Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
41 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 54 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lafayette Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted May 02, 2016
- a community member
Miss Danea- school counselor. She has developed strong relationships between my child and other boys and promotes a culture of positive reinforcement.

Lafayette Elementary School 5

Posted May 02, 2016
- a community member
Strengths: Dedicated teachers and staff! Diverse student community - in terms of race, culture and economics- and there is attention to equity among all groups. Bullying not tolerated, focused on social and emotional learning. Strong academic achievement, diverse learning opportunities. Secured campus. Many caring adults throughout the school watching out for all kids. Cons: Principal is a poor communicator and limits himself greatly with the parent community. The school has been through a number of principals prior to his arrival but he has stuck around for several years now.


Lafayette Elementary School 5

Posted September 21, 2015
- a parent
We are new to Seattle and new to the school and I absolutely love how they made my boys fit right in. What an amazing staff. Keep up the good work! Sincerely one Happy parent :-)

Lafayette Elementary School 5

Posted February 24, 2015
- a parent
As a mom of three kids at Lafayette (1st, 3rd, 4th), all three of whom are very different learners, we have had an overwhelmingly positive experience from day one. The teachers are incredible. The families have been collaborative and supportive. And though our five years there have seen all of the administrative transition that other reviewers have mentioned, our kids have been thoroughly protected from an awareness of any unrest behind-the-scenes. We love our neighborhood school and are thankful to be having such a positive experience in the public school system!

Lafayette Elementary School 5

Posted January 08, 2014
- a parent
I am a parent of 2 current students at Lafayette Elementary. Both love the school. Parental involvement is very high. The teachers are great, most with years of experience - it shows. It is an excellent elementary school.


Lafayette Elementary School 5

Posted December 04, 2013
- a parent
Lafayette is an amazing place, filled with charismatic, involved teachers and kind support staff. The parental involvement and community support shines at this school. We all want the best for our children and Lafayette delivers excellence in education with aplomb.

Lafayette Elementary School 4

Posted October 18, 2013
- a parent
Cool school in a walking neighborhood. Love, love love our 1st (Ms. Rowlette) and 3rd (Ms. Bell) grade teachers.

Lafayette Elementary School 5

Posted May 17, 2013
- a parent
We love our school! We have great teachers and awesome parents. I wish we have better principal.


Lafayette Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2013
- a parent
honestly after 2 kids going from k-5 at Lafayette and seeing the unfortunate leadership changes - I would say a lesser school wouldn't have made it through the over crowding and repopulating of the school. The glue that holds this school together is the parents - supper concerned and supportive. There are experienced and highly dedicated teachers. We only had 2 in 12 that weren't great. Kids learn what they should in a supportive community.

Lafayette Elementary School 5

Posted April 07, 2013
- a parent
We have a kindergarten student who started at Lafayette this past fall. The school faculty and PTA have been nothing short of welcoming, genuine and professional. We've been very pleased with our daughter's teacher and, although disappointed that the leadership is changing, I don't fault the school for this. If you read through these reviews the most frequent negative comment is about a principal that hasn't been there for over a year. It's really not right that out-dated information is negatively impacting the ratings for such a fantastic school. We consider ourselves very fortunate to be assigned to such a great school and I can honestly say we haven't come across one case of "elitism". A school is as good as you make it. Reach out and be involved and you will have a better experience.

Nearby schools

Lafayette Elementary School
2645 California Av Sw, Seattle, WA  98116
(206) 252-9500
Last modified Lafayette Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top