Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

TLC Montessori

Private | PK-1 | 110 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Sammamish

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $480,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,060.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 18, 2013

TLC has been an awesome experience for my son. He had been enrolled since preschool and just graduated from Kindergarten. I second other parents thoughts and cannot say enough great things about the school. My son absolutely loved going to School and is going to miss TLC so much. We are kind of sad that this was his last year at TLC. He has learned and grown so much each year and has always amazed and surprised us with his knowledge. My son is reading and doing math at a Grade 2 level which is simply amazing. TLC has given him a very strong foundation and we could not have asked for anything better for him. The teachers in both preschool and kindergarten are very loving, caring and communicative. The school also provides a great balance of language, science, math, geography, arts, Spanish and music. We have been very fortunate and blessed to have been involved with TLC. I would highly recommend the school to anyone looking for a structured Montessori environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2012

Our child absolutely *loves* TLC. I cannot say enough good things about the staff and the community offered at this school. We had previously attended a few other schools here on the plateau and I can honestly say that I wish I had enrolled my child here years earlier. My child looks forward to all the themes and extra events offered that make her feel like school is a fun place to be. My only reason for not giving the school 5 stars is that I feel strongly about the Montessori methodologies and while the teacher have the training they do not necessarily stick to the order of how the child needs to progress through the various works. All in all this is both good and bad in my eyes since the school focuses more heavily on being flexible not only with the children but also their families individual academic goals for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2012

Our son has been in the toddler class with Ms. Denise, Ms. Namh and Ms. Sunhee and he has a terrific experience. Their loving and thoughtful coaching has allowed him to develop and grow his confidence so much. He is now going through potty training and the patience from the teachers has been a key reason for the success we've had. Ms. Denise in particular is the best teacher we could imagine for our child - gentle and caring, and yet organized and thorough. In fact we love it so much, we are keeping our older son thru kindergarten and will also sending our youngest to the toddler class next year. I have read some of the other reviews but can't say I relate to them at all as our experience with the teachers has been very positive. The only reason for 4 stars is that I work in Bellevue and the 5.30pm pick up time and rules associated with this can be tough for me if there is back up on highway ... but if that's not a concern for you, the school is awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2012

Before enrolling our daughter in the pre-K program at TLC, I researched other schools, both Montessori and other, and upon visiting TLC I knew right away that the Montessori education and environment TLC provides was perfect for my daughter's first educational experience. Selecting the right school for our daughter s introduction to education and instructed learning was critical to us and finding a school that provided a safe, welcoming, nurturing environment was key. Our daughter is in her 3rd year now and will be completing Kindergarten this Spring. Each year we have seen her grown intellectually, behaviorally, and emotionally and we are absolutely thrilled with her development. We appreciate the structured, self-directed approach to learning and the balance of offerings the school provides (Language, Arts, Sports, Nature, etc). We are actually a little saddened that this will be our last year with TLC, but know that our daughter s educational foundation is strong and the confidence she has built over the last 3 years will continue into her next school experience. I would highly recommend TLC to any parent that is interested in a peacefully structured educational environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2011

Our daughter has attended TLC since she was 20-months, and is now at the pre-school level. She comes home and delights us everyday with something new that she has learned or that has brought her joy from the learning. She adores the teaching staff and administrators! We could choose to school her closer to home, but, we value the care and guidance that is provided to her at TLC. Parent involvement could use improvement, but, that is up to parents. There are ample opportunities to be involved, it's just up to parents to step up to these roles.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2011

