Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Sammamish, WA
Students enrolled: 464

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Elizabeth Blackwell Elementary School 4

Posted September 24, 2014
- a parent
Blackwell has been a great school because of the teachers. Unfortunately, I have to agree with the previous review about the PTSA. If you stay away from the unprofessional behaviour of a few in the PTSA, you will be happy with the school. Having said that, not all parents who volunteer fall into that category. I do recommend volunteering for your teacher's class. Overall, it's been a positive experience for my child which is what really matters most for our family.

Elizabeth Blackwell Elementary School 1

Posted December 16, 2013
- a parent
When we moved to this area, I thought it was one of the best schools around (that's why we moved here)...WRONG! As long as you go with the flow, don't make waves, and do as the PTSA demands that you do, I guess you'll be happy. I challenged some "old ways" and was promptly "corrected". They do not like to be even slightly told about a new idea. And if your child is perfect in every subject, you'll do well. If they need extra help, you are looked down on because you are bringing the entire schools test scores down...that is the most important thing to the school and to most of the parents. They do not say this of course, but the other parents constantly bug you about your child's scores while telling you their child is "helping" the greater good of the school by their awesome scores. The teachers aren't quite as rude about it, but it comes out it other less subtle ways. We are switching to private school starting next year-I have had enough.


Elizabeth Blackwell Elementary School 5

Posted October 14, 2010
- a parent
Elizabeth Blackwell is a school with dedicated teachers, enthusiastic and conscientious students, and supportive parents. This school has consistently risen to the challenge of providing quality education to students and the teachers are always refining their practices to best meet the needs of the students. The new principal is dedicated to education and has brought a real spark to school morale and is actively engaged and interested in the betterment of the school

Elizabeth Blackwell Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 10, 2010
- a parent
Parent creativity in volunteering is well-accepted at Blackwell by the staff, PTSA, and parent volunteers. A parent wanting to participate but who has time or interest/skill constraints can easily find a comfortable level of participation which is why the school has an outstanding number of parent volunteers.

Elizabeth Blackwell Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Elizabeth Blackwell Elementary School 5

Posted May 08, 2006
- a parent
Blackwell is a great school. There are a lot of parent volunteers so they have several programs that are parent run - accelerated reading, accelerated math, art start, etc. The PTSA raises enough money so the teachers can do additional training and they have plenty of supplies. Blackwell is truly a community school.

Elizabeth Blackwell Elementary School 5

Posted April 08, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Elizabeth Blackwell Elementary School 5

Posted February 01, 2006
- a former student
This review submitted without content.


Elizabeth Blackwell Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted January 23, 2006
- a parent
It is the best elementary school in Lake Washington District.

Elizabeth Blackwell Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted January 10, 2006
- a parent
I have two children in Blackwell. Both of them like the school. In general I feel it is a great school. It will be nice if there are advance program available inside Blackwell. We hesitate in participating QWEST because it requires to go to other schools.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Elizabeth Blackwell Elementary School
3225 205th Placene, Sammamish, WA  98074
(425) 936-2520
Last modified Elizabeth Blackwell Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Elizabeth Blackwell Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top