Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lawton Elementary School 5

Posted April 19, 2016
- a parent
Lawton is an amazing school. My children have gone there for 6 years each, and they absolutely loved it. The teachers are amazing (not to mention the Washington State Teacher of the Year, Mr.Terry). Very welcoming, amazing staff, and wonderful students!

Lawton Elementary School 5

Posted January 04, 2016
- a parent
When we moved our family to the area, we were thrilled to have landed at Lawton. We were welcomed with open arms and really can't say enough about the quality of the teachers (experienced 1st and now 2nd). They are excellent. The physical education program is unique and very different from what I have seen in other schools. We love the art docent program, the foreign language options, the before & after school enrichment opportunities. The new principal, Mr. Lanza, is kind and caring and is highly involved with students & parents.


Lawton Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 04, 2016
- a parent
The school has a yearlong compassion and empathy campaign. Students are recognized and rewarded for demonstrating core values.

Lawton Elementary School 5

Posted November 25, 2015
- a parent
My son comes back very happy to be a part of the school. He is a different child now. I love Lawton and I appreciate everyone effort to turn this in the best school I know.

Lawton Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 25, 2015
- a parent
I am so greatful for my son' s teacher. I am sure my second grader son will succeed in life because of her positive attitude. Ms Rudisill encourages Jameson and helps him to be the best version of himself. I feel really blessed this year.


Lawton Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 25, 2015
- a parent
My sons teacher really inspire him to be the best version of himself. She shows affection and expects collaboration from her students. She is an A teacher

Lawton Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted July 18, 2015
- a parent
My son was a student there with special needs and the staff was not able to work with him. They were well meaning but they just didn't have the resources or flexibility to work with my son. My son still talks about how they hurt him with CPI holds.

Lawton Elementary School 1

Posted July 18, 2015
- a parent
The staff was not able to support my special needs child due to lack of resources and flexibility. My child still talks about his time at the school and cries about how they hurt him when they held him with CPI holds.


Lawton Elementary School 5

Posted January 13, 2015
- a parent
Great environmental focus with sustainability education, walking school buses, and teachers that model a bike/walk to work motto. Amazing after school offerings with a wide variety for all loves/interests. PTA supports outdoor field trips, arts, P.E., and enrichment. Love world cultures focus and love the physics Fridays. No school is perfect but with the open atmosphere, welcoming parents, and engaging atmosphere is really close!

Lawton Elementary School 4

Posted August 03, 2014
- a parent
I have 2 children at Lawton - they just finished 1st and 3rd grades. I have found the teachers to be quite good. There is variation of course, as there is always when people are concerned. The principal seems to be highly involved. He has phone me 4-5 times personally about any concerns about my son being bullied (he's very sensitive) and has been able to speak directly and explicitly about education plans for him as he is high-performing and I was concerned about him becoming bored and dis-interested in school. I am not overly fond of the music teacher but overall, the school exceeds my expectations and my kids' like it.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lawton Elementary School
4000 27 Av West, Seattle, WA  98199
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. (206) 252-2130
Last modified Lawton Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top