Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Montlake Elementary School 5

Posted February 27, 2013
- a community member
I'm a grandmother of 3 girls who have/are attending Montlake. I have volunteered once every 2 weeks for now my fourth year -- and I love the school. I enjoy the teachers, principal, office and cafeteria -- and especially the kids! The oldest has moved on to the APP school, Thurgood Marshall, after choosing not to go last year. Our youngest, a Kindergartener, was so excited to finally go to Montlake, that I didn't think she could survive until that first day came. Volunteering there is the best day I have in two weeks!

Montlake Elementary School 4

Posted February 26, 2013
- a parent
Old school values combined with rigorous curriculum and a concentration on the arts and environmental science make Montlake a terrific neighborhood school. Winner of Overall Academic Achievement awards the last two years as well as Achievement in Science in 2011. Engaged teachers, dedicated staff and an active parent community make for a nurturing and welcoming place for learning.


Montlake Elementary School 5

Posted November 17, 2010
- a parent
Outstanding school. As good if not better than just about all the elementary schools in Seattle including the private schools. Rigorous academics. Outstanding reading, writing and math programs. Before and after school foreign languages, Math challenge, chess club, music. A very high proportion of children testing well enough to join APP programs remain at Mtlke, because level of instruction is equal. The children are well prepared for middle school. It's also a true neighborhood school well supported throughout a very highly educated community. A gem.

Montlake Elementary School 3

Posted March 21, 2009
- a parent
This is an avarage school on many levels: academics could be better. My child forgets to turn in homework that sits in the backpack and comes home again and the teachers never request it. Disappointing mathmatic program. Like the goals of the school, teach nice moral values and people skills. Principal is kind. Kids and parents are very involved. Aftercare programs is outstanding!

Montlake Elementary School 5

Posted June 03, 2007
- a parent
This is an outstanding elementary school due to its hands-on leadership, active parent involvement, and excellent experienced teaching staff. The physical plant of the school is old and insufficiently refurbished. However, the people who bring this school to life are the key to its magic. The PTSA underwrites an art teacher, a greenhouse program, and much more. Parents of kindergarteners pay to bring the schoolday up to full-day from the state-funded (and inadequate) half-day model. The community is supportive. It would benefit from a bit more racial diversity and an active music program.


Montlake Elementary School 3

Posted February 09, 2007
- a parent
My kids loved walking to thier neighborhood school, having classmates live nearby. There's strong parent involvement, but very little enrichment or higher vision. The teachers very nice and do a fine job-curriculum and teaching methods very straightforward and standard, if caring - art is the most inspired, though you get it once a week and it shares a classroom with a core. No language, little PE, same old field trips. They really seem to be teaching to the test, and the homework was ridiculous - always the similar 4 sheets of problems, many written in 1984!. My daughter refused to read in first grade - too boring! And no one caught that she doesn't respond to phonics and is a sight reader, now excelling. We actually left for an alternative school, despite the trade-offs. If you are looking for anything beyond the 'best of the basics', you might want more.

Montlake Elementary School 5

Posted May 25, 2006
- a parent
This is truly a neighborhood school. Kids walk to school, mom's chat on the playground. Terrible facilities - but we don't care. Great teachers with lots of added educational experiences.

Montlake Elementary School 5

Posted September 28, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Montlake Elementary School 5

Posted April 25, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Montlake Elementary School
2409 22 Av East, Seattle, WA  98112
(206) 252-3300
Last modified Montlake Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Montlake Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top