Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Adams Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 471 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 2, 2014

Wonderful, neighborhood school with supportive teachers and staff. We love it here and our children are learning so much! Thank you Adams!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2013

This was my first elementary school and I loved this school so much. Does a kindergarten teacher name Ms. May still teach her. BEST TEACHER EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Posted October 7, 2010

This school is just fine. I see that people have written complaints on this website and while there are bits of truth to them, I think they might be blowing things out of proportion. When someone says it's much better when they change schools, likely it's the situation they fall into within that new school which they attribute to the entire organization. While I have taken issue with certain aspects of Adams, I find the experience overall to be as I would expect from a public elementary school: a lot of awesome, mostly ordinary, and only a little bit of awful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2008

Our family has been very happy with our experience with Adams Elementary. The diversity and warm environment of the school and parent community has made our experience with our two children exeptional. Both are very different in personality and have grown socially and academically. As a very active member of our PTA, I am saddened to read of the other member's perception of the school and our PTA. While not every school works for all students and their families- I do know that every effort is made at Adams to include everyone and to meet the needs of all students. Also, all who want to be involved- working/stay-at-home, married/single/partnered, rich/poor, male/female, etc are welcomed, included and involved. I am proud of our community, school and the children who attend and encourage others to check
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2008

Don't believe Adams' multiple intelligences credo and supposed commitment to diversity; Diversity at Adams means a parent who can't get off work before 3:00 and multiple intelligences is restricted to the three rs. My kid has never had problems in school before and hates it now. Adams' PTA is completely political in the sense that if you don't have money, aren't married, or aren't a stay at home mom then you aren't involved. Most of the events are late in the evening or during the work week. My kid has suffered this year, culminating in a large staff meeting that would have been really bad had I not had almost 10 years of teaching under my belt. There are some great teachers at Adams, too bad my kid didn't get one and too bad the principal is more interested in test results and control than helping out kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2007

Adams is a great school. My daughter is in kindergarten and is reading at a 3rd grade level. She has several classmates reading at that level with her and they continue to make steady progress. Her class is learning first grade math and writing skills. The school has been recognized for it's integrated arts program. This is a real arts program with many different mediums. Finally, Adams offers diversity in a neighborhood with little diversity. We love Adams!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2006

Adams Elementary has an amazingly well-rounded curriculum. Because of the arts-integrated curriculum that is unique to Adams in our city, there is a strong emphasis on the academic benefits of the arts as a teaching tool rather than separate elements. Teachers use visual art, music and performing arts within the daily curriculum to enhance comprehension and build enthusiasm for the material. It is excting to see kids getting so much more within a 'traditionally' structured school. My child is reading well beyond his grade level and loves school! I believe that art, music and drama are important learning tools for all children in all subjects. Music is built within a mathematical framework. Base concepts in visual art are base concepts of geometry. Acting out a story enhances reading comprehension. In addition to the excellent curriculum, this school has a wonderful multi-cultural community and a committed and strong PTA! I highly recommend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2004

Adams has been a fabulous choice for my child. Although not our neighborhood school, we chose Adams because of the arts-enriched program which has certainly enhanced the learning process for our child. He's reading a level above his grade, he loves math and the art work he brings home is enlightened and frankly astonishing at times. Coming from a cooperative pre-school I found the parent involvement comforting and I spend at least a couple of hours a week in the classroom helping out in any way I can. It's been great to be part of the process and I would highly recommend Adams to any parent looking for a well rounded, productive, and caring educational experience for their elementary aged child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
33%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students71%
Female70%
Male72%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Low income47%
Not low income80%
Special educationn/a
Not special education75%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students87%
Female87%
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Low income58%
Not low income98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education92%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students66%
Female68%
Male64%
Black29%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic40%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Low income50%
Not low income72%
Special education20%
Not special education76%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students80%
Female88%
Male73%
Black57%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic70%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Low income58%
Not low income89%
Special education47%
Not special education87%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students67%
Female85%
Male51%
Black43%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic60%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Low income50%
Not low income74%
Special education47%
Not special education71%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students56%
Female54%
Male58%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White61%
Low income35%
Not low income68%
Special education13%
Not special education71%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students75%
Female86%
Male67%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Low income48%
Not low income90%
Special education38%
Not special education88%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students81%
Female86%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Low income52%
Not low income98%
Special education50%
Not special education92%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 60%
Hispanic 13% 20%
Black 10% 5%
Two or more races 6% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 111%N/A8%
Special education 115%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 227%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 17N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 10N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 56%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Anne Johnson

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6110 28 Av NW
Seattle, WA 98107
Website: Click here
Phone: (206) 252-1300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Matheia School
Seattle, WA


Salmon Bay School
Seattle, WA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT