Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Highland Park Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 419 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 6, 2014

Looks like a newer construction with a great office staff and engaging programs, the teachers seem to have great programs for the children. 1st day but I really enjoyed meeting everyone and listening in on classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2013

This school is focused on all of the wrong things. The staff and the entire school revolves around the students with the "behavioral issues". Many students are completely ignored unless they act out. There are children of parent volunteers whom rules do not apply. The principle is unreasonable and has no real focus other than to flex his authority. An excellent vice principle who was new to the school last year has left due to being "unable to enact real positive change." After 3yrs I am happy my child will by starting 3rd grade at a different school. I hope things improve for the students who will still be attending.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2011

Can't say enough about this school! Loved it from 1st to 5th! I think because of the bad scores which are almost impossible to change with so much esl, that the teachers worked overtime to care for and teach the kids in very creative and fun ways! They would constantly have fun learning events for the kids . I have never seen teachers pour their hearts into their jobs as much as here. And as far as the education goes, my daughter went on to virtually skip a grade at a great math academy and I know it's because Highland Park continued to challenge her since the first grade and provide many learning experiences that most schools don't have time for. She even had a teacher take some kids to meet the mayor, in her free time! Not counting the great drama and music opportunities that they offer the kids, they also do fun WASL prep. And for the parents worried about not seeing much homework coming home, it's the budget cuts. When my daughter first started we had tons of paper coming home but I was told in later years that teachers were forced to pay for their own paper so they began conserving and condensing home assignments. And a very healthy and diverse cafeteria menu!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2011

I have a first grader. I'm not seeing much writing coming home so it is hard to evaluate growth in this skill. I'd like to see more writing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Everything about Highland Park is great. Our twin sons love it there, the teachers seem to really care about the children. It is a great environment for learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2009

As far as the principal leadership goes she is good as long as what she is doing only has to do with the children and their needs. Other that that she knows how to put on a show... And a good one for evening events. All the rest of the staff at this school rocks! caring, loving teachers that only want the very best for all the kids. Spend time at this school and make up you own mind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2009

I think they are trying hard to change what others think. There are many spirit days and things going on. I met the principal Ann Gray at an afterschool activity night last week, and she was serving pizza and was very kind as far as I could tell. There does seem to be a big turn around in staff, but I'm not sure why.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2008

I would like to say first and foremost that the teachers at Highland Park are not all new, young & inexperienced and we Do know better! I am currently teaching at Highland Park and enjoy it! I have been teaching more than ten years and have experienced bad principals...I would not consider Ann Gray one of those. She is a strong leader who wants the best for ALL students. She is also a strong minded woman which many find intimidating. She says what she means and means what she says. Some people can't handle that. If you want your child to have an advocate in the district that looks out for the true needs of the students, Ann Gray would be her. I am not a 'kiss up' nor a 'brown noser' I simply know what's best for kids. I am a well liked and respected teacher replying to post: 10/9/08
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 27, 2008

I love this school, The teachers are great, they genuinly care for thier students. The faculty at Highland park are wonderful. My daughter has been going to this school for 3 years and will be entering her forth this year. I am very glad we chose this school for her to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2005

The school has been working hard to improve their scores. Looping is done in the first and second grade and it is very successful. They have a new principal which I think is a huge improvement over the last one. We needed more active parents to help our school grow and acheive more. There are many amazing teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2005

The academic programs are fairly standard, but the teachers care about their students. Caucasion students are the minority here. Parent involvement is minimal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2004

Seattle School District has imposed the present principal Ann Gray without any parent, staff or community involvement. Ann Gray failed at previous high ranking positions within the Seattle School District. She failed as head of Title I funds. She failed as head of ESL department. She leaves behind her only failure and volatile relationaships. Her abusive and non professional manner in which she treats students, teachers, and employees is responsible for causing about 13 employees to quit their positions within Highland Park within six months (one of the persons to have left is the head teacher). Most of the best teachers have left and that does not fill me with much hope considering that this is a school that is in jeopardy academically.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted February 1, 2004

Its a good clean school with some good teachers, but it lacks school spirit with no extra fun activitys. Academic is good.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
22%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students38%
Female37%
Male39%
Black20%
Asian50%
Asian/Pacific Islander47%
Hispanic46%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income36%
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education42%
Limited English10%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students33%
Female40%
Male27%
Black7%
Asian44%
Asian/Pacific Islander47%
Hispanic31%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income30%
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education38%
Limited English10%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students43%
Female54%
Male35%
Black21%
Asian60%
Asian/Pacific Islander53%
Hispanic48%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income44%
Not low income36%
Special education15%
Not special education49%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students54%
Female68%
Male44%
Black43%
Asian73%
Asian/Pacific Islander71%
Hispanic48%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income47%
Not low income79%
Special education17%
Not special education62%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students34%
Female46%
Male26%
Black21%
Asian67%
Asian/Pacific Islander65%
Hispanic24%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income27%
Not low income64%
Special education8%
Not special education40%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students50%
Female52%
Male48%
Blackn/a
Asian76%
Asian/Pacific Islander73%
Hispanic28%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White50%
Low income46%
Not low income64%
Special education10%
Not special education58%
Limited English0%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students58%
Female55%
Male62%
Blackn/a
Asian71%
Asian/Pacific Islander68%
Hispanic39%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Low income52%
Not low income79%
Special education30%
Not special education64%
Limited English20%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students55%
Female52%
Male59%
Blackn/a
Asian67%
Asian/Pacific Islander68%
Hispanic45%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White58%
Low income48%
Not low income79%
Special educationn/a
Not special education62%
Limited English30%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 30% 7%
Hispanic 27% 18%
Black 20% 5%
White 17% 63%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 5%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 179%N/A40%
Transitional bilingual 225%N/A8%
Special education 214%N/A13%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 15N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 12N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 57%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ben Ostrom

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1012 SW Trenton St
Seattle, WA 98106
Phone: (206) 252-8240

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Holy Family School
Seattle, WA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT