Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lowell Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 12, 2016
- a parent
Robyn Jordan is an amazing art teacher. As is Rose Leatham - the music teacher. Both are inspiring to their students and to this parent.

Lowell Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted April 12, 2016
- a parent
with more training/professional development around differentiation they will become VERY effective. It isn't for lack of desire.


Lowell Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 12, 2016
- a parent
I'm not a big fan for homework for young kids. But recognize that it teaches them good habits for future success. There is just the right amount given at the early years - my child is only in 2nd grade, so we will see how it goes in upper grade levels.

Lowell Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 12, 2016
- a parent
All students are treated with respect by their teachers and classmates - they are currently implementing RULER.

Lowell Elementary School 5

Posted April 12, 2016
- a parent
There is a great community of parents and teachers at Lowell Elementary. It is a great neighborhood school where kids will learn to be citizens of a diverse society. While it's not perfect, I've seen that no school - public or private - is perfect. It takes families becoming personally invested in their neighborhood and the outcomes of ALL students that makes a great school. Lowell has the makings of that.


Lowell Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted March 04, 2016
- a student
I liked Lowell school every body cares . I have friends they also care teachers teach well. I liked my teacher miss West

Lowell Elementary School 4

Posted April 10, 2014
- a parent
Although Lowell is 2 star rated but it has a whole bunch of dedicated and good teachers. However the curriculum should be more challening.

Lowell Elementary School 5

Posted January 21, 2012
- a community member
If you're a parent of a child resisting the move to a new school, have them read this: I cried the day my parents told me I would be leaving Gatewood for Lafayette, and reacted similarly when they made me move from Lafayette to Lowell. It's a big deal to switch schools, and it's especially hard when you have to leave all of your friends behind. But you will find when you get to Lowell that you make friends very quickly, and that you can still hold on to your friends from your old school. I was a student at Lowell from third through fifth grade, and those three years were academically the best years of my life so far. I also met most of my closest friends at Lowell, and it was a recent conversation with those friends about our love for this school that inspired me to find it on this website and write a review. I had some of the best teachers that I've ever had, certainly the best curricula, and, perhaps most importantly, became a part of the incredible Lowell community. If you are considering Lowell, don't consider any longer. Of course, for some people it won't be a good fit. But most families find in Lowell a social and academic experience that is worth taking a risk for.


Lowell Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 03, 2010
- a parent
Lowell has one of the most dedicated parent, teacher and student communities that I have seen.

Lowell Elementary School 5

Posted May 04, 2009
- a student
I LOVE LOWELL ELEMENTARY! I attended this school from 2nd grade through 5th grade and they were the best years of my life. All the teachers are outstanding and the curriculum is engaging. Lowell supports an 'out of the box' thinking style and the teachers altered their teaching methods to fit the classes' needs. I felt that Lowell helped me grow as a person and become a stronger individual. I also believe that the faculty sets each and every student up for a successful life. I am now attending a prestigious private school and am maintaining straight A's.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lowell Elementary School
1058 East Mercer St, Seattle, WA  98102
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (206) 252-3020
Last modified Lowell Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top