Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dimmitt Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 923 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 29, 2011

I was very nervous about my daughter attending Dimmitt due to its reputation and other concerned parents. To my surprise she loves it and had a great year. She's been challenged and is in accelerated classes. She's never had a problem with bullying but she has a pretty strong personality, looks older than she is and would stand up for herself if necessary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2011

Do not let your student come to this school! Its nothing but problems! The kids dont respect the teachers and other kids will pick on yours if your child doesnt seem to "fit in" . The academic level is ok but the enviorment is so not worth your child going through the embarrasement of the school life here at Dimmit. If possible move to a different location to where your student could go to Nielsen or McKnight. So much more worth it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2011

I am seriously not impressed by this school. After looking at reports of incidents that recently occurred at Dimmitt, I recommend that you do not send your children there, there are many proven bullies. The government needs to fill Dimmit MS with new staff because no matter what they say they will do, IT NEVER SIGNIFICANTLY GETS BETTER. Really. This is just awful.


Posted September 22, 2010

The staff has completed a total revision of their team setting. The teachers now all work together to plan the curriculum and the office staff work right along with them. They are determined not to leave any child behind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

The parents need to get on the inside of Dimmitt middle school, the part where everythings natural, not acting natural because theirs a parent in the room. Dimmitt's very uncomfortable and its not very often the feeling changes, it seems like the teachers are just trying to get through the day, and don't really mind the changes in the students thats going on around them. The food is pitifulm, the lunch is just tossed on the trays in handfuls and handed out. The way dimmitt is running im surprised, well stunned that the governer okay's our school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 5, 2010

Yes dimmitt has there problems but we are also one of the best schools to got to we have teacher who take the time even if there kids are sick and are staying home to make sure we get our work done and now matter what the teachers will work on not haveing any fightrs this year we have been working on siberbulling and i have been going toschool and was bullied once and hasd it atken care of after 2 days they belive in second chances so if u mess up and now u aren't going to do it they wont suspend u
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 14, 2009

I Was not pleased with Dimmit Middle School. Well first my daughter went there for year now.(she now is in Mcknight). And,Ever since she has been there she has been bullied & harrased. When I Was in contact with the principle,I Was told that the Dimmit Staff was doing everything in there power to make it a safe enviroment for my child. Well,I was convinced at first. 2 weeks later my daughter came home balling tears. I was angry. So once again im in contact with the principle. I was told that they had a 'talk' with the bullies and that they were under control. NO THEY WERE NOT. A talk? No A SUSPENSiON>Yes. But it did not happen that way.This was an on going problem! Not once were those kids suspended. I finnaly decide enough is enough. Parents,if your thinking about a renton middle school,i suggest Mcknight Middle School. HONESTLY
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2008

Dimmitt Middle School is really based on learning targets and is just a great school I would say cause I've learned alot over the past months!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2008

I was so amazed by this school. Based on the area where the school is located I had huge misgivings about my daughter attending there. But once she started it was obvious that they weren't teaching to the 'lowest common denominator'. She had to work hard to get good grades! I was impressed by the involvement of the principal and the teachers. We communicated via email and they kept me completely updated on problems--and good things! Once she had a problem on the bus and they resolved this very quickly. I was really impressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2006

I think that there should be a 'b' or 'junior varsity' team for each sport.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

I am very happy with Dimmit Middle School. I feel the teachers are very good. The principal I feel has everything together very well as we all know dealing with middle school aged children is somewhat challenging.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2004

I think this is a great school. I am truly impressed at their computer programs. They actually have student technicians helping the computer teacher while learning exstensivly about computers.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 3, 2003

As a grandparent I have been very pleased with the staff and students at Dimmitt. My grandson had a great start to his middle school career. There was the opportunity to learn the neccessay skills to help him move through 6th grade with confidence. He finished his first year with a 4.00gpa. The staff is great at helping young people aquire the skills that are needed to be productive, happy young people. This is one of the best schools in the district. The principal is a great leader.


Posted April 25, 2003

It's been my experience the last three years that a large number of the teacher are only concerned about getting throgh the day. Teachers who's behavior at time's are more immature than the students. The teachers and administrative staff must understand how powerful their words to these young minds are and the unforgetable scars they can leave. I would like to say that the past three years was rewarding...I cannot! On a more positive note; the assistant principal is a true blessing to the school - If Dimmit could find a way to learn from this individual then the school would be a better place for our middle school youth; She is truley a professional.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

323 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

322 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

329 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

333 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

321 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

309 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
29%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

311 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

310 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students45%
Female50%
Male40%
Black20%
Asian68%
Asian/Pacific Islander66%
Hispanic37%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White57%
Low income39%
Not low income62%
Special education11%
Not special education51%
Limited English19%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students64%
Female72%
Male56%
Black48%
Asian81%
Asian/Pacific Islander81%
Hispanic55%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Low income59%
Not low income79%
Special education23%
Not special education71%
Limited English22%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students51%
Female54%
Male48%
Black31%
Asian85%
Asian/Pacific Islander81%
Hispanic40%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White61%
Low income41%
Not low income80%
Special education4%
Not special education60%
Limited English30%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students58%
Female62%
Male55%
Black47%
Asian73%
Asian/Pacific Islander70%
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Low income52%
Not low income76%
Special education27%
Not special education64%
Limited English27%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students67%
Female78%
Male56%
Black58%
Asian89%
Asian/Pacific Islander87%
Hispanic55%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White61%
Low income61%
Not low income83%
Special education33%
Not special education73%
Limited English49%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students44%
Female45%
Male44%
Black22%
Asian74%
Asian/Pacific Islander72%
Hispanic40%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White55%
Low income38%
Not low income64%
Special education8%
Not special education49%
Limited English40%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students63%
Female71%
Male54%
Black56%
Asian70%
Asian/Pacific Islander69%
Hispanic56%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Low income57%
Not low income81%
Special education19%
Not special education69%
Limited English37%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students50%
Female50%
Male50%
Black38%
Asian64%
Asian/Pacific Islander62%
Hispanic43%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Low income43%
Not low income72%
Special education38%
Not special education52%
Limited English32%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 94% in 2011.

33 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 100% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
92%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students90%
Female92%
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asian94%
Asian/Pacific Islander94%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Low income88%
Not low income94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education90%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Geometry

All Students100%
Female100%
Malen/a
Asian100%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low income100%
Not low income100%
Not special education100%

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 36% 5%
Asian 27% 7%
Hispanic 20% 18%
White 13% 63%
Two or more races 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 172%N/A40%
Transitional bilingual 212%N/A8%
Special education 215%N/A13%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 19N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 9N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 78%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • John Schmitz

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12320 80th Ave South
Seattle, WA 98178
Phone: (425) 204-2800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT