Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Seattle, WA
Students enrolled: 1,666

4 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Roosevelt High School 5

Posted April 24, 2014
- a parent
This is my son's first year at Roosevelt and I've been very impressed with his teachers, his counselor, his coaches and the staff in the offices are friendly and open to questions that we have as new HS parents. My son is really happy here, doing well academically and in sports. I'm also really pleased to say that he's also enjoying drama and marketing classes that they offer - all of which support a well rounded education.

Roosevelt High School 3

Posted April 22, 2014
- a student
As a brand new student at Roosevelt, it was extremely difficult for me to make friends and find my place. People are polite but distant and exclusive, which makes for a rough year if you aren't from Seattle. Of the five other people I know who have moved to Roosevelt from a different state or country, every single one of them had an AWFUL first year, and two went through phases of depression. However, the second year is always better. On the up side, the music and drama programs are EXCELLENT and there are many great opportunities at Roosevelt such as the Hands for Bridge program etc.


Roosevelt High School 1

Posted May 04, 2013
- a parent
This is a great school if you want your children to have easy access to drugs and alcohol at and around school. This school has the highest official use in the district and the official numbers are low! A permissive admistration and the relative afluence of the student population make this school a favorite for dealers. Roosevelt high test scores are misleading as their is a sizeable percentage of the student population that were simply not included in the numbers. I am not sure why but the district was allowed to leave certain low performing populations of students out when they comiled their official performance statistics. Unless you have a lot of personal resources and time to commit to your children's education this school is a poor choice.

Roosevelt High School 4

Posted March 23, 2010
- a student
Overall, I love Roosevelt. The workload is not that bad. There is a lot of work, but coming from a rigorous private school, the workload is simply average. It is difficult for high level students to be challenged in the normal classes, however, AP/honors classes are challenging, and as a freshman, I was able to jump into more difficult classes usually taken by Sophomores. The teacher level is shockingly irregular, but it is easy to 'work the system' and get into better classes. Self-advocacy is very important. I was able to get out of the pointless 'required' freshman science class and take Biology a year early. Most students didn't choose this option simply because they were told it was impossible not to take. The orchestra, jazz and drama programs are fantastic. I highly reccomend this school if (and only if) one gets involved in these programs or a fall no-cut sport.

Roosevelt High School 4

Posted May 26, 2009
- a student
I started at Roosevelt after attending private school and I loved it! There is something for everyone. There are so many clubs. activities, and different class choices. However, sports can be really competitive so I suggest playing a no-cut sport like swimming, cross-country, or lacrosse. Also, the academics, especially the sciences, aren't that great either. However, you can take running start or AP classes if you need a challenge.


Roosevelt High School 0
no rating

Posted April 29, 2009
- a parent
Roosevelt is a good solid B for academics and meets the needs of most students, especially if you're in the middle of the 'bell-curve' for achievement. However, with the exception of their great Autism program, the special education department lags years behind other schools nationwide using out-dated procedures for identification, placing students into 'restrictive programs'' and they don't measure quantifiable student progress. Additionally, there is little challenge for the highly motivated and gifted students who are forced to sit through classes where they have already know/mastered the content with busy-work as homework. Roosevelt's course rigor is not for developing high-level critical thinking skills, but focuses on mediocrity by how many worksheets and pencil-to-paper tasks can be completed daily. This leaves students with impossible choice between 'doing a great job' on the assignments with not enough time or 'putting half the effort' into just getting it done. Teacher quality is highly inconsistent.

Roosevelt High School 5

Posted January 20, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Roosevelt High School 5

Posted January 17, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Roosevelt High School 3

Posted November 19, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Roosevelt High School 3

Posted June 28, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Roosevelt High School
1410 NE 66 St, Seattle, WA  98115
(206) 252-4810
Last modified Roosevelt High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Roosevelt High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top