Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Eckstein Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1213 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 4, 2014

Coming from an eighth grader, i hate this school. The teachers here dont care about the students at all, the cafeteria food and staff are awefull, there is a fairly high amount of drug use by the student body, and EVERYTHING is standardized. In gym, we take tests and write notes, and in all of the other classes its just a barrage of tests, one after another. Most of the teachers at this school dont care about the students at all, and nothing is remotely interesting. I used to be a straight A student until this new curriculum started and everything became standardized . It is the worst taco place I have ever been to.


Posted March 6, 2014

I'm surprised by all of the bad reviews! We have a current 7th grader and have had a very positive experience at Eckstein. She is involved in 2 different bands, school sports, advanced math and writing classes, takes a foreign language and comes home happy each afternoon. The teachers seem responsive, encouraging, and capable. We had an unfortunate incident with one of the PE teachers, but you can complete a PE waiver and skip it altogether. The school is very full, but I expect that there will be a bit more room next year, when half the school attends the new Jane Adams Middle School. Bottom line: I would recommend this school to a friend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

Female bullying is NOT taken seriously at this school. My daughter was tormented by a group of girls (who in previous years had gotten in trouble for this behavior) and when she finally had the courage to talk to principal Sherri Kokx she was told that it wasn't a school issue! The math program is a joke. Homework is only checked to see if it is complete and is never graded so students don't know if they are doing it correctly until quizzes/tests. Nothing besides tests are counted towards grades on report cards. I added 1 star as there are a handful of caring teachers which are really interested in the students and want them to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2013

Used to be a student I thought this school was terrible. The teachers were bad the students were awful. It was either a really good teacher or really bad teacher. The principle is really unreasonable and some of the students are awful. If you're not part of the popular group they treat you differently. I would never recommend this school to anyone.


Posted June 10, 2013

this is the best school i have ever been to! the teachers are terrific! and there are great people there!!!!


Posted February 3, 2013

I would recommend this school to no one. The only people who enjoy it are the "popular" kids who constantly berate and make fun of everyone else. The teachers are either great, mediocre, or terrible. All the other adults are patronizing and somewhat vindictive. The rules are strict and the authority has clearly gone to all of the Office's collective heads. The education is dull and non inclusive. The teachers rarely focus on the individual students. Full of cliques and moderate racism/homophobia. Would. Not. Recommend.


Posted December 14, 2012

ECKSTEIN MIDDLE SCHOOL IS A ROCKIN SCHOOL. its fun, idk what y'all r sayin'. i mean like i got friends. im in the pop group, u know like popular. i mean when i walk in the halls i see great people swearing a cussing but its alright we used to it. no actually. it might not have a great reputation but as far as the learning goes and the teachers, they are great! ive made the best relationships here because its so diverse. small schools suck because you cant get to know people that arent exactly like you.


Posted December 5, 2012

I am unimpressed by this school. I have a 7th grade daughter who doesn't complain, gets all A's but is totally uninspired. It is overcrowded, there are no after school activities except a couple of sports and there is nothing special about the place. Lots of cliques, no real effort made to encourage school spirit or to connect with people you don't know. Can't wait til she graduates. Would move her to private school if she wasn't so devoted to her friends. Sad state of affairs here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2012

I hate this school its no fun all I get is bad grades and stress all the kids are mean and the teacher don't care I can't wait to get out of this school.


Posted February 10, 2012

After having 2 children at Eckstein over the last 5 years I would have to say that I can no longer recommend this school. It has gone so downhill since we first started there it is very sad. They have teachers teaching subjects that they know little about, many of the teachers my two had showed little enthusiasm for teaching or being in the classroom. Both kids left (or are leaving the school) with a much reduced interest in math and science from when they arrived, especially our 8th grade student this year, that my husband and I worry about their approach to these subjects in high school. Our daughter used to love math and enjoy science but no longer. They also switched their philosphy this year to only tests count towards their grades, no projects, speeches, presentations, daily work - nothing but tests. A very stressful place to be this year for the kids. The lunchroom is run like a prison with lots of yelling by lunchroom supervision, entire grades being kept inside on beautiful days due to poor behavious choices of a few. We'll be happy to be done!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2011

I would have to agree that the size of this school is a huge issue. Its like a mini university! The neighborhood covers an area of, well, mostly affluent 1-2 kid families. My son attends 6th grade and I can see the change in his character, but then again it is a hard age so its difficult for me to blame his attitude entirely on the "up-yourself" majority that attend. The administration staff really are not very helpful and a bit rude sometimes. But the academics are worth it considering there are more bad performing schools in America then good. One thing is for sure, the kids here grow up a little too fast, but then thats mostly because of the demographics of this neighborhood....... typical up yourself Seattle. But my son averages A and B's so I am mostly happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2011

Eckstein is huge, let's be honest; at least 1300 students. Recently the students were given instructions about walking on the right side of the hallway so they would not collide with each other. It is also a well-greased machine. Contact is great, as a parent I always know what is going on between The Source and the mail I get from school. Teachers are enthusiastic, many are Eckstein alums. If you need feedback, they are happy to give it to you. Now, if I didn't have internet access at home, I would know nothing, so keep that in mind. Being in band is important, yes, and participating in any school activity like music or athletics does give you entry into a level of information that you would not get if you just did the regular curriculum. Because it is such a huge school, there are not a lof of field trips or outside activities for the general population. We have loved it for our first son, but am just fine with second son going to Hamilton (boundary changes) as he will get more out of going to a smaller school (although not that much smaller for long, they are looking to increase their numbers and see it as positive change).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2009

