Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
37 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 45 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Eckstein Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 21, 2016
- a parent
The art teacher seems to care about students as individuals. She encourages them to discover their passions and interests, and engages them as human beings rather than as "subjects".

Eckstein Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted April 21, 2016
- a parent
My daughter is not inspired about learning. She is often confused about directions and expectations, yet does not feel that teachers are readily available to help clarify things.


Eckstein Middle School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted April 21, 2016
- a parent
Students are not taught about kindness and care, as far as I am able to tell (and as my daughter would describe her experience).

Eckstein Middle School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted April 21, 2016
- a parent
There are teachers who tend to pick on students, and are not good models of fair behavior. And mild, hidden bullying is the norm among students.

Eckstein Middle School 2

Posted April 21, 2016
- a parent
My daughter transferred to Eckstein when we moved to Seattle, and I regret the decision deeply She is a kind person, gets' straight As, and has lots of good friends. Yet because she was new apparently, kids started rumors about her that were completely untrue. The clique of kids that all went to elementary together, in particular, were quite vicious toward her, and my daughter was distraught for the entire first semester. The other big change for her was suddenly being in a context where the teachers were distant and not very accessible. Some dismissed her questions outright, others were not available after school or during lunch for my daughter to come in for clarification on assignments and such. At her old school, she counted some teachers as friends, and when we visit her old school the teachers hug her and call her by name. Eckstein teachers seem to be on the opposite end of the spectrum. Until this year my daughter loved going to school; now she dreads it, and can't wait for the school year to end. All to say: If you have a choice, I would not choose Eckstein for your child.


Eckstein Middle School 2

Posted September 19, 2015
- a community member
-very cliquey -building is in bad condition -heating/cooling is little to none, hot and cold weather distracted from learning -some very good teachers, some very bad teachers -lunchroom fights and bullying was common -minimally diverse, I noticed that groups of friends from elementary would stick together and not socialize with new people. -bad school dances The school was good if you were -rich -white -in jazz, or vocal jazz

Eckstein Middle School 1

Posted March 27, 2015
- a parent
My daughter who is now a freshman at nearby Nathan Hale attended this school for all three years in middle school. If your child is at all different (clothing style, appearance, socioeconomically, etc) or has learning or other types of disabilities, I highly recommend you send them somewhere else. There is bullying against students who are different here, both from the students and from the principal. And if your child needs extra help in school like mine did due to a medically diagnosed learning disability, don't expect anyone to care. I spent three years trying to get my daughter help to no avail. As far as teachers go, like most public schools, there are some great ones, and then there are those who are so awful, that they should have never been given the privilege of being a teacher. It was so bad that I was SO HAPPY when the district redrew the maps and my younger children will be assigned to Jane Addams now instead of Eckstein.

Eckstein Middle School 3

Posted March 05, 2015
- a parent
This is actually the first review section I've ever seen student input. Their hate for the school is almost as troubling as their grammar. Its sad you kids are having a hard time and hate it school. Please consider my advice. The reality is school isn't going to a positive experience for most, for me it was horrible. But this time in your life is meant to prepare you to be on your own. If you can have a good experience thats great, but that's not what really matters. Middle School and High School are only few years, but it sets the course for the rest of your VERY long life. If you do well you'll go on to a fulfilling life, if you do bad you won't, it's that simple. Don't let a bad social scene or teachers in school be the reason you stop caring about your grades or start hanging out with the wrong kids and get in trouble and ruin the rest of your life. Take advantage of this time to work hard on your grades, get the job done, graduate high school and get into a good college. Don't let the petty nonsense of kids and teachers over the next few years break you down so bad you ruin the rest of your life over it, stay strong kids. and most of all CARE


Eckstein Middle School 5

Posted February 02, 2015
- a parent
EMS has been an Excellent school for our 6th grade son. Great teachers, and staff.

Eckstein Middle School 5

Posted November 15, 2014
- a community member
Don't believe these negative reviews, Eckstein is a great school! There is a reason why Eckstein consistently has the highest standardized test scores in the area - because the academic expectations here are top notch. The school has really focused on more accurate grade reporting, so academic grades are based solely on assessments, and things like homework completion and student-behaviors are reported in effort and citizenship grades (which is different than what we had in school, but makes sense, right?). The music program is award winning and regularly recognized, and the electives go above and beyond for a middle school (computer programming for 7th and 8th graders!). But the teachers are the best part of this school. They post assignments/grades on the Source so that we can see them, and many have online blogs about what is going on in class. They care a great deal about kids! I would take the reviews written by students with a grain of salt. I have found that the teenage perception of school and the reality of it are often very different things...

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Eckstein Middle School
3003 NE 75 St, Seattle, WA  98115
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 45 reviews. (206) 252-5010
Last modified Eckstein Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top