Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gatewood Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 461 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 5, 2014

My grandson attends the pre-K program daily. He has learned so much and I really love that science is part of the curriculum. Excellent school. My grandson LOVES going to school everyday!


Posted February 22, 2014

Gatewood Elementary of Seattle Public Schools is a sad place. Students were encouraged to attend classes, over any community activities yet my student's teacher said, "We don't want to have all those who missed have to make up this lesson so we're not going to do anything today." It would have been better to keep our student at home where he can work on academics better than at Gatewood with a man who is not a dedicated nor skilled educator. As with may schools, it is the homeroom teacher that makes all the difference. Our son was in tears when he learned who would be his teacher and the new principal would not offer another placement for him. He is not excited about attending classes because the teacher doesn't challenge or engage with the students. So far 2 of his 6 teachers so far have been professional and skilled, the other 2/3 demonstrate lack of investment in student learning and do not improve their trade. A genuine disappointment. There was even a case when a teacher was not kind to a PTA volunteer - this demonstrates a lack of team-work and mutual appreciating and value. It is a sad place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2014

My daughter graduated from Gatewood in 2012. She is now in an awesome private middle school - near the top of her class. We were very very impressed with Gatewood. It has excellent leadership, staff and a strong parent community that supports it. I would agree with critiques in other reviews that the 2-year bands are a good idea that doesn't seem to work out. It never seemed to work out that she had the same teachers 2 years in a row I am a big fan of the staff - and amazed at all they accomplish but the District overcrowded them several years ago. Consequently, the staff seems to have little space for supporting higher-achieving kids. But for a public school, it's great. The emphasis on writing is strong. Math is good. The social environment excellent. I was impressed at the integration of special needs services. They had music and DID have a food PE teacher. I withheld one star for the limitations for achievers. I think it is a district-level issue. But, as I indicated above, our daughter got a scholarship to a private Middle School so it is hard to say her Gatewood education was lacking. Go Gators!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2011

This school has had its ups and downs for years. We had two children there five years ago, and perhaps things have improved, but we were frustrated with lack of challenge for high-performing kids, as well as with lack of staff in areas like art and PE (the school has a great gym that has gone unused without a PE teacher). We were also taken aback to discover that our kids were being used to mentor underperformers from nearby public housing but weren't being coached to their own potential. Which may be why when we moved to another city, our "top performing" kids had some catching up to do. Gatewood does a decent job with a very mixed community, but if the school doesn't do more for its advanced students it will continue to lose them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2010

My son is in kindergarten at Gatewood. We were originally disappointed that we didn't get into a different school. But we couldn't be happier with Gatewood. The school is a hidden gem with a unique approach that promotes individual attention and challenges each child at their level (rather than an arbitrary one-size-fits-all level). Grades are banded together and team taught. So, K and 1st grade classes are teamed together with two teachers. This allows all kids to know more than one adult in the building well and for them to know each child. It also allows kids to go into different reading and math groups depending on their level. The community is a welcoming, down-to-earth group committed to quality education for all. Our PTA raises money to keep classes sizes smaller and develops after school additional enrichment such as Spanish, sign language, science bloopers, piano, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

Gatewood is a very progressive school, using real-life projects to teach kids basic skills and relevant knowledge. It has a very creative approach that engages kids at all levels. It mixes kids from different grades together. Both the faculty and the student body reflects the diverse neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2008

This school is great about not letting a child fall behind, or 'hide in the back of the class'. When we moved here at the end of the school year two years ago, I didn't know how much my son was not learning, because he was 'hiding in the back of the class'. He ended up repeating that grade, but I saw a huge improvement over the previous year. If parents are involved in the childs education, teachers will go the extra mile and then some. I was amazed how much just stating my concerns to the teachers during a conference made a difference. Now, because all the teachers in the school know how we expect all of our children to perform grade wise, the teachers are there to keep our three kids at that level. The whole staff is quick to respond to questions either by phone or email.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2008

I have two sons, one whom has been through Gatewood K-5, and another who just entered first grade. Neither have had a great learning experience. The two year grouping rarely works. Neither of my boys ever had a teacher two years in a row and the homework is a joke. The staff seems more interested in the parent reading program than anything else. I would have just been happy with some proven, traditional teaching methods. I am switching my youngest son out as soon as I can'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2008

I just moved to Seattle this year and my son is in the Kindergarten class. He is an older kindergartener so I really appreciate that he can be challenged by the first grade level work. The teachers have been wonderful and he is very happy at this school. He is already reading at a third grade level and the teachers are very perceptive to his needs and give him materials that both engage and challenge him. The classroom environment is creative, nurturing, inviting and respectful. I am also very happy with the low student/teacher ratio which I have heard is very unusual in the Seattle school system
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2008

I have been with Gatewood Elementary for 2 years and I am impressed with the staff and teachers. They take time out of their day everyday for parents and students. I have enjoyed this school and my son loves going to school everyday. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

For seven years we have been very pleased with the quality and caring of the staff and teachers at Gatewood. Now there is a new principal and the standards are even higher. The Gatewood Restructuring Profile is a great construct with which to organize a school, and it shows. Both my kids love going to school because it's fun to learn. Parent involvement has been growing by leaps and bounds. At least four new programs/activities are added each year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2004

I transfered to Gatewood in fourth grade. I felt so welcome and I really appreciated it. I really started enjoying to read when I started going there because they showed me that it all depended on the book I'm reading. If you are looking for a good school for your children, please do concider Gatewood Elementry.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 21, 2003

Although the Seattle School District is known for having average schools that are not much to brag about, I was very pleased to find Gatewood. The staff has been very supportive of my son's learning challenges. He is doing well and excelling. There has never been a time when he has felt discouraged. That is key to successful students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
27%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students64%
Female66%
Male62%
Black53%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Low income56%
Not low income70%
Special education39%
Not special education70%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students71%
Female81%
Male62%
Black53%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Low income59%
Not low income81%
Special education8%
Not special education86%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students64%
Female64%
Male64%
Black30%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Low income47%
Not low income73%
Special education38%
Not special education71%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female90%
Male73%
Black50%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Low income64%
Not low income89%
Special education69%
Not special education84%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students62%
Female67%
Male58%
Black40%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Low income57%
Not low income64%
Special education38%
Not special education68%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students43%
Female45%
Male42%
Black25%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White48%
Low income34%
Not low income54%
Special educationn/a
Not special education45%
Limited English17%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students60%
Female69%
Male50%
Black25%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Low income45%
Not low income79%
Special educationn/a
Not special education61%
Limited English8%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students57%
Female59%
Male54%
Black31%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Low income31%
Not low income88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education61%
Limited English17%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 63%
Black 18% 5%
Asian 8% 7%
Hispanic 8% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 2%
Two or more races 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 140%N/A40%
Transitional bilingual 211%N/A8%
Special education 214%N/A13%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 17N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 5N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 56%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4320 SW Myrtle St
Seattle, WA 98136
Phone: (206) 252-9400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Westside School
Seattle, WA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT