Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Concord Elementary School 2

Posted December 10, 2014
- a parent
I am a parent that had at least one child in concord for the past 10 years. I have seen the school evolve from family-parent-community friendly to an unorganized mess. Four years ago the school was great. Now don't get me wrong, the teachers and most of the staff are great, when kids need that extra help they will help. the neighborhood kids are being pushed to the side so that the English families can get their kids to learn Spanish and that is the #1 priority. They have gotten rid of a special needs teacher to bring in another dual language teacher .principal tries to manage everyone including teachers and parents and if you disagree or call her out in front of other parents she will single you out and try to make an example out of you. It always turns into an "i'm right and your wrong" situation with her. Then she also makes new rules for the school and doesn't stick with them.Oh, and she does a real good job of making parents/family feel welcome into school. but when you actually go to visit. Office staff (following principals orders) will not let you go to classrooms.I seen a parent turned away from her own childs' birthday celebration because it wasn't pre-arranged.
1 person found this helpful

Concord Elementary School 5

Posted November 20, 2014
- a teacher
Concord is a wonderful school! The staff are dedicated, hard-working, innovative, collaborative, and student-focused. There has been incredible growth at Concord in recent years and it is undoubtedly a school on the move. The dual language and international education focus in both the traditional and dual classrooms expose students to global perspectives and enrich and deepen school learning. The student body is rich with a diversity of backgrounds, experiences, and perspectives - creating a rich environment for learning and collaboration among peers. This is an incredibly special school that is full of growth, innovation, and student success and enrichment.


Concord Elementary School 1

Posted February 03, 2013
- a teacher
The atmosphere at our school has declined in the past four years since the arrival of the current principal who consistently micromanages the staff and undermines teachers. The increase enrollment of the West Seattle families have brought a false sense of white entitlement to our school. Worse of all, academic growth has declined since the transitioning of principals. That should tell you something.
1 person found this helpful

Concord Elementary School 4

Posted October 27, 2012
- a parent
I love this school. My son is learning his lessons in Spanish and English. It's great!

Concord Elementary School 2

Posted October 27, 2012
- a community member
School Cafeteria atmosphere is terrible! It is so loud in there I feel for the kitchen staff and the monitors something needs to be done. In my day we would never be allowed to be that loud or able to leave without raising our hands or if the table and floor area was not cleaned. The food looked great but not the Cafeteria what a mess the kids couldn't even stack the trays at the window correctly the lady at the window had to keep telling them to do so and get all the garbage off the plate.


Concord Elementary School 1

Posted October 11, 2012
- a parent
Horrible! Unorganized. They cram all the English only students with all the special needy child that have behavioral issues. While they care only for the dual language classes. The principals and admins do not care to address this issue. I am pulling my child out of this school immediately. The way the school is structured, it will be holding my child back. Principal is not dedicated in helping reorganize the school. I give it a ZERO (0) score but this won't let me submit this review if I didn't choose at least 1*.

Concord Elementary School 5

Posted November 17, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Concord Elementary School 4

Posted May 15, 2008
- a parent
What a great school. It has issues that all schools have but the teachers and support staff all genuinly care about the students.


Concord Elementary School 4

Posted May 29, 2005
- a former student
A great little community school where many of the students are children or grandchildren of past student caring staff that knows the students and their families a good variety of programs to fill the needs of the students.

Concord Elementary School 5

Posted February 25, 2004
- a community member
This school has lots of diversity, beautiful students, beautiful interior decoration, and a fantastic drama program.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Concord Elementary School
723 South Concord St, Seattle, WA  98108
(206) 252-2815
Last modified Concord Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Concord Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top