Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ballard High School

Public | 9-12 | 1643 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 3, 2014

My son is a sophomore this year and he's had a great experience at Ballard in 9th and 10th grade. He has enjoyed almost all of his subjects and I have found his teachers to be very responsive to questions. The Maritime program and Mr. Foster are exceptional. The one time I had a question for his school counselor, she was great, too. I have seen no evidence of bullying and lots of school spirit!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2011

Great teachers, horrible administration. The administrative personnel are true bureaucrats, education is secondary at best. I have found the principle and vice principal condescending, unresponsive to parent concerns, and completely incompetent in dealing with student issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2010

ballard high school is the only school in seattl and king county that offers the martime program which is alot of fun. the teacher are mazing and are alway makingclass fun and easy to learn in.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 15, 2009

Ballard is a great school. Excellent teachers and wonderful parent community. Even though it is a large high school - they have various programs that have tried to give it a smaller feel. Great sports programs and many good kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2008

I am in the Ballard Maritime Achademy and it is the reason I go to school everyday. Teachers Mr. Foster and Mrs. Vogel are fun and inspiring. I love the opertunities the academy has given me and I know it will continue providing them. If a prospective Ballard student has any maritime background, the Ballard Maritime Academy is the best option for you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 15, 2007

Fantastic executive leadership - the principal/vice principals are largely alums, demonstrating the depth of commitment to the community. The school's foundation has raised $2 million over ten years - making ballard high school in seattle one of the most highly supported public schools in america. The school's video production program is rated as the #1 high school film school in america - graduates regularly go to the top film schools on both coasts. The biotechnology program has enormous support from industry and top universities in the region. The institute of finance regularly sends its graduates to wall street for elite internships with the top firms. The earl kelly performing arts center is a top flight drama program. The best thing is that students can be involved with all of these programs during their four years at ballard - the school is inclusive, open and diverse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2006

I am a student at Ballard in the biotech academy. I love it at this school, the academics are good. I know a few things that could be changed, but its still a good school. Our football team is not doing so well but, women's soccer is doing phenomenally with the new help of the freshman. The art program is pretty good quality, but I'm in art class and I don't like it because the teacher doesn't give you much 'breathing room' for creativity. You have to follow her rules. the music program sounds good and I like Mr.James the Music teacher, but the biotech LA class competes with the orchestra. I don't know much about parent involvement because I hardly ever see parents, but there are so many booster clubs I can only assume it's doing well. The school climate is very positive but it has its complications.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 17, 2006

Ballard High School has a reputation of being a party school, but it is still one of the best public schools in the Seattle area. It is a very safe school and it has one of the best locations for a high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 28, 2005

Ballard High School is excellent. It recently completed a 30 Million dollar renovation and is now widely recognized as one of the premier High Schools in Seattle. They have an excellent teaching faculty, excellent music and drama department, the sports program was the state championship in football (2 years ago) and the grounds are fantastic.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 15, 2005

Ballard offers high quality programs taught by excellent teachers. The school is big, and can be impersonal, but parent involvement is exceptionally good.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 1, 2005

As the parent of a Ballard High School student, I must say we've had our share of academic disappointments. My student is in Advanced Placement Language Arts. She has frequently felt bored and unchallenged (not to mention concerned about the number of substitute teachers she has endured). Another issue is the failure on the part of many teachers to provide feedback on assignments. My student takes the time and effort to do homework; the least the teachers could do is critique, grade and return the assignments! If your student is interested in becoming a solid writer or would like to pursue the arts, Ballard High is not the school to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2005

Ballard High is a great community in a great neighborhood and is improving academically but still not terribly rigorous. It's Seattle's most popular high school, a great building and a community where kids enjoy themselves. Academic opportunities for highly motivated kids are somewhat limited., though Ballard is sending a few graduates each year to selective colleges. There are AP courses in every department but they are not numerous. There have been some good principals lately (with one exception) so a lot of good faculty have been recruited. My sense is the math department is quite good; social studies and science have some great teachers and some not-so-good ones. It's a school where good students can get what they need, but average kids could get lost. (though that is probably true of a lot of high schools)
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 54% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
59%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 82% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
94%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 93% in 2013.

182 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 53% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 96% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 22% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
39%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 66% in 2013.

266 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
55%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 72% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
71%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 28% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 61% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 19% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
39%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 35% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
60%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 35% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
50%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 23% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 15% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 34% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 20% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 18% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students76%
Female74%
Male78%
Black54%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander80%
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income60%
Not low income83%
Special education73%
Not special education76%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Students98%
Female97%
Male98%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White99%
Low incomen/a
Not low income99%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Geometry

All Students98%
Female100%
Male96%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
White99%
Low income80%
Not low income99%
Not special education98%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students52%
Female49%
Male57%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White62%
Low income53%
Not low income52%
Special educationn/a
Not special education68%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Students88%
Female86%
Male90%
Black92%
Asian83%
Asian/Pacific Islander80%
Hispanic81%
Multiracial75%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Low income76%
Not low income92%
Special education73%
Not special education89%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Geometry

All Students92%
Female91%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian92%
Asian/Pacific Islander93%
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Low income85%
Not low income94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education91%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students22%
Female20%
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low income27%
Special educationn/a
Not special education36%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Malen/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2010.

373 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

371 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 50% in 2011.

379 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

364 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the High School Proficiency Exam (HSPE) to test students in reading and writing in grade 10. Math skills are tested by the End-of-Course (EOC) exams. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Reading

All Students94%
Female94%
Male94%
Black100%
Asian87%
Asian/Pacific Islander88%
Hispanic91%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Low income93%
Not low income94%
Special education58%
Not special education97%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students88%
Female90%
Male86%
Black85%
Asian87%
Asian/Pacific Islander88%
Hispanic82%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Low income74%
Not low income91%
Special education50%
Not special education91%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the High School Proficiency Exam (HSPE) to test students in reading and writing in grade 10. Math skills are tested by the End-of-Course (EOC) exams. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 7%
Hispanic 11% 20%
Black 5% 5%
Two or more races 4% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 16%N/A8%
Special education 111%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 222%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 20N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 11N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 65%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1418 NW 65 St
Seattle, WA 98117
Phone: (206) 252-1000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Wexford School
Seattle, WA





Hawthorn Schools
Seattle, WA


Epic Life Academy
Seattle, WA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT