Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Highland Park Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 25, 2015
- a parent
They don't show honesty or integrity, so how do they expect the kids to learn it??

Highland Park Elementary School 1

Posted November 25, 2015
- a parent
My niece attends this school and her mother always was met with rudeness and irritability from the new principal and vice principal. My niece was having a hard time with bullies and tried to speak with the new school counselor, who just lectured her about why she didn't tell the playground monitor. She was in tears and was not supported at all! Her teachers and some of the outside supports the school has had in past years were helpful, but these new people in the office, especially the principal is rude and doesn't seem to care about the kids!!


Highland Park Elementary School 5

Posted January 06, 2014
- a parent
Looks like a newer construction with a great office staff and engaging programs, the teachers seem to have great programs for the children. 1st day but I really enjoyed meeting everyone and listening in on classes.

Highland Park Elementary School 2

Posted July 22, 2013
- a parent
This school is focused on all of the wrong things. The staff and the entire school revolves around the students with the "behavioral issues". Many students are completely ignored unless they act out. There are children of parent volunteers whom rules do not apply. The principle is unreasonable and has no real focus other than to flex his authority. An excellent vice principle who was new to the school last year has left due to being "unable to enact real positive change." After 3yrs I am happy my child will by starting 3rd grade at a different school. I hope things improve for the students who will still be attending.

Highland Park Elementary School 5

Posted July 28, 2011
- a parent
Can't say enough about this school! Loved it from 1st to 5th! I think because of the bad scores which are almost impossible to change with so much esl, that the teachers worked overtime to care for and teach the kids in very creative and fun ways! They would constantly have fun learning events for the kids . I have never seen teachers pour their hearts into their jobs as much as here. And as far as the education goes, my daughter went on to virtually skip a grade at a great math academy and I know it's because Highland Park continued to challenge her since the first grade and provide many learning experiences that most schools don't have time for. She even had a teacher take some kids to meet the mayor, in her free time! Not counting the great drama and music opportunities that they offer the kids, they also do fun WASL prep. And for the parents worried about not seeing much homework coming home, it's the budget cuts. When my daughter first started we had tons of paper coming home but I was told in later years that teachers were forced to pay for their own paper so they began conserving and condensing home assignments. And a very healthy and diverse cafeteria menu!


Highland Park Elementary School 3

Posted February 28, 2011
- a parent
I have a first grader. I'm not seeing much writing coming home so it is hard to evaluate growth in this skill. I'd like to see more writing.

Highland Park Elementary School 5

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
Everything about Highland Park is great. Our twin sons love it there, the teachers seem to really care about the children. It is a great environment for learning.

Highland Park Elementary School 3

Posted March 26, 2009
- a parent
As far as the principal leadership goes she is good as long as what she is doing only has to do with the children and their needs. Other that that she knows how to put on a show... And a good one for evening events. All the rest of the staff at this school rocks! caring, loving teachers that only want the very best for all the kids. Spend time at this school and make up you own mind.


Highland Park Elementary School 4

Posted March 25, 2009
- a parent
I think they are trying hard to change what others think. There are many spirit days and things going on. I met the principal Ann Gray at an afterschool activity night last week, and she was serving pizza and was very kind as far as I could tell. There does seem to be a big turn around in staff, but I'm not sure why.

Highland Park Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 19, 2008
- a teacher
I would like to say first and foremost that the teachers at Highland Park are not all new, young & inexperienced and we Do know better! I am currently teaching at Highland Park and enjoy it! I have been teaching more than ten years and have experienced bad principals...I would not consider Ann Gray one of those. She is a strong leader who wants the best for ALL students. She is also a strong minded woman which many find intimidating. She says what she means and means what she says. Some people can't handle that. If you want your child to have an advocate in the district that looks out for the true needs of the students, Ann Gray would be her. I am not a 'kiss up' nor a 'brown noser' I simply know what's best for kids. I am a well liked and respected teacher replying to post: 10/9/08

Nearby schools

Highland Park Elementary School
1012 Sw Trenton St, Seattle, WA  98106
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (206) 252-8240
Last modified Highland Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top