Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lawton Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 440 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 3, 2014

I have 2 children at Lawton - they just finished 1st and 3rd grades. I have found the teachers to be quite good. There is variation of course, as there is always when people are concerned. The principal seems to be highly involved. He has phone me 4-5 times personally about any concerns about my son being bullied (he's very sensitive) and has been able to speak directly and explicitly about education plans for him as he is high-performing and I was concerned about him becoming bored and dis-interested in school. I am not overly fond of the music teacher but overall, the school exceeds my expectations and my kids' like it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2013

Lawton is an absolutely great school with strong parents/teachers involvement and a great community overall. Teachers are very involved and seem to be genuinely caring about your children's education and character building . We started at Lawton and then had to be away for a year in a different school - so, we truly know the difference! It is a great environment where my kids thrived. We are very lucky.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2013

Our son is just wrapping up his first year at Lawton, in kindergarten. I am amazed at the involvement on campus and how much time and energy caring parents put into this school. Lawton has more resources and parent-involvement than private schools we toured. The teachers devote much more than their time into their students - teaching them compassion and the love for learning, in addition to spending evenings and weekends preparing for activities. The physcial education program is outstanding - teaching all sorts of fun like rollerblading and more! Each classroom has Apple technology and iPads. There is a teacher's aide for kids who need a bit extra help, and parents who spend concentrated time with kids in class. This year Lawton implemented a highly-successful art docent program, and to top it off we have a wonderful music teacher. The class schedule seems to work very well with plenty of recess and time to eat lunch. No school is perfect, but any issues that we have seen at school, have quickly been delt with and parents have been communicated regarding what happened. I only wish they taught Spanish! Lawton is a warm, caring community and we are glad to call it ours.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2013

We looked forward to our child attending this school from the time he was old enough to walk, until we actually stepped inside to see what was going. During parent visits, it appears that the PTA runs the school much more than the principal does. It was difficult to get straight answers about special education and it was clear that safety & supervision is an ongoing issue. This was mentioned by staff and observed during visits. Additionally, I have heard from several parents & students that bullying is still a big problem. Thank goodness for open enrollment, if we had not gotten another school, we would have homeschooled until we moved. This is how serious we are about our child not attending Lawton.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2012

Love the elementary vibe at this school, the kids seem happy. Our daughter has enjoyed great teachers so far in kindergarten, 1st and 2nd grade. The pre and after school offering is also great - she likes chess, jump rope club and choir. The PTA is very active and supports music, art, guest authors etc... I like the new principal and he seems to communicate well with the parents. Spectrum progam is another plus to this school as it is integrated into the classrooms, not separated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2012

School has not had positive leadership since Mr. Noh left 3 years ago. Some good teachers, but also some that prove certification and degrees do not mean you can actual teach. Ongoing issues with bullying problems and lack of supervision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2011

Lawton lacks strong, sustained, consistent leadership and, thanks to district 'appointments' has had five principals in two years. Two of whom were/are completely new to principalship. The cluster model for Spectrum in now in place so there are no more self-contained advanced learning classes which, depending on your preference may be a good thing. Differentiated homework, according to school policy, is not available although homework is essentially optional. The school has an active core of parents but a lot more parent bystanders. It's not a bad school but not a great school either. There is potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

Lawton is having trouble. The staff(some) and principal are not comfortable with the Spectrum self-contained gifted program, so they have "blended" the program into general ed assuring parents the kids will do just as well. It's so ironic that this bastion of white privilege (Magnolia) is so anti-elitist when it comes to placing kids by ability. Otherwise, it's nice to see people who could go private, money-wise, staying in public school. Staff ranges from very good to old school and a few lazy-bones. Principal is so green she squeaks and has her hands more than full with some pushy staff, noisy parents and ill-managed district. Nice building, should handle a good quake, and the janitor, playground guy and gym teacher are A+. Cliquey? Oh ya, but if you live in the attendance area, I would go and enjoy the ride. Definitely a bargain.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2011

We have young children so I cannot comment beyond the second grade. Of the 5 teachers we've had are, two should choose another profession. I was appalled when I witnessed a teacher habitually using "old school" techniques of embarrassment to gain control of the class. To be fair, large classroom sizes can be overwhelming, but a seasoned professional educator worth their salt should have other tools. The real problem has been the response: Lead administrator response borders on incompetence. Charitably, one could say she has LOTS to learn. There are more concerns centering on communication. As for parent involvement, it is high but you're either part of the "in" crowd or the "out" crowd. Sadly, much like high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2011

We have had fabulous, OK, and not OK teachers at this school, so our experience there has been spotty. We are not nearly as satisified with this school since the years when Ed Noh was there, due to the principal juggle and the new leadership. Parent involvement is strong, but a bit cliquish. The class sizes are large, which might be typical of other public schools, which makes it more difficult for teachers to address more individual needs or the social/emotional aspects of development. So that is not a reflection on the teachers but rather a reflection of "the system". Walk to math and reading are good. The school has been topsy turvy on deciding how to deal with Spectrum, and the communication about decisions and implications of that have been extremely poor. If you are interested in Spectrum you should ask lots of questions about how they are going to implement the program for the 2011/2012 school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

Update on the teacher in the last review. She is gone. Lawton is a great school! I always wonder why parents pay for private K-5 education when this amazing educational opportunity exists in their own backyard!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2007

Lawton is an excellent school. They have many before and after school programs for the children to choose from. The enrichment committee ensures music and art is received by all. The PTA is very strong there and have raised substantial amounts of money to provide additional staff and programs. The staff is great there, however with any entity there is always one bad egg. One of the teachers is horrible. She is one of those educators who has been around for a long time and appears to have no desire to change. The principal doesn't seem to want to get into the middle of the situation. A few kids left this year to other schools because of her. If she would leave, the school would be a better place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2006

My daughter is in 2nd grade and has a learning disability. Lawton is great at giving her the support she needs. Principal Ed Noh sets a great example as he is out there every day greeting the kids and parents and knows all of them by name. The parents community is very strong, working on fundraisers and doing projects around the school to keep it beautiful, clean and bright. Most teachers are very dedicated and go that extra mile for the kids. The only knock I have is that class sizes are way too big. The school district needs to hire more teachers and reduce the classroom sizes as too much time is spent on teachers making sure are where they're supposed to be instead of teaching. It's not the teachers' fault; it the school district's lack of funds. Welcome to public schooling!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2005

Great school for advanced students. My children loved male teachers they had for 4th and 5th grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2005

Lawton is an excellent small public school. Principal Noh has taken an agressive anti-bullying approach that resolved my 4th grader's problems last year (he is now friends with one of the bullies). His 3rd grade teacher, Mrs Wong was excellent and developed several techniques for him to self refocus and stay on task, and he is now above grade level in reading and math in his 5th grade class. The teaching staff has been working together for several years and developed complementary strengths. There is a high porportion of strong male teachers, especially in 4th and 5th grades, which is good for teaching active boys. The 'Unicycle' and 'Bagels and Books' after and before school activities are great for kids that are not athletically gifted or oriented.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

This is a wonderful small public school. Currently a great principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2003

In addition to getting an excellent education, the children are also learning to be excellent citizens. Lawton provides a well rounded, high quality education. The teachers are superb. Parental involvement is very high. There is a wide varity of activities available for parents to volunteer.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students80%
Female81%
Male79%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Low incomen/a
Not low income79%
Special education67%
Not special education83%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students96%
Female97%
Male94%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Low incomen/a
Not low income97%
Special education100%
Not special education95%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students88%
Female83%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Low incomen/a
Not low income88%
Special education57%
Not special education95%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students96%
Female93%
Male98%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Low incomen/a
Not low income95%
Special education86%
Not special education98%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students82%
Female87%
Male79%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low incomen/a
Not low income83%
Special education57%
Not special education88%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students93%
Female89%
Male97%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Low incomen/a
Not low income95%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students91%
Female89%
Male94%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Low incomen/a
Not low income98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students94%
Female89%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Low incomen/a
Not low income98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 60%
Two or more races 11% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 7%
Hispanic 7% 20%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 10%N/A8%
Special education 114%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 212%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 17N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 16N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 54%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Christine Helm

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4000 27 Av West
Seattle, WA 98199
Phone: (206) 252-2130

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT