Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Leschi Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 348 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 9, 2014

Historically, Leschi Elementary is where Seattle's own Jimi Hendrix attended before Washington Middle. More importantly, Leschi Elementary is perhaps the best kept secret in Seattle. My child attended the Montessori program that fit perfectly, a learning style as no other. The outstanding Teachers were engaging, present remarkably loving. Excellent educators with empathy in spadefuls. The diversity is celebrated daily, as it should be, in that we are all equal with the right to the best education available. These young children will become 21st Century trailblazers of what's ahead. The PTA is remarkable! No other words can describe how united! Students are given opportunity to sing in the Leschi Elementary Choir and participate with Seattle Music Partners at no cost to any child unable to participate financially. Overall there is kindness and genuine concern for each child ... from every member of staff. Apply early for Montessori. But each student, no matter how challenged, has the chance for betterment at this amazing school. Top Marks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2014

My daughter spent 4th and 5th grade at Leschi, and is now in middle school. Having attended other public and private schools in Seattle, my daughter says that Leschi was *hands down* the best school she's ever attended. Her teacher was *hands down* the best she's ever had. And the community was second to none. We loved this school and miss it a great deal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

Leschi elementary is awesome. I cannot describe enough how awesome the parent community and teachers are. I would easily use up the remaining characters if I started with my praise. In our 2nd year at this school, the openness to change and constant growth is palpable. Public schools are tough places and have their fair bit of challenges; but man does Leschi's community roll with punches and come with great strategies to make the environment a great place for everyone there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2013

During the Cashel Toner era [2008-13] one of the best group of teachers ever assembled for one of the most needy group of students. Special Ed staff is exceptionally skillful....both resource room and self-contained.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2013

I LOVE this school and would urge any family living in the area to put their kids in this amazing public neighborhood school! My son (1st grade) and his friends feel safe everyday, they LOVE learning and feel totally supported by all the adults in the building. My son's academic growth over the past 2 years has been extraordinary and he has gotten involved in the schools chess program and their after school CDSA program. The leadership with Ms. Toner as principal is super strong (I think this is HUGE for successful elementary schools) and all the programs/events to support and celebrate the diverse students at the school are phenomenal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2013

My daughter is in the 2nd grade and has attended Leschi since Kindergarten. We like the diverse, caring community and the quality of the teachers. My daughter started 2nd grade able to read basic picture books but in just a few months has now been reading chapter books and has an amazing vocabulary. She also loves the new computer lab equipped with Jiji math software that allows her to learn complex math concepts in a fun way. She is now above her level in both reading and Math. Leschi PTA and faculty have done a good job ensuring that students get the resources they need. The best part is she loves going to school each day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2013

The current "Great Schools" rating is absurd! This is an amazing community school with extremely talented students and teachers, a top-notch staff, and a committed Parent-Teacher organization. My daughter, a second grader, is currently working above grade-level in her Montessori-based curriculum. Come visit this school! You will not regret it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2013

This school has a fantastic caring environment with experienced teachers and the most caring office you could ask for. Very diverse student body with a dynamic principle who get things done like purchasing new supplies and getting grants for equipment. My 2nd grader loves it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2013

My daughter has been attending kindergarten this year and we are so happy with her education. Leschi is out of our neighborhood "zone," but we were lucky enough to get in to the Montessori program. We all love her teacher, Ms. Chin, and have been amazed at how much she has learned in such a short time. When we started the year, she could sound out letters and read only very short words, and now she has progressed by leaps and bounds to multi-syllable words. Her writing is progressing week by week and she loves going to school and engaging in her class work. The principal is incredibly passionate, engaged, focused, and energetic. I'm not sure how she does it, honestly! While parent participation is always something that can be improved upon, I think there is a great community at this school. The PTA works hard and has achieved a lot in a short period of time. All in all, we love our experience at Leschi Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2013

My son is in 4th grade at Leschi and LOVES it. He's on the Chess Team, he participates in an awesome instrumental music program for 4 hours a week, and he is getting his learning needs met even though he is an advance learner in a mixed class with all kinds of peers. It's awesome. Great group of families. Excellent faculty--very professional and collegial. Principal is a real go-getter and very positive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2013

Leschi elementary is an exceptional school...with multiple programs to choose from, incredibly collaborative teachers & staff, strong leadership and a committed school community. All students are challenged by dedicated teachers to work at their individually appropriate levels, whether they are exceeding or struggling to meet grade level expectations, learning english as a second language or are developmentally disabled. The test scores (as well as other statistics) shown here for Leschi are not current or accurate. I would encourage any prospective parent/family to judge the quality of Leschi with their own eyes and ears...test scores show some things, but are NOT necessarily indicative of the tremendous learning that goes on inside of this wonderfully diverse school. My 2nd grade son loves going to school at Leschi. He has fun and is excelling academically, socially and emotionally. I consider my family fortunate to have Leschi as our neighborhood school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

My daughter has been a student with Leschi for nearly four years. I think Leschi is the greatest school there is. The quality of the academic programs are excellent, my daughter is in 4th grade spectrum and she loves it. This year we have the Instrumental Music Class again this year. We need parent involvement in classes, help with teachers, PTA and other extracurricular activities. This school is the best in the district and talk about closing us down. They can never close Leschi, if they do, where would our kids go. If your child is in or not in Spectrum, praise them anyway, cause there is no other schools like this. We need help from parents to join us in preserving our children's education and that is parent participation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2006

Far too strict, controlling the students seems like the top priority, daughter did not like the school at all, cried just about every day leaving for school . . . And she normally loves school. Just too totalitarian of an atmosphere. I'd consider other options unless leschi has changed a lot in the past few years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2006

Leschi has an outstanding academic program. Its teachers are hardworking, dedicated, creative professionals who truly care about their students. The Spectrum program is outstanding! My daughter is in the third grade Spectrum class and has done some truly amazing work this year. The choir has performed throughout the city to terrific acclaim. The principal has an open door policy and really listens to the concerns of parents. Overall, it's a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2006

A phenomenal school: stimulating environment; wealth of special programs and field trips; racially, ethnically, and economically diverse student body; engaging teachers; helpful administrators and staff; devoted and cooperative parent body.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2003

The teacher at Leschi are wondeful that love to teach and care dependly for our childern.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
43%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
38%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
22%

2010

 
 
20%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students62%
Female65%
Male59%
Black50%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income50%
Not low income85%
Special educationn/a
Not special education63%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students62%
Female68%
Male56%
Black53%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income50%
Not low income85%
Special educationn/a
Not special education69%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students29%
Female33%
Male24%
Black8%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Low income17%
Not low income62%
Special educationn/a
Not special education33%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students65%
Female75%
Male56%
Black62%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Low income56%
Not low income92%
Special educationn/a
Not special education63%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students43%
Female50%
Male36%
Black27%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White58%
Low income33%
Not low income69%
Special educationn/a
Not special education42%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students46%
Female41%
Male50%
Black39%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income36%
Not low income62%
Special educationn/a
Not special education50%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students60%
Female59%
Male61%
Black50%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income50%
Not low income77%
Special educationn/a
Not special education63%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students49%
Female41%
Male56%
Black28%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income36%
Not low income69%
Special educationn/a
Not special education50%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 65% 5%
White 20% 63%
Asian 6% 7%
Hispanic 5% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 2%
Two or more races 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 166%N/A40%
Transitional bilingual 217%N/A8%
Special education 212%N/A13%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 17N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 14N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 48%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Cashel Toner

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

135 32 Av
Seattle, WA 98122
Phone: (206) 252-2950

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Therese School
Seattle, WA



Madrona K-8
Seattle, WA


Giddens School
Seattle, WA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT