Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sunny Hills Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 15, 2014

My school is great! The teachers are nice, the education is good, and it is a beautiful school. I went there in first grade, and I loved it there. They have a good after school program, too. There is only one problem. When I went there for first grade, sometimes an adult would be only a little mean to me. But, it's a great school.


Posted September 29, 2013

This school has many good teachers and everything seems very organized and calm. My daughter is in 3rd grade and the majority of moms I have met are SAHMs. It is great because they spend a lot of time at the school volunteering, but it can make you feel a bit out of the loop if you are a working mom. I have also been met with much negativity for mentioning any kind of constructive criticism in regard to the school. Apparently high test scores=perfection, thus no negative feedback is tolerated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2013

I have one child at Sunny Hills. It is without question a great school all the way around. The teachers are intelligent and caring and very committed to learning for life and challenging the children. The specialists and administrators genuinely care for the children and I can feel that when I m at the school. The front office staff is very busy but they have always been cordial. If you have ever been to the school you know they wear a lot of hats. People, including children, are coming in and out of the office all day. The office staff has to deal with science fairs, parent volunteers, forgotten lunches and homework, dentists, photo day, etc The office staff may not always have time to greet everyone personally and they don t always have time to spend time chatting with me but I know for a fact they are always there for my child so I can live that. Sunny Hills is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2013

I have two children at Sunny Hills. My youngest is in Kindergarten and loves school, in fact she says she loves her teacher who is the sweetest and kindest woman ever. We have been very impressed with how much the kids are learning while having fun and enjoying themselves. Our oldest is in 2nd grade and likes school as well. The principal is a wonderful person who really cares about the student. Even with 600 students she knows my kids names and they really like her. Their is a lot of parent involvement and a strong PTA. The building are pretty outdated but the school is being modernized within the next years. I recommend Sunny Hills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2013

I have been impressed with my son's K teacher and the principal at Sunny Hills. My son loves school! However, I have to agree with the previous poster - the office staff are horrendous! Maybe they are used to the PTA moms who are in the office daily and know everything going on at the school...I don't know. If you ask them a question, they answer you as if you are annoying and stupid. I guess I am suppose to know everything about Sunny Hills without ever asking? And there are always about 4-5 people working at the front desk in the office. You'd think one of them would be polite, but I haven't had that experience yet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2012

I have been very impressed with this school. The staff is friendly and helpful. The teachers are amazing, and encourage parent involvement. They are very well funded, and have a great arts program. While the curriculum is very strong in English and Math, they don't neglect science, history, music, or art. Overall, a great school with a well rounded program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2012

The teachers are amazing!! My only issue with this school is the office staff and how rude they have been to me over the last two years. If you are talking to one office staff member three others chime in and you can't even make your point. I think the principal needs to have a talk with her office staff. Every parent should be treated nicely.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Total parent support, great teachers and wonderful programs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2010

Excellent staff and administration. Parent involvement is constructive and education enhancing. Great sense of community. We will miss it next year when we move to Creekside.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2005

This school is a great one due to the parent involvement. The art, and music programs are well run. Some teachers are better than others but for the most part the teachers are good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2004

The years that I spent at Sunny Hills were excellent: The teachers are kind, helpful, and intelligent. I got the feeling that the students really mattered to the staff, which not always seems to be the case with some schools. I would highly suggest Sunny Hills to all parents.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students92%
Female91%
Male93%
Blackn/a
Asian96%
Asian/Pacific Islander96%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Low incomen/a
Not low income92%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students93%
Female93%
Male93%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Low incomen/a
Not low income95%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students87%
Female86%
Male89%
Blackn/a
Asian94%
Asian/Pacific Islander95%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Low incomen/a
Not low income88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education91%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students86%
Female93%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asian82%
Asian/Pacific Islander84%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Low incomen/a
Not low income87%
Special educationn/a
Not special education90%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students75%
Female86%
Male62%
Blackn/a
Asian88%
Asian/Pacific Islander84%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Low incomen/a
Not low income79%
Special educationn/a
Not special education77%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students87%
Female93%
Male81%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Low incomen/a
Not low income87%
Special educationn/a
Not special education88%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students90%
Female96%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Low incomen/a
Not low income89%
Special educationn/a
Not special education91%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students84%
Female85%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asian92%
Asian/Pacific Islander93%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Low incomen/a
Not low income84%
Special educationn/a
Not special education86%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 23% 7%
Two or more races 6% 6%
Hispanic 5% 20%
Black 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 16%N/A8%
Special education 17%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 28%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 17N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 12N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 72%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3200 Issaquahpine Lake Rd SE
Sammamish, WA 98075
Phone: (425) 837-7400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Arbor Schools
Sammamish, WA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT