Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Samantha Smith Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted May 05, 2016
- a community member
The nurse has always been very nice and caring. She pays special attention and is loving. The rest of the school needs to be replaced.

Samantha Smith Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 05, 2016
- a community member
The school nurse is nice. But I have not seen respect from the teachers or staff. In order to develop respect, you have to model it as well.


Samantha Smith Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted May 05, 2016
- a community member
I have not been impressed with this school. They seem disinterested in the students - and treat them as an inconvenience.

Samantha Smith Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted May 05, 2016
- a community member
The staff is bored, disinterested, and sometimes outright mean. I don't drive by the crosswalk on my way to school, however the crosswalk guard just came up to me in a fury, screaming at me that I did not see her. Even if it was my fault, she should not have screamed at me in front of my child. This does not set a good example.

Samantha Smith Elementary School 1

Posted May 05, 2016
- a community member
I am not impressed with the Lake Washington School District. My daughter went up to fourth grade at Sunny Hills. The district website said she could finish out the fifth grade there, but the mean woman in charge refused to honor their policy. So, she ended up here. They have nothing special for the fifth graders - Sunny Hills offers a fifth grade trip, pioneer day picnic, lots of great activities and parent involvement as well as a fun fair. The only activities Samantha Smith has emailed me about are things to raise money for the school. She doesn't care for the curriculum, or the teacher. I'm not impressed with the curriculum. They don't have to do any reports in front of the class. And the staff at the school in general are not very nice. The crossing guards are rude, the office staff is rather stiff - and I always feel like they are rushing me out. The only nice thing is the nurse. I wish she had never gone here.


Samantha Smith Elementary School 5

Posted June 29, 2014
- a parent
My kid had been with Smith's Quest program, and the experience had been great! The main classroom teachers are experienced and skilled in both challenging and encouraging students. They did good job in organizing and adding interesting spins to a rigor academic program...we are happy to see our kid matured over years in taking on more and more challenging school work, and yet still happy to go to school every day. Extra-curriculums are also good...library and music teacher are excellent and loved by kids. The end-of-year music concerts have always been a high-note and memorable moment for many. Very good students and parents involvement too...

Samantha Smith Elementary School 2

Posted May 14, 2014
- a parent
The academic rigor with new curriculum for 2013/14 is great, BUT there is lack of consistency with teachers understanding and articulating the grading in the new system. Also teachers are not responsive to parents and when this issue comes up, the school protects the teachers not the parents (makes it hard to advocate for your child). Wish they encouraged more of an open communication partnership with teachers and parents.

Samantha Smith Elementary School 4

Posted March 13, 2013
- a parent
Curriculum is strong so my kid does not get bored, and that's a good thing. Teachers are nice, lots and lots of after school programs. On the negative side, way too much parental involvement. Helicopter parents doing everything not just for their kids but instead of them. Herding and protecting them as if they never need to get independent .


Samantha Smith Elementary School 4

Posted May 19, 2012
- a parent
I agree with the comment about the Kindergarten program not being challenging enough for many students. I'd expand this remark to include the first grade program also. Otherwise, we're pretty happy with the upper grade programs.

Samantha Smith Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2011
- a parent
I cannot say enough good things about Samantha Smith Elementary. This school has experienced teachers and staff with a true focus on how students learn individually. The PTSA is strong and the after-school activities offer a wide range of interests and arts. Fantastic!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Samantha Smith Elementary School
23305 NE 14th St, Sammamish, WA  98074
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (425) 936-2710
Last modified Samantha Smith Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top