Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cleveland High School 2

Posted May 28, 2013
- a student
Bad, Bad, Bad. Don't go to this school, I go to it and there are NO AP classes in Freshmen and your sophomore year. The only available AP classes in junior year is AP Calculus, AP Chemistry, and AP Computer Science. This is my second year at this school and I can say from my observations that the male teachers are generally better then the female teachers. Your freshmen year will be great because you have really good teachers in your freshmen year but then in your sophomore year the quality of the teachers go down. I would like to note that you learn 10th grade humanities in 9th grade and you learn 8th grade humanities in 10th grade. Your last project for 10th grade humanities will be a art project where you paint. YOU DON'T LEARN LITERATURE OR ANYTHING, I HAVEN'T EVEN LEARNED ANY HISTORY IN MY HISTORY CLASS!
1 person found this helpful

Cleveland High School 2

Posted August 22, 2012
- a student
Cleveland is not a very good school to go to if you want to have a serious education. The materials and classes offer can be interesting but the learning environment is somewhat below average. Most of the students are not hardworking and some teachers just like to give easy assignments for students to do. The expectations are low and students will freak out about their abilities once they're in college.
1 person found this helpful


Cleveland High School 2

Posted October 21, 2011
- a student
Not the best school to go to for students who want to be challenged in class. There are no honors classes, and AP is only offered for juniors and seniors. Project-baselearnt ing, the STEM program, and extra high school credits initially draws you in, but the irresponsible and lazy students(the majority of freshman anyway) stress out the teens serious about school. For the first 3 months, most of what I learned was how to research, put info on a PowerPoint/ Prezi, and be a manager to my peers. It was very disappointing to figure out that this was basically what Cleveland was actually like(when most students aren't hardworking). Advice: Project based learning works best when students don't need to be constantly told to do their work. Transferring to a different high school next semester, A very frustrated 9th grader
1 person found this helpful

Cleveland High School 5

Posted May 16, 2011
- a community member
A Cleveland graduate from 1953. A great school then and an outstanding school now. Good luck kids. LS CONEY
1 person found this helpful

Cleveland High School 5

Posted May 10, 2011
- a parent
Excellent, dedicated, engaging teachers. Small class sizes. Ethnically diverse student body. My son looks forward to going to school every single day. A little-known gem in SE Seattle. The PTSA is small but really cares about the school.
1 person found this helpful


Cleveland High School 4

Posted March 23, 2011
- a student
First of all im a student that attended cleveland. This is a fantastic school. Split into 3 different academies. Life science, and engineering/design for, the freshman and sophomores, and the college ready academy. The freshman and sophomores each get their own laptops to use for the year. Everything is project based so students interact and work together to get things done. Students just learn better that way. All the teachers are great.
1 person found this helpful

Cleveland High School 5

Posted April 26, 2010
- a community member
Incredible school the teachers are amazing the facility is amazing I love this school it's an incredible school. I highly recommend this school you will love it & your kids will love it.
1 person found this helpful

Cleveland High School 1

Posted November 05, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Cleveland High School 1

Posted July 29, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Cleveland High School 0
no rating

Posted July 20, 2008
- a student
Teachers pay their efforts in teaching. Students are friendly and helpful.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cleveland High School
5511 15 Ave South, Seattle, WA  98108
(206) 252-7800
Last modified Cleveland High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cleveland High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top