Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Madison Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 830 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 4, 2014

We are so happy at Madison. The overall caliber of teachers is outstanding. Madison is a great community and the school does an excellent job communicating with families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2014

This school is fair but could be so much better if it had a better leadership team. One of the VPs seems to run the school and the other VP is utterly incompetent. The Principal keeps a low profile and is rarely seen around the school. The school also suffers from chronic lack of communication and often fails to inform parents of school happens, changes, etc. Very frustrating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2012

Madison was a very amazing school. The teachers are very nice and they helped out when I asked. There might have been some strict teachers but they were strict because they knew the students could do better. The principal is very kind as well. I remember when I needed to have bus service he got right to it on that day. And the spectrum program is not bad. I was in it. It was pretty good. I learned a few new things. Most of the time we would be on the lesson plan planned for that day unless someone had difficulties on yesterday's lesson plan and the teacher would make sure that student understands. I really enjoyed Madison. Students were kind and funny. I would go back to Madison if I wasn't accepted to this good private school in Shoreline. Truthfully, I would go back to Madison. If not for my mother making me stay at the private school. This school gave me such an amazing experience. I was in the music program, I loved playing in the orchestra. The jazz band, bands, and orchestras play such beautiful music. I love Madison!


Posted April 10, 2011

My son is in his third year at Madison and overall, I am very disappointed. In 7th grade, I spoke with one of his teachers and mentioned my son is easily influenced by the opinions of adults and others. I asked him to give him some subtle encouragement and it would go a long way to improve his study habits and focus on school. He told me it wasn't his job to motivate the students and then chastised me for my son not completing an assignment so he was giving him zero points because it was incomplete. In 8th grade, my son had a teacher who instructed students to give others a "shameful look" if they hadn't finished homework (i.e., condoning/promoting bullying) and proceeded to tell them how they weren't going to make anything with their life. After 5 weeks of calls and emails to the teacher, principal and counselor, I finally had my son transferred out of her class. TERRIBLE! My son has had some fabulous teachers that he liked very much but he has had more than his fair share who I do not believe enjoy teaching anymore and it shows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2009

I loved going to madison. Everything was great. I felt well-invited, The teachers are fonaminal, and I had fun. Unfortunatley i moved to north seattle and can no longer attend but if i could, i would. If i had a kid, Madison would be the place they would be.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 20, 2009

I am a 6th grader at this school and I am on apollo. I love how the teachers teach. they relate to the students a lot
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 13, 2009

in 6wks we're finally getting bus service....he's so far behind in classes and the teachers and princepal refuse to even write me the parent...this is the saddist example of school i have ever encounter after raising an award winning daughter....no my sons so far behind....i can't see him doing 6th grade in one yr under their tutoring....its Oct and i feel regardless of the time.....its time to choose a different school....even if it means moving...this is a sad sad school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2009

Don't put your child in this school if they have special needs. Not much support on that end and general ed teachers make it worse for them. Same with adminstration-not very knowledgable in this department either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

i love it here there is so many great teachers and great students. i would definetly recemind this school
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 29, 2008

I went to madison for 6th,7th,and 8th grade. Now I am a freshman at west seatlle and I would like to thank madison for preparing me for highschool so well. Madison has outstanding teachers,staff,and ptsa!! Everyone is so involved that it gives off a very friendly, comfortable , and safe vibe to students,visitors,and family.All the staff is eagarly awaiting to help any student with anything at any time. If your child is struggling with anything they will notice it within a week and help your student. Madison has exellent afterchool prrograms and sports programs. All the afterschool programs are free and the included snacks are also free. They provide bus transportation after every afrter school program and even after detention. They have a supervised play area for early arriving students that has foosball and other games. I highly reccomend madison for your child.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 9, 2008

We are disappointed in Madison MS, except for its afterschool programs. Its challenge program is just more of the same -- not particularly challenging or intellectually stimulating. The administrators of the school seem to have very low standards and expectations, both for academics and behavior. There is an authoritarian feel to the school - a sort of lack of faith in the kids - and many of the kids are disrespectful, foul-mouthed, and inappropriate. There are a few teachers who try hard, but what are they going to do with a bunch of kids who are ungrateful, disrespectful, and don't do their homework? Teacher-parent communication is also sadly lacking. The 'good' kids suffer because, as another parent said, the school tends to teach to the lowest common denominator and does not provide an emotionally safe environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2007

Madison Middle School is an Okay School but it is lacking. Some teachers need to learn how to control their class, and some need to learn how to teach. Depending on teacher and grade you get a fair amount of homework. The discipline can be strict depending on the teacher. Unfortunately there must be a more creative way of teaching! It's losing student interest.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 14, 2006

I have had the chance to work at this school in a long term substitute postion during the 05/06 school year. I was very impressed with the staff, students and particularly with the principal, Dr. Hudson. They are really dedicated to the kids, and work with all the kids to make school a positive experience. As in many urban public schools the staff is asked to be all things to many people and meet a vast array of needs among their students. In this case I think the staff does a great job helping students with emotional, developmental and educational needs. I especially liked that students who were highly capable were challenged appropriately rather than left bored without proper enrichement.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 9, 2006

The acedemic program at Madison is mediocre. My daughter is intelligent but needs an education. I feel that Madison has let her down by only teaching to the lowest common denominator. She rarely has homework. Extracurricular activities are prwetty good. There's a good range to choose from, but they are often cancelled for no reason.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

247 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

247 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

259 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

261 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

254 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

245 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

244 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

245 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students78%
Female82%
Male73%
Black68%
Asian76%
Asian/Pacific Islander77%
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Low income57%
Not low income89%
Special education39%
Not special education84%
Limited English10%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students78%
Female86%
Male70%
Black74%
Asian72%
Asian/Pacific Islander73%
Hispanic66%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Low income61%
Not low income87%
Special education45%
Not special education83%
Limited English20%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students73%
Female78%
Male68%
Black35%
Asian82%
Asian/Pacific Islander83%
Hispanic72%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Low income53%
Not low income85%
Special education38%
Not special education80%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students74%
Female85%
Male64%
Black46%
Asian77%
Asian/Pacific Islander77%
Hispanic72%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Low income56%
Not low income86%
Special education36%
Not special education82%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students79%
Female88%
Male70%
Black64%
Asian88%
Asian/Pacific Islander89%
Hispanic76%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income69%
Not low income86%
Special education44%
Not special education87%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students67%
Female67%
Male67%
Black40%
Asian74%
Asian/Pacific Islander76%
Hispanic53%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Low income56%
Not low income75%
Special education32%
Not special education73%
Limited English8%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students72%
Female71%
Male73%
Black40%
Asian72%
Asian/Pacific Islander73%
Hispanic74%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Low income65%
Not low income78%
Special education49%
Not special education76%
Limited English33%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students73%
Female72%
Male73%
Black37%
Asian77%
Asian/Pacific Islander78%
Hispanic62%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Low income60%
Not low income83%
Special education38%
Not special education79%
Limited English17%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 94% in 2011.

44 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 100% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students94%
Female94%
Male94%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Asian/Pacific Islander95%
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White95%
Low income89%
Not low income97%
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Geometry

All Students100%
Femalen/a
Male100%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White100%
Low incomen/a
Not low income100%
Not special education100%

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 60%
Black 15% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 14% 7%
Hispanic 13% 20%
Two or more races 7% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 19%N/A8%
Special education 115%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 242%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 19N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 8N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 68%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Visual arts
  • Architecture

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Henterson Carlisle

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Ultimate Frisbee
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Computer animation
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3429 45th Ave SW
Seattle, WA 98116
Phone: (206) 252-9200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Holy Rosary School
Seattle, WA


Pathfinder K-8
Seattle, WA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT