Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Creekside Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 610 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 26, 2014

The facility is positively beautiful. Very well maintained. The staff is exceedingly friendly and they genuinely care for the kids. The technology available to the teachers and kids is outstanding. The curriculum is standard for the State, with a few wastes of time 'new age' concepts in math that should be removed. The teachers are here as they are anywhere - on a spectrum from okay to great. Our 2 have experienced both. 5th grade was probably the least rigorous for one of ours and we directly attribute that to the 'okay' teacher who seemed more interested in being popular himself than being a challenging gateway to middle school. Overall, however, we'd highly recommend this school. On the whole, not sure it gets much better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2014

Love this school. Nice facilities. Attentive and responsive teachers. An involved PTSA that does fundraisers that aren't too annoying. I don't think there's pressure to give too much money. If you can't afford to donate the suggested amount, there's no shame or pressure. I'm sure there are plenty of affluent families who donate well above the "suggestion" as well as enough families who work for companies that do corporate matching that no one should have to worry about giving above their means. It's a public school so no fund raising is obligatory. The parking situation is terrible for school events, but that's such a minor issue. I feel very comfortable trusting Creekside with the care and education of my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2014

Creekside looks great on paper but if your children do not fit the average mold, or you don't want them to, keep looking. The 7 habits (of Highly Effective People) are drilled in religiously, while academics are lacking at school (and made up for by many parents at home.) The staff I have dealt with first hand do not seem to have much experience (teaching to various learning styles or in child development/psychology). A few even lack integrity, or take the approach, "don't ask, don't tell." With the amount of support and resources available in the community the school should be one of the finest. Unfortunatly, it's just average.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2012

3rd year at Creekside. Nice school and nice staffs. The biggest problem for this school are parking & only 1 entry/exit for both parents and school buses which is always caused so much traffic abd not convenient for residents around school (especially when there's an school event going on). Hope they can redesigned this matter as Challenger & Discovery got. 1 entry/exit for parents only. 1 entry/exit for buses only. PTSA is nice and organized. They just want to help school to raise some money for different activities. Therefore there are many fund raising events. My family and I always support it but we can't afford the amount PTSA hoped each time like some families do too. Totally understand what another parent means. Sometimes the amount PTSA hope might be too high. For example: Suggested $150 per family for Halloween-Walk-A-Thon program. Nice program but due to this bad economy, not everyone can afford what they wished. However, it's just a suggestion from PTSA but I believe that everyone can do whatever they can. Although we can't donate $ each time but we would still donate some homemade food/drinks/cookies...which also represent our hearts sincerely.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2012

I have taught at 5 schools, my experience ranging from primary to intermediate grades, and I can safely say that Creekside is a phenomenal place to be! The staff and administration are consistently focused on best practices and share a common goal of improving student achievement. As a "Leader In Me" school, we focus on tapping into the leadership potential of ALL students and staff. Support staff (Resource Room and SAGE, our gifted program) are committed to helping meet student needs in all academic levels. Our PTSA is strong and supportive, providing multiple opportunities for families to enjoy a variety of events while raising money for our relatively new school. Creekside is a great place to be!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 7, 2012

My daughter has been at Creekside for the past two years now and I have to say, I couldn't be more dissapointed in the lack of common sense exhibited by both the administration and the staff. My daughter does very well academically, despite the abundance of worksheets. Even smart kids aren't welcome here unless they fit the drone army student this school is apparently looking for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2012

After two years at this school I must say that this school is for kids with perfect behavior only. Kids with HDHD, autism, etc. are not really welcome. The counselor isn't very helpful except offering "Friendship groups" and the psychologist never got in contact with us to help. When we requested her help it was denied. The PTSA offers great programs for a high price. Asking a lot of money ($150) from the parents at the beginning of the school year and making you feel guilty if you can't afford it. The school itself is only two years old and extremely well equipped. That's a big PLUS. My kids love the school but as I mentioned before - please consider a private school if your child isn't perfect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2012

My children were reassigned from Sunny Hills to Creekside when the school opened in 2010. We loved Sunny Hills so were reticent to leave but our experience at Creekside has been so positive, we don't regret the move now! Certainly the facility is top notch as is the technology. The location is beautiful and serene tucked back in the wetlands. The building is green built and has all the modern features you could want in a school. The Principal is very experienced and well respected in the district and she had her pick of teachers from the other Issaquah Schools. She has assembled a wonderful staff. The school started right away in the Seven Habits of Highly Effective Schols Leader in Me Program and is already working towards a Lighthouse school designation of which there are 21 in the country. The music and PE teachers are raved about!! The kids love this school. Strong PTSA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2011

Fabulous staff, great administrative leadership. I have three children at this school and was pleased with every teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students81%
Female82%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asian93%
Asian/Pacific Islander93%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Low incomen/a
Not low income83%
Special education33%
Not special education86%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students92%
Female91%
Male93%
Blackn/a
Asian97%
Asian/Pacific Islander97%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Low incomen/a
Not low income93%
Special education42%
Not special education97%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students82%
Female79%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asian96%
Asian/Pacific Islander96%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low incomen/a
Not low income85%
Special education41%
Not special education88%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students86%
Female90%
Male81%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Low incomen/a
Not low income87%
Special education59%
Not special education90%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students82%
Female89%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asian86%
Asian/Pacific Islander86%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Low incomen/a
Not low income85%
Special education24%
Not special education91%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students82%
Female79%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic73%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Low incomen/a
Not low income84%
Special educationn/a
Not special education88%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students87%
Female90%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asian95%
Asian/Pacific Islander95%
Hispanic80%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Low incomen/a
Not low income89%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students83%
Female81%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asian96%
Asian/Pacific Islander96%
Hispanic82%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Low incomen/a
Not low income85%
Special educationn/a
Not special education89%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 23% 7%
Hispanic 5% 20%
Two or more races 4% 6%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 3%N/A44%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

20777 SE 16th St
Sammamish, WA 98075
Website: Click here
Phone: (425) 837-5201

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Arbor Schools
Sammamish, WA




TLC Montessori
Sammamish, WA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT