Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Seattle, WA
Students enrolled: 247

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


John Rogers Elementary School 4

Posted August 07, 2014
- a parent
We have two daughters at John Rogers. We have been thrilled with the teachers and the learning environment. As in any school, not all teachers are created equal. Our kids seem to be thriving, and have made many great friends. It's truly a neighborhood school for us. We have met many of the families and become close to them. Hopefully things stay on the up and up for JR!

John Rogers Elementary School 5

Posted September 18, 2013
- a parent
John Rogers school in a little gem in Seattles NE neighborhood. The school environment is warm and caring with excellent teachers who deeply care about their student learning!


John Rogers Elementary School 4

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
John Rogers is a great little school - full of diversity (hard to find in NE Seattle). It provides a small town feeling of community for families - supportive and inclusive. The teachers work together under the direction of an amazing principal. Teachers work hard to challenge kids who need it and meet others at their learning level. The school includes a swim program at Meadowbrook Pool. Parents are encouraged to be involved and welcomed to participate in any way they are able. As with all public schools, funding is always an issue. The principal and the PTA work together to try to fill in the gaps left by the District.

John Rogers Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
This sweet school in the Northeast part of Seattle is what we call "our hidden gem." This school has great Teachers and parents who really care. We love that everyone Is so friendly and it truly feels like family. My kids love going to school and that says it all!

John Rogers Elementary School 5

Posted April 12, 2010
- a parent
Rogers is dedicated to the success of ALL children, regardless of skills or background. My child entered Rogers two years ago reading and writing over two years below grade level. After countless hours of assistance from the dedicated staff and administration, my child is now reading a full year ABOVE grade level, and is more proud, confident, and engaging than ever.


John Rogers Elementary School 5

Posted September 01, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

John Rogers Elementary School 5

Posted May 27, 2009
- a parent
Hidden gem in NE Seattle. This school is in an affluent area in Seattle and is one of the few in the cluster that, in addition to the upscale areas of Wedgwood, Matthews Beach, and Meadowbrook, also draws from comparatively lower income sections closer to Lake City Way. Because of this, the school has somewhat lower test scores and higher % of students in the free lunch program compared with other schools in the cluster. However, the economic and ethnic diversity is a quite positive influence and there is a very strong parent community. The school has a great community feel and the teachers are excellent. The school is the only one in the cluster with a music focus and all kids leave the school able to read music and play an instrument. Students also do swimming as part of PE at the nearby Meadowbrook pool. Truly a best kept secret!

John Rogers Elementary School 5

Posted February 07, 2009
- a parent
Wonderfully small school with a lot of spirit and family-feel about it. Wouldn't dream of going anywhere else! My child is only in 1st grade but he and I know so many kids in all grades through involvement in clubs, reading buddy program, volunteer positions, etc. We bought our how because it was near AN elementary school - we didn't know anything about it. SO glad we picked THIS elementary school!


John Rogers Elementary School 5

Posted October 21, 2008
- a parent
I have a child who attended John Rogers from Kindergarten through 5th grade, as well as one still at the school. I appreciate the opportunity for kids to work at their own pace in some areas (such as the Accelerated Reader and Accelerated Math programs). My child was always above grade level in both reading and math, but never was bored or held back by the rest of the class. All of the teachers my kids have had have been first rate. Parents are very involved and are encouraged to help out in whatever way they feel comfortable. There are many fun events, and after school programs. The music program is fantastic and includes an after school music club which involves african/brazillian drum ensemble, recorders, and singing. 4th and 5th graders have the opportunity to go to camp. All kids have swimming lessons at nearby Meadowbrook pool twice a month.

John Rogers Elementary School 5

Posted May 07, 2008
- a parent
We were all set for a bad experience in the Seattle School District. We decided to go the Rogers due to the close proximity to our house. We went on tours and were impressed with the diversity, both socioeconomicly and racially. We were also impressed with the principal the the teachers. We liked the smallness and the comfortable atmosphere. We were told that every child that attends Rogers will have one thing other schools don't have, they will all know how the read music. So we decided to give it a whirl. My daughter has learned to read in kindergarten. She loves math and walks around singing the school song. Above and beyond reading, writing and arithmatic, our daughter is embracing music, art and gym. We are absolutely thrilled. We would not have received thus level of education and liberal arts from any private school. Rogers Rocks!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John Rogers Elementary School
4030 NE 109 St, Seattle, WA  98125
(206) 252-4320
Last modified John Rogers Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
John Rogers Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top