I have been going to Eckstein for the past two years and it was really tough in sixth grade (it got better this year because I made some friends). Lots of people are in their little cliques and just act so exclusive. It is really exhausting to put up with. The teachers tend to be either really great or really horrible. I'm really not academically challenged there, even in Spectrum, which doesn't even make a difference, especially in humanities classes. Now I just think the whole thing is a joke. I'll have another year of this before I get to leave. Oh, joy. but then again, I was always the cynical, pessimistic kid on the block, so other folks might be just fine with Eckstein MS.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 10, 2009

I went to Eckstein from 6th-8th grade, and I really hated it. I did have some amazing teachers that taught me a lot, but I also had quite a few that were less than mediocre. The kids that attend Eckstein tend to be very cliquey and materialistic, as well as very judgmental to kids that are actually unique. I was ridiculed and ostracized at Eckstein, not only by my classmates, but by a few teachers as well. I would only recommend this school to parents who want to change their kids, and turn them into stuck-up children that only care about what people have, instead of who people are. Based on the actual classes, Eckstein is not a bad school, but I believe that there is more to a school than its courses and the way the teachers and administrators see the school. It s the experiences that make the biggest impact.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 28, 2008

I went to Eckstein for the entirety of my middle school career and really didn't like it. The standards are moderately high, and some teachers are great. However, the vast majority of the staff are mediocre at best and really don't pay any attention to most of the children. The environment at this school crushed my childhood innocence and optimism and made me into the sardonic, cynical, person I am now. Do not send your child here unless you live in a gated community and are of slightly above average intelligence.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 9, 2008

Eckstein is an ok school if you play music. If you don't, you better start. a few of the teachers here are awful, while some are amazing!! Different teams have incredibly different workloads, some with none, and others with mountains...
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 12, 2008

eckstien middle school is a great school! it has nice teachers, a new principal, and everything about it is great
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 16, 2007

Its an excellent school but the teachers need to make sure they encourage 'every' student more and have a good way of teaching and to making sure everyone 'understands' how to do each math problem.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 7, 2007

I have been attending Eckstein for the past two years, and now, I am going into 8th grade. Overall, Eckstein is a wonderful school. I have learned so much from this school from books and papers to socializing and meeting new people. Eckstein is a great school, but sometimes I feel too disciplined with tons of rules. They don' let us have much freedom, and they pound us with so much homework and projects. Even though there is lots of homework and rules, I still am sort of happy when I wake up in the moring to attend school to see my friends, and to learn something new from my fabulous teachers. There is also plenty of after school activities, sports for boys and girls, and also lots of other school subjects that you can chose to take.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 28, 2007

I go to Eckstein, and overall it's an excellent school, but there are always some flaws. We'll be getting a new principal, but over the last two years I've been at Eckstein, I always felt there were too many rules, too many restrictions. It's almost like the administrators are afraid to give us the students and the staff some freedom. Most of the teachers are great, but some just don't deserve the job. Lastly, there's also a lot of unfairness going around, esp. in the elective classes - for ex, the band has tons of priviliges, both in and out of school, than the orchestra.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

379 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

380 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

446 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

444 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

438 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

445 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

446 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

445 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students80%
Female82%
Male78%
Black56%
Asian83%
Asian/Pacific Islander83%
Hispanic58%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Low income53%
Not low income90%
Special education46%
Not special education86%
Limited English27%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students89%
Female94%
Male84%
Black68%
Asian87%
Asian/Pacific Islander87%
Hispanic88%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Low income73%
Not low income95%
Special education64%
Not special education94%
Limited English40%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students80%
Female80%
Male80%
Black38%
Asian89%
Asian/Pacific Islander87%
Hispanic59%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Low income50%
Not low income91%
Special education43%
Not special education86%
Limited English40%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students84%
Female87%
Male80%
Black54%
Asian83%
Asian/Pacific Islander82%
Hispanic70%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Low income60%
Not low income92%
Special education64%
Not special education87%
Limited English42%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students78%
Female85%
Male72%
Black40%
Asian92%
Asian/Pacific Islander90%
Hispanic52%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Low income54%
Not low income86%
Special education39%
Not special education84%
Limited English47%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students78%
Female80%
Male76%
Black39%
Asian90%
Asian/Pacific Islander90%
Hispanic48%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Low income41%
Not low income89%
Special education45%
Not special education84%
Limited English36%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female88%
Male71%
Black54%
Asian85%
Asian/Pacific Islander85%
Hispanic57%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Low income54%
Not low income87%
Special education43%
Not special education86%
Limited English23%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students86%
Female89%
Male84%
Black66%
Asian90%
Asian/Pacific Islander90%
Hispanic61%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Low income58%
Not low income95%
Special education69%
Not special education90%
Limited English32%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 94% in 2011.

25 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 100% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
96%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students98%
Female98%
Male98%
Black100%
Asian100%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic91%
Multiracial100%
Native Americann/a
White98%
Low income95%
Not low income98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Geometry

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White100%
Low incomen/a
Not low income100%
Not special education100%

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 63%
Asian 15% 7%
Black 9% 5%
Hispanic 8% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Two or more races 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 119%N/A40%
Transitional bilingual 23%N/A8%
Special education 211%N/A13%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 21N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 11N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 70%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sherri Cox

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Ultimate Frisbee
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3003 NE 75 St
Seattle, WA 98115
Phone: (206) 252-5010

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



University Prep
Seattle, WA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT