Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

We welcome parent and community feedback! Please let us know how we are doing and offer suggestions on ways we can continue to learn and grow! You can post here or at scjaskot@seattleschools.org
March 30, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


B F Day Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 30, 2016
- a school leader
We welcome parent and community feedback! Please let us know how we are doing and offer suggestions on ways we can continue to learn and grow! You can post here or at scjaskot@seattleschools.org

B F Day Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted February 10, 2016
- a parent
I would say in my opinion not all of the teachers are equally effective. However, the overall classroom vibe is very positive and supportive.


B F Day Elementary School 5

Posted February 10, 2016
- a parent
This is our daughter's second year at BF Day elementary and I am really blown away by the great community of families at the heart of the school. The classrooms have strong parental volunteer support, myself, my wife, and my mother all spend time in the classroom and enjoy seeing the students and teachers in action.

B F Day Elementary School 5

Posted February 09, 2016
- a parent
This is our second year at BF Day Elementary and we love this school! My daughter has had fabulous teachers, and the principal effectively pulls together staff, students, the families, PTA and the local community to form a cohesive and well rounded education for the students. The fact that students receive multiple lessons a week in PE and art along with a strong literacy and math instruction makes this teacher (Seattle Public School elementary teacher) and mom confident that BF Day will properly engage and prepare the children for middle school and beyond. The playground at the school is fabulous, and it never feels crowded unlike many SPS elementary playgrounds. We also use the on-site Boys and Girls club afterschool care and not only love it for the convenience, but also for its fabulous teachers who bring in music, history and sports in their daily plans. BF Day received the School of Distinction Award this year for its significant improvements. Sadly, the overall score on GreatSchools doesn't reflect this significant improvement in the school.

B F Day Elementary School 5

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
BF Day is a little school with a LOT of heart. The teachers are 100% committed and care deeply about both the social and mental development of our children. The PTSA and parent community is strong and welcoming and effective. I am proud to have my family as a part of the BF Day family.


B F Day Elementary School 5

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
Our daughter is in 2nd grade at B.F. Day, and for each of these three years, we've had the best elementary school teachers that we've experienced in Seattle Public Schools (we have two older kids who went to another nearby elementary school). This is a very kid and family focused school - there is of course a focus on academics, but I feel B.F. Day looks at every kid more holistically and works to meet their needs as a learner. The parents are strongly supportive of the school, but not in a pushy way. There is as much volunteering in the classrooms here as I've seen at any other school, but it often goes beyond that (parents offering their professional expertise in music, for example, and teaching an all-school curriculum). There are a lot of different kinds of people in our school community, and it is enriching. I know people always say that, but it's actually true here. Beautiful old building (1892! but renovated), new playground (city grants arranged by the PTSA), and an adjacent park that we use for PE and special outdoor events. There is a lot of space for everything. Strong, experienced principal in his 2nd year at the school but with extensive experience in and out of Seattle. It's a good school, well worth visiting.

B F Day Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
We have a mix of experienced teachers who have been at the school for a while, and several teachers that are new this year. We're only in 2nd grade, but the teachers we've had at B.F. Day have been excellent thus far - the best we've had in Seattle Public Schools (and we've been in two other elementary schools).

B F Day Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
In at least the early grades, it's a weekly packet of varied worksheets. Kids can do the work when they like, provided they get it done by the following week. This reduces the nightly homework stress, and allows kids to keep going if they "get it" and want to do more.


B F Day Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
Yes, but not just in a "do better on the test" kind of way. In a way that is more meaningful - I see it as more of a collective spirit of making sure that everyone succeeds. At least, that's what my daughter tells me when I talk with her about it. She likes to help her deskmates when they need it.

B F Day Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
More so than at any other school our kids have attended. There are lot of different kids at this school, and they are taught early and often to treat everyone with respect and kindness, and to look out for one another. Very sweet.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

B F Day Elementary School
3921 Linden Av North, Seattle, WA  98103
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. (206) 252-6010
Last modified B F Day Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top