Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 32 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


39 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Garfield High School 4

Posted January 21, 2012
- a community member
Garfield is a very mixed bag. My academic experience, coming out of the APP program, and having gotten very unlucky with teachers, was abysmal. It's staggering the amount of time that was wasted in half of my classes. I had three good classes: AP US, Biology and Marine Biology. I was otherwise very disappointed, and even these classes, though they were well-taught, could have been much better. My sister, on the other hand, has been very lucky with her teachers, and has been extremely happy with Garfield, academically and otherwise. We both agree that the students are excellent, and the school has some excellent extra-curricular opportunities. The outdoors program, POST, and the music program are both highlights, though with Mr. Acox approaching retirement and the splitting of APP, I worry about the jazz band's trajectory. If you get lucky and get involved, Garfield can be a great school. Chances are good that you will be seriously disappointed by academics here - there are a shocking number of truly terrible teachers at this school. I'm giving Garfield a four because I was quite unlucky with teachers, and entered with expectations that I now see were unreasonable.

Garfield High School 5

Posted October 13, 2010
- a community member
It's done extremely well with the students and the community.


Garfield High School 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
The enviroment for learning is exceptional! It's a great community oriented school with, great programs!

Garfield High School 5

Posted March 06, 2010
- a community member
like any other high school, garfield is not perfect, but i am filled with love for this school and i would not be the person that i am today without the experience that i had there. the sense of community and pride that you gain from going to garfield will stick with you for the rest of your life. the academics and extra-curricular programs are wonderful, especially for an large, public inner-city school. there is so much history, tradition, and diversity; it is truly unique.

Garfield High School 5

Posted March 01, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Garfield High School 5

Posted January 04, 2010
- a teacher
Garfield is an amazing place. Most of the teachers there are organized, intelligent, innovative and caring The coursework is rigorous and colleges value a GHS education. The music program and student directed activities are second to none. Athletics are very good and steadily getting better. It's a big school, but there's something for everyone here. Although he's student-centered and a wonderful student advocate, Mr. Howard don't play, so kids you had better be doing the right thing at this Great School. There are lots of tremendous opportunities at Garfield that you won't find anywhere else and although it's odd for a school this size, I don't know of any learning community with more of a family feel- that's why they sing in the Doghouse- 'Glory Hallelujah I go to Garfield High!'

Garfield High School 5

Posted September 07, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Garfield High School 5

Posted September 01, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Garfield High School 5

Posted July 11, 2009
- a parent
For a large inner city school, Mr Howard and most of the teachers has maintained and amazingly calm, safe,academically challenging, and supportive atmosphere. It is no more clique-ish than other high schools and we have observed a good amount of positive outreach from teachers and counselors. Shout out to Mr. Miranda, Ms Casavoie, and Ms Thompson. They are the tops!

Garfield High School 5

Posted June 01, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Garfield High School
400 23 Ave, Seattle, WA  98122
(206) 252-2270
Last modified Garfield High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Garfield High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 39 reviews.