Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lafayette Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 547 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 3, 2010

I have 2 kids at Lafayette and have been at the school for 5 years now. I have to say that I'm pretty surprised at the negative comments below. While no school can be perfect for everyone, I've had a wonderful experience at Lafayette. Yes, the principal is very direct, but I love that about her. She's honest and I'd rather have that over someone who's overly politically correct. She also fights incredibly hard to get resources for the school that aren't always available for a school the size of Lafayette. The teachers get along well w/ each other, too. Our major fundraiser, the Walk-A-Thon, is a wonderful example of the community feel the school has. Yes, the school is serious about academics, but not to the detriment of the kids. The teaching style is on the more traditional side, but it's clearly working for the majority of the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2010

I am a parent of a 2 children that go to Lafayette. I have to say that this is the worse school I have ever had experience with. The principal is uncaring, except for discipline and running a 'tight ship'. The teachers are under prepared as they are only required to have a lesson plan prepared for one day in advance. They are quick to put your child in a cliche and treat them accordingly. Hopefully I will be able to get my children in a different school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

Lafayette is blessed to have a vibrant, caring community. This richness provides a well rounded experience for the kids. We applaude the parents that use us as a resource in helping develop good, solid, contributing members of society. I am thrilled that our principal has the courage and wisdom to suggest alternate placements for families that refuse to be happy or even acknowledge that we know what we ars doing. This is a remarkable school, with a seasoned yet innovative staff. Awonderful place to be nurtured and bloom.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 1, 2009

The best thing to happen to our son at this school was the principal suggesting we find a different school. We had been tearing out hair out trying make this school work for our son and it just wasn't working. He was miserable and unengaged although his teacher had no concerns as he finished his worksheets everyday and was doing 'well'. His teacher told us her hands were tied, she had no time for creative lessons as there was so much work (worksheets) to be done each day. I've learned the hard way that test scores don't make a good or bad school, good engaging teaching does! our son is now thriving at in his new school and loving it. What a difference! thank you for the suggestion, Ms. Turner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2009

Lafayette has a capable staff and our academic experience with the school has been very good. However, it is not a diverse school, and both parents and children are organized into cliques. Knowing what I know about the social environment, I would have chosen another school. The Great Schools rating is due to the resources available at this relatively affluent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2009

We just got word that my son has a new school next year. We couldn't be happier. We chose Lafayette for its reputation and we liked what we saw on the tour. When my son started the school, our opinion quickly changed when he would come home crying all the time. Fun and play is not part of the day in Kindergarden. They are so obsessed with test results that the kids are prepared for the WASL from day 1. The principal has a love it or leave it attitude. Yep- we'd rather leave it. So many families leave this school yet they would have you believe everyone loves it. There are a number of faithful, stuck-up parents who love it for what it does for their property value. We put our son on a waiting list for another school right away and we just got in. Yippee!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2009

Our daughter has had a terrible experience at this school. She finished 4th grade in the spring after moving in from another district. It was a very hard transition and the staff and principal made no effort to make her feel welcome. She was told she couldn't join the jump rope club back in October when we moved because it was ''too late'', the club had already started and the girls would be ''too good for her level''. The school doesn't support the girl or boy scouts so there are no troops associated with the school or, indeed, the nearby area. The school has limited after school programs. The only positive thing I can say about this school is that the PTA is very active. Schoolwork is repetitive and boring and so is the homework. It's a miserable school. Avoid!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2009

This school has changed dramatically over the past few years. My first child loved this school and we had a very positive experience. My second is now in first grade and having a horrible time. The principal is cold and uncaring and the staff are tired and bored. The school does not attempt to engage children and would rather families move on to other schools rather than work with them to resolve issues. Avoid this school if you can, don't be fooled by the WASL results, these kids train for that test from day one with stacks of worksheets. Hopefully, the school can turn around, it really used to be a nice school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2008

Our daughter has attended this school for the past three years and we have been very happy there. Although it's a large elementary, our daughter feels very safe there. The teachers are very engaging and truly strive to meet the needs of their students. Most classrooms have parent volunteers or tudors nearly every day of the week. I also love the prinicple, Virginia Turner. She's straight forward, honest but really likes to have fun. She is everything you want in a principle and she fights hard for the school to get additional funding whenever she can! There are also a wide variety of after-school programs to choose from.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2007

The school is a good fit, academically, for our 3 children. It is a primarily white middle- to upper-middle class school with corresponding values and limitations. Parent involvement in classrooms seems limited, and parent climate is not extremely friendly, caring, or inclusive. The classrooms are generally orderly, and the teachers are very good and, for the most part, provide an excellent education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2006

This is a very solid school, especially in the Seattle School District. They have a very strong PTA that backs up the education, but funding in the district limits the programs available for students. PTA is very involved and is trying to supplement the districts failings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2006

We're now half-way through kindergarten, and Lafayette seems great for most students, though not a great fit for my son. However, his situation is unique, as he tests in the profoundly gifted range. The teacher and administration, while not really able to accomodate his learning needs in the classroom, have been very flexible about letting us keep him home in the mornings to work on material which challenges him and keeps him interested. There is quite a bit of parent involvement; thoughtful, dedicated parents may be one of the school's greatest strengths. My son's teacher has a very rigorous academic program (most kids learn to read). Individual music lessons are available in 4th and 5th grades. There is a dedicated PE teacher. Private afterschool activities such as a science program, Mandarin, and Spanish are available on-site.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2005

Awesome 6th grade teacher Mr. Ngobi - far advanced and strives to have all students excell. He's tough but so great with those kids. Parent involvement is high and welcomed. Programs are great as well as the physical education staff, musi/drama staff. Kids learn here in a safe and nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students83%
Female86%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Low income64%
Not low income90%
Special education40%
Not special education89%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female86%
Male76%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Low income68%
Not low income85%
Special education40%
Not special education86%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students79%
Female68%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Low income61%
Not low income84%
Special educationn/a
Not special education83%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students87%
Female88%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asian92%
Asian/Pacific Islander92%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Low income67%
Not low income91%
Special educationn/a
Not special education90%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students76%
Female80%
Male72%
Blackn/a
Asian67%
Asian/Pacific Islander67%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income61%
Not low income80%
Special educationn/a
Not special education78%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students84%
Female88%
Male76%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Low income42%
Not low income91%
Special education50%
Not special education88%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students87%
Female94%
Male76%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic90%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Low income67%
Not low income91%
Special education50%
Not special education93%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students82%
Female86%
Male76%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic40%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Low income50%
Not low income88%
Special education60%
Not special education86%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 7%
Hispanic 7% 20%
Two or more races 7% 6%
Black 6% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 11%N/A8%
Special education 19%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 218%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 20N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 15N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 69%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Virginia Turner

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2645 California Av SW
Seattle, WA 98116
Phone: (206) 252-9500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Tilden School
Seattle, WA


Holy Rosary School
Seattle, WA



Pathfinder K-8
Seattle, WA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT