Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sacajawea Elementary School 5

Posted November 02, 2012
- a parent
I have 2 kids in this school, and this is our 4th year there. The instruction has been excellent and both my kids are really happy there. There is an Advanced Learning Opportunities program (ALO) to challenge kids that need extra challenges, and a reading specialist, Dr. Davis (who has a master s degree in reading disabilities and a Ph.D. in cognition and learning theory, specializing in linguistic areas for kids who need extra help reading - how great is that?). Dr. Davis does more than helping just the kids, though - she also helps the teachers by finding better reading assessments than the school district typically offers). There are so many after school activities offered for the kids to do (an after school enrichment program every Tuesday, plus choir, chess, and girls on the run every week). Also, there is an amazing number of parent volunteers for a such small, intimate school. This year, a special education classroom opened as well. I've heard the new parents describe Sacajawea as a "hidden gem" of a school. I agree.

Sacajawea Elementary School 5

Posted November 01, 2012
- a parent
We are the reference school in the sought after Maple Leaf District. Sacajawea provides so much more than quality academics. Our teachers, staff, parents and students are all committed to building a community in Maple Leaf which is strong, vibrant and well rounded. There is zero tolerance for bullying and many opportunities for students to mentor other students. It is a great place for a gifted child to spread their wings and a struggling student to build a strong foundation. We have it all--arts, technology, physical education and a great teaching staff.


Sacajawea Elementary School 5

Posted December 05, 2011
- a parent
All three of my children have attended this small (260+ students) school with two still attending in our family's eleventh year here. There's been a shift to neighborhood families attending as opposed to families from other north Seattle neighborhoods. Highlights are the fall Science Fair and the Spring Arts Festival. Teacher conferences this year focused on what is being done for my children based on their personalities and needs and I've been very impressed this year. The principal visits classrooms daily and holds monthly "parent coffee chats". Our newest teacher is in her third year here. Overall, Sac has been a great neighborhood school for our family!

Sacajawea Elementary School 2

Posted June 01, 2011
- a parent
When we arrived at Sacajawea, it had a fabulous art program, ESL, and a great parent volunteer base. The next year the art teacher was lost (offered a rediculous contract) and families started leaving. A few years later another art teacher has been "lost", and now the individual class room teachers will lead art period. When problems surface, the principle is passive and a few sqeaky wheeled teachers get their way ... and not necessarily in the best interest of the children. The school was at 300 students, and now its below 240, as families continue to leave early. Some teachers are fabulous, but this year we consider a "lost year" with an inept teacher. I've heard the same comment from other parents with other teachers. More programs have been cut this year. Many of the families who have left were regular parent volunteers..We will be another of those families.

Sacajawea Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted June 25, 2009
- a parent
Great teachers and great small neighborhood school. Educating for Human Greatness is their slogan and they do a lot beyond academics.


Sacajawea Elementary School 4

Posted June 25, 2009
- a parent
We love this school. Very involved parents, diverse student body. The principal is not great-he is kind of a passive guy who doesn't take action when there is an issue with a teacher. Last year this was a problem. Luckily most of the teachers are great especially Jesse Dickerson who is a young,enthusiastic and very creative teacher. Wish my daughter could have him next year too.

Sacajawea Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted January 12, 2009
- a parent
we are new to the city and have been very impressed by the quality of instruction here, not to mention the generally welcoming atmosphere. our kids have nothing but great things to say about their teachers.

Sacajawea Elementary School 1

Posted April 01, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Sacajawea Elementary School 5

Posted March 06, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Sacajawea Elementary School 5

Posted February 01, 2008
- a parent
My daughter is in Kindergarten at Sacajawea. We have been really happy with our experience there. The school has reasonable class sizes, and a great blend of academics and arts that we didn't see at most of the elementary schools we visited. They also have a global/community focus that we thought was gives our daughter the 'big picture' of the world around her. The school draws students who have english as a second language, which creates a very rich cultural experience for the kids and families. We have been very happy there and highly recommend this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sacajawea Elementary School
9501 20 Av NE, Seattle, WA  98115
(206) 252-5550
Last modified Sacajawea Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sacajawea Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top