Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Rainier Beach High School 1

Posted June 20, 2011
- a parent
This high school is going downhill fast. It was already in crisis, and this last school year has been the worst yet. There is no accountability for students' behavior. The administrative team and dean of students have all been fired or transferred, and 90% of the staff requested transfers. It is impossible for teachers to teach in this chaos. Students run the show and they know there is no consequence for their actions. The climate is abysmal. I would not recommend sending any child to this school. Classroom behavior is appalling and fraught with disrespect, and students "hang out" in the hallways while swearing, pushing, shoving and doing nothing constructive. No presence of any administrators in the halls. This year's assistant principal was afraid of the students and did not hold them accountable, nor did the dean. Only one of the two principals was every visible, and even then only some of the time. Test scores have gone down every year. Everyone asks why the district leaves this failing school, with low enrollment, open?

Rainier Beach High School 1

Posted June 13, 2011
- a student
Rainier Beach High School students lack respect for themselves and others including staff members and students.Students also lack discipline.Profanity is used in almost every sentence they use and students aren't treated equally when it comes to disciplinary action based on what "sports you play" or how well does your "parent knows your teacher" kind of thing. Some teachers try their hardest to help these students some teachers don't.I think some of the teachers are too afraid to discipline a student like giving detention or sending them to the main office. So instead of giving that student detention,he or she(teacher) just sits there and do nothing. The securities barely do anything to the students who do get into trouble. They just have them sit down in their office and wait till class is over. There is also a high percentage of students hanging around the "half circle" across the street between the Lake Washington Apartments and Sear's Market Place. Its a based of drug dealers and students from Rainier Beach High School and from other schools who've dropped out or skipped class.


Rainier Beach High School 5

Posted May 24, 2011
- a community member
I loved rainierbeach i graduated from there in 85 and yes it was mainly focused on sports back then like it is now. I ran on the track team and every year we won state. We could not be beat...

Rainier Beach High School 4

Posted April 26, 2011
- a student
I love Rainier Beach. The teachers try their hardest to help the students succeed. People misunderstand the school because of the neighborhood. Majority of students try their hardest to graduate and seek higher education. Yes, the school has bad seeds, but what school doesnt? Rainier Beach is like a family to me and im devastated that I attend a different school.

Rainier Beach High School 1

Posted November 06, 2010
- a student
I rated this school based on academics, basic student behavior, and overall atmosphere. As a student attending for a year at Rainier Beach, I was deeply disappointed in the lack of support for students academically. The school is in all, a SPORT school. Meaning that athletes are regarded highest, even with grades bordering D's and F's. It is hard for a student to receive help in a majority of the classrooms. Student behavior can get severely out of hand. Profanities are let slid, and female students are not enforced to proper school wear. Teachers are seldom helpful; far too lenient when coming to late assignments(sometimes a month) or plagiarized essays. The school does have (as stated above) many sports available, a bright spot on an otherwise dim appearance. Conclusively, I myself would not recommend sending your student here if a challenging, appropriate and helpful school is what they need.


Rainier Beach High School 5

Posted February 04, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Rainier Beach High School 5

Posted December 19, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Rainier Beach High School 3

Posted January 05, 2009
- a parent
I think the school is amazing. It is full of many hard working, academically driven young people. Some focus to much on sports, and that is because they need more encouragement from those around them that they can survive and make a living without the use of a ball.


Rainier Beach High School 4

Posted September 22, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Rainier Beach High School 4

Posted September 04, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rainier Beach High School
8815 Seward Park Av South, Seattle, WA  98118
(206) 252-6350
Last modified Rainier Beach High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Rainier Beach High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top