supplemental materials which could be used in the classroom to address the needs outlined in the test results. Both of our children are thriving at Arbor academically and socially. We are not a wealthy family, but the support, love, and passion of Arbor and its staff justify the expense.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2006

After 5 years of experience as a parent with 2 childrend attending this school I can say with conviction that there are better alternatives for academic excellence. There are some very bright spots within the teaching staff but it's spotty. Be prepared to supplement your childs academic program as many former students have been lagging behind their peers once they've moved on to the next school. The program is very good through kindergarten and becomes weaker as you progress through the elementary grades.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 14, 2006

My son has gone to Arbor since he was 3 and he is now 6 and about to start the 1st grade there. I love this school. He's done very well there. He's reading at a level far above his grade compared to other children we know that go to public schools in the area. I can't say enough good things about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 19% 7%
Two or more races 9% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 6% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 2%
Hispanic 2% 20%
Black 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
Russian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Russian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mary O'Brien
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
  • Part-time study
  • Year-round
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS
  • NIPSA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1107 228th Ave SE
Sammamish, WA 98075
Website: Click here
Phone: (425) 392-3866

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT