Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Chief Sealth High School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted September 04, 2015
- a student
Again, it really depends on what teachers you have. For the most part, if you show up on time and do your work the teachers are nice and will usually be fairly lenient on extending deadlines or making up absences, but if you're being disrespectful (like having your phone out during class, always showing up late, or disrupting class) they're not going to go the extra mile for you. All of the teachers I had expected you to show up prepared to learn; if you didn't do what you were supposed to, they weren't mean to you but they also didn't give you a bunch of second chances.

Chief Sealth High School 1

Posted June 04, 2014
- a student
Since the new principal at Sealth started just this year, everything has been going downhill. Not only are students looked down upon but the teachers are as well. The administration now has no respect for their students and don't take the opinions of the students and staff into consideration whatsoever. Although the administration is sub par, the teachers are wonderful and extremely great at what they do. With that said, I still believe the authority of the administration outweigh the good of the teachers. I find it sad to see Chief Sealth's great teachers under the horrid rein of the new administration who seem to only care about what they think is right. I haven't once seen the principal interact with any of her students, other than telling girls their outfits are inappropriate or boys to pull their pants up. I look forward to if/when this principal begins to understand her duty as a principal is one who doesn't just scold kids for the bad, but to encourage them for the good. I'm so sorry if you ever have to go to this school in the future -- it will not be a pleasant experience.


Chief Sealth High School 2

Posted May 28, 2014
- a community member
This school has the worst principal in the district. She is new to the school this year. Has a top down only management style and has no respect for some great long term teachers and support staff. She talks to no one. Staff moral is at an all time low. Teachers and support staff are leaving and going elsewhere. I have observed this school over the past 20 years. This is it's worst time ever.

Chief Sealth High School 1

Posted February 15, 2014
- a student
This probably one of the worst high schools in Seattle. There's has been many bullying cases. Students do not feel safe. It is a crime to be smart, to want to thrive. Students will get beaten for being a 'nerd'. The teachers, frankly, have given up on all students because the students don't care anymore. This school gives students a reason for depression and I won't even say what depression leads up to. Do not send your child to this school. It may have been good in the past but as of 2011 and beyond, stay clear.

Chief Sealth High School 5

Posted August 17, 2010
- a student
I feel very fortunate to have chosen Chief Sealth International High school, where I am soon to be a senior (c/o 2011). The teachers and staff are extremely helpful and quick to accommodate special needs. Other students are friendly. In regards to the "reputation" it has received from students enrolled in other schools and middle school students looking at high schools is almost completely unfounded and undeserved. This school is extremely diverse and safe, no matter what people continue to say. The IB (international baccalaureate) program is challenging and yet informative. Another bonus is the two academies offered by the school, Academy of Hospitality and Tourism, as well as the Academy of Finance. Other notable programs include Proyecto Saber, Global Leadership/Global Visionaries exchange program, and the school now houses the Confucius Institute of the State of Washington Education Center. I love Chief Sealth International High School.


Chief Sealth High School 5

Posted June 30, 2010
- a parent
Our family feels incredibly fortunate to have our children at Chief Sealth. Our children have had an outstanding experience academicaly, socially, musically. The students are friendly, the staff and principal are outstanding, and our kids are challenged and engaged.

Chief Sealth High School
no rating

Posted October 12, 2009
- a parent
Our school has the most amazing students--polite, smart, and globally aware. They rock!

Chief Sealth High School
no rating

Posted October 12, 2009
- a parent
the Staff and students do a great job of welcoming all families.


Chief Sealth High School
no rating

Posted October 11, 2009
- a parent
World-class instruction and academics through the International Baccalaureate program! A culture of respect and inclusiveness that permeates the entire school community: hallways, sports, clubs, cafeteria, etc.! Faculty and staff who genuinely love kids and do all they can to support them! Leadership focused on how to meet students' needs effectively and efficiently! LOVE THIS SCHOOL!

Chief Sealth High School
no rating

Posted October 11, 2009
- a parent
Caring teachers, great principal, diversity of all types and the IB program

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Chief Sealth High School
2600 SW Thistle Street, Seattle, WA  98106
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (206) 252-8550
Last modified Chief Sealth High School is a Public school that serves grades 10-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top