Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Montlake Elementary School 5

Posted May 22, 2016
- a parent
This is a wonderful school made up of a tight-knit community of very involved families. The PTA pays for additional teachers/programs. Our daughter especially loves the art teacher and greenhouse classes. Homework is a fair amount with "optional" pieces for students who want to do more. Teachers ask for parent feedback and listen/adjust accordingly. We could not be happier and love this school.

Montlake Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted May 14, 2016
- a parent
They don't review it and it's only given once per week! I'm not sure my daughter is really understanding what is going on.


Montlake Elementary School 2

Posted May 14, 2016
- a parent
I think this schools rating is inflated because it's in an affluent community, parents have money to spend on good pre-school and after school study. Facilities are terrible. Homework is a joke and I don't believe it's ever reviewed. I keep finding unfinished homework in my daughters backpack and her teacher never requests it. This isn't just one teacher, has been happening across many grades.

Montlake Elementary School 5

Posted January 04, 2016
- a parent
My son has blossomed in this school. The teachers are absolutely wonderful. Particularly Ms. Lee. The school has great energy and a very special feel to it. Frederica Jansz.

Montlake Elementary School 5

Posted February 27, 2013
- a community member
I'm a grandmother of 3 girls who have/are attending Montlake. I have volunteered once every 2 weeks for now my fourth year -- and I love the school. I enjoy the teachers, principal, office and cafeteria -- and especially the kids! The oldest has moved on to the APP school, Thurgood Marshall, after choosing not to go last year. Our youngest, a Kindergartener, was so excited to finally go to Montlake, that I didn't think she could survive until that first day came. Volunteering there is the best day I have in two weeks!


Montlake Elementary School 4

Posted February 26, 2013
- a parent
Old school values combined with rigorous curriculum and a concentration on the arts and environmental science make Montlake a terrific neighborhood school. Winner of Overall Academic Achievement awards the last two years as well as Achievement in Science in 2011. Engaged teachers, dedicated staff and an active parent community make for a nurturing and welcoming place for learning.

Montlake Elementary School 5

Posted November 17, 2010
- a parent
Outstanding school. As good if not better than just about all the elementary schools in Seattle including the private schools. Rigorous academics. Outstanding reading, writing and math programs. Before and after school foreign languages, Math challenge, chess club, music. A very high proportion of children testing well enough to join APP programs remain at Mtlke, because level of instruction is equal. The children are well prepared for middle school. It's also a true neighborhood school well supported throughout a very highly educated community. A gem.

Montlake Elementary School 3

Posted March 21, 2009
- a parent
This is an avarage school on many levels: academics could be better. My child forgets to turn in homework that sits in the backpack and comes home again and the teachers never request it. Disappointing mathmatic program. Like the goals of the school, teach nice moral values and people skills. Principal is kind. Kids and parents are very involved. Aftercare programs is outstanding!


Montlake Elementary School 5

Posted June 03, 2007
- a parent
This is an outstanding elementary school due to its hands-on leadership, active parent involvement, and excellent experienced teaching staff. The physical plant of the school is old and insufficiently refurbished. However, the people who bring this school to life are the key to its magic. The PTSA underwrites an art teacher, a greenhouse program, and much more. Parents of kindergarteners pay to bring the schoolday up to full-day from the state-funded (and inadequate) half-day model. The community is supportive. It would benefit from a bit more racial diversity and an active music program.

Montlake Elementary School 3

Posted February 09, 2007
- a parent
My kids loved walking to thier neighborhood school, having classmates live nearby. There's strong parent involvement, but very little enrichment or higher vision. The teachers very nice and do a fine job-curriculum and teaching methods very straightforward and standard, if caring - art is the most inspired, though you get it once a week and it shares a classroom with a core. No language, little PE, same old field trips. They really seem to be teaching to the test, and the homework was ridiculous - always the similar 4 sheets of problems, many written in 1984!. My daughter refused to read in first grade - too boring! And no one caught that she doesn't respond to phonics and is a sight reader, now excelling. We actually left for an alternative school, despite the trade-offs. If you are looking for anything beyond the 'best of the basics', you might want more.

Nearby schools

Montlake Elementary School
2409 22 Av East, Seattle, WA  98112
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (206) 252-3300
Last modified Montlake Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top