I personally visited every school that accepted toddlers in Redmond, Sammamish and Issaquah and choose TLC for my 18 month old daughter. While the classrooms are simple in size and design, there is a great outdoor play area and the school is nestled in a safe residential area that gives it an old school house feel. The teachers in the toddler room were AMAZING at guiding young children under the Montessori method and the school did an excellent job at creating a highly structured environment. The teachers are very loving, communicative and observant. They send weekly emails with updates about what the children learned and were always available to discuss concerns or answer questions via the phone or email. The office staff and administration were also top notch. If you are open to respecting the structure TLC s teachers work to create and embracing what a Montessori education can do for your child, I highly recommend this school. My daughters growth in one year was incredible and I will be forever thankful that we had the opportunity to send her to TLC. We have since moved out of state and I have yet to find a school that matches what she had at TLC. This place is a TRUE gem!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2010

This school is just okay. I was not greatly impressed but it was not terrible either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2010

Just like any school, the quality of education at TLC is dependent upon the teacher. For example, some teachers are particularly inexperienced whereas some of the other teachers are well liked. It is incredibly important to determine who will be teaching your child before signing up for TLC. As noted earlier, TLC tends to be very weak in the math/science areas
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2010

I regret sending my daughter here. She is now in kindergarten and dreadfully behind her peers. This school is a glorified daycare.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2010

I am confused by the previous reviewer s experience. TLC Academy has a very consistent policy regarding admissions. It is TLC Academy s policy to accept payment only after all the admissions paperwork is complete and a child is fully registered. Once the child is fully registered for one of our programs and a seat has been reserved payment is required. No payment has ever been required to place a child on our waitlist. If a seat is offered to a family on the waitlist there is no obligation to accept the seat. Submitted by a TLC Academy Administrator


Posted February 26, 2010

My daughter graduated from Kindergraten last year. She attended TLC for three years. We were vey lucky to find TLC, as my daughter excelled in reading, math, science and socially. At the end of kindergarten, thanks to individulaized teaching of very capable staff, she was reading at grade 3 level, and doing basic math facts without any difficulty at second grade level. After care program was a life saver for working parents. My daughter had a great time at TLC, as she was in a safe and loving environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2010

This is my son's 3rd year at TLC, and we have been very satisfied parents. We have observed growth in both the academic and social areas. A normal day in the classroom includes a work time focused on academic work and social interaction- development of spoken language is encouraged during group time discussions and free play recess. We look forward to him attending the kindergarten program at TLC next year to build on the wonderful foundation he has received in his preschool years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2009

My son began attending TLC's Toddler Program at the age of 18 months. Our experience has been excellent. TLC provides our son a well established Montessori toddler curriculum taught by certified teachers in a safe, caring and fun environment. Our son's lanquage and social skills have advanced dramatically since beginning the program, and he is very excited about moving into TLC's preschool program very soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2009

this school is highly overrated. the teachers are mediocre and the principal is only interested in growing the student base while compromising quality of instruction. no focus on math/science.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2008

My daughter has attended TLC for two years now and loves it. She has also attended the summer camp, occasionally, and had a blast! A very professionally run school . Most importantly, I have always felt that my child is safe and well taken care of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2008

My kids both attend TLC. We are very happy with the education they are receiving. The teachers are very patient and are definitely qualified to be teaching Montessori. We have been at the school for 3 years, have been in different classrooms and have had nothing but wonderful experiences at TLC.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2008

This supposedly good school is very poorly managed. The teaching staff are not qualified enough and defintely not experienced..Looks like the management hires teaching staff for less..The only good thing abot the school are spacious classrooms and a nice playground.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2008

This has been a great school for my daughter. She attended Pre-K and Kindergarten, and we observed how much she has learned over the years. The staff is excellent -- mostly. The first pre-school teacher was not necessarily the best, but once she left, we had observed a very significant improvement in all aspects: curriculum, reports, academics, and discipline. Pre-school and Kindergarten instructors teaches each kid at their own level and competency. My daughter had really excelled there and improved significantly. After cafe (Miei Amici) is very convenient, and the staff makes it even better with great flexibility.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 53% N/A
White 35% 64%
Black 6% 6%
Hispanic 6% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • Other Montessori

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

21512 NE 16th St
Sammamish, WA 98074
Website: Click here
Phone: (425) 868-1943

